27

4.6 based on 27 customer reviews

19
5
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

27 Customer Reviews

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5A 11 July 2019 by Digital David (United Kingdom)

I've had an earlier model of the RX100 and was so impressed with it that I have upgraded to the VA model. The improvement in spec is certainly worth the higher price and I as looking forward to some even better photographs. When buying a camera I will always look for a viewfinder as I do not like using the screen when talking pictures, the VA viewfinder is a dramatic improvement on the M3 and is great in use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great pics

DSC-RX100M5A 30 June 2019 by Cooksolo (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with my purchase unfortunately I have had no luck in claiming the £100 cash back I was promised.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

small but BIG

DSC-RX100M5AE32 23 June 2019 by Amar J (Malaysia)

I bough it almost 2 months ago and it replacing my phone camera and its awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My new RX100M5 "Locked Up" on overseas vacation!

DSCRX100M5A/B 08 June 2019 by Night Train (USA)

The first trip with my RX100M5 ended in disappointment. 5 days into a 17 day vacation, it locked up. Reboot, Reset, wifi telephone Sony Service all unsuccessful. Online search for help showed other RX100M5 owners with similar problems. I was given an RMA and sent it in for service when I returned. The service was excellent and very quick. A ribbon cable came loose but I cannot imagine there is enough room inside this camera for a cable to fall off. Very disappointed with what is otherwise a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Simple to use

DSC-RX100M5AE32 06 June 2019 by Willi6 (Singapore)

i bought it for my little girl to take along for her study trip in China. I just taught her the basic and she is happily snapping away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features but need better photos quality

DSC-RX100M5AE32 28 May 2019 by Photo2019 (Singapore)

I love it features such as eye AF on continuous and F1.8 , the photos look ok without zoom. I wish with this amount of money Sony should give better quality than LX100 II. I paid for better capture than mobile phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glare

DSC-RX100M5A 26 May 2019 by Leigh1234 (USA)

I purchased the RX100MV5 about a year ago. Overall a good camera but lacks a decent telephoto lense. I consistently get a glare or bright haze around any object that is bright such as a white T shirt in a sun light photo. Very annoying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Useful at work and home

DSC-RX100M5A 19 May 2019 by sdey66 (United Kingdom)

Excellent for family photos and video but also for my work. I work with museums and it's small size, low light capabilities, angled screen and SLR quality images mean it is very useful to me for imaging ancient artefacts and specimens. I take 100's of images of each object and turn them into 3d models using photogrammetry. These models are then 3d printed. The RX100v is now my first choice tool in this work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Friendly user

DSC-RX100M5AE32 16 May 2019 by Casaeki (Singapore)

Easy to use and have a great output love it so much

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic little camera capable of so much

DSC-RX100M5A 11 May 2019 by Adz34 (United Kingdom)

Having owned a few Sony’s in the past like the A7 and A72 it’s packed with so many features and the menu system is a lot more user friendly only wish it had the time lapse features of the earlier models.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Small, light, pocketable

DSC-RX100M5A 10 May 2019 by JimboGC (United Kingdom)

In a couple of months, started to get used to the camera, not yet explored its full capabilities. Decided to go small, after losing DSLR bag and kit, which was used largely for wildlife in South Africa. Back in UK, wanted a go anywhere, small light camera, better base image quality than my Pixel 2 phone. Challenging myself to take proper photos, to think about photography again, but without the paraphernalia. So far, so good. Went for the 5a rather than the 6, partly on price, but also on reviews, and size. Thought about the Lumix 100 LX100 II, which has some nice features, but was too big for my pockets. I'm still working on the menus and buttons, and the ring, but everything appears possible with practice, which has been limited. Only accessory so far is a case, LCJ-RXF, which works well, except I'd like to be able to detach the shoulder strap with clips, to put the camera in pocket. Like that you can detach most of the case, if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

small size big results

DSC-RX100M5AE32 08 May 2019 by Rudy Ryu Sunandar (Indonesia)

I use this camera for underwater photographt it is very useful and compact to travel, as I am sarisfied for the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 28 April 2019 by Jess2019 (USA)

I was thinking about buying the RX100 V or the RX100 VI. I wanted a camera that would take the best pictures within my budget. Sure the RX100 VI has a superior zoom lens, but at the expense of losing low light quality, which the RX 100 V has. I had to prioritize.. So, I decided on the the V. And, I'm glad I did. The pictures are stunning!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 18 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera to go with my DSLR but to use this when carrying a big camera isnt an option and I’m afraid to say but this is now my go to camera over the dslr. The auto focus is super fast and the quality of the image is just amazing and you can just slip it in your pocket it’s crazy!! Also really love the portraits this camera can achieve :) I’m always have a RX100 in my pocket from now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Greta featres and a compact size

DSC-RX100M5A 08 April 2019 by mnra (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera over 3 weeks ago and so far I am really please with the resaults especially slow motion, 4k,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Sony RX100VA, a little gem!

DSC-RX100M5A 31 March 2019 by AlBG (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera three months ago after six months of agonising over which camera to buy. I watched loads of Youtube videos of this and other manufacturer's cameras and finally settled on the Sony RX100 Mk VA. I had to keep reminding myself that I wanted a quality camera that would slip in my pocket so that I am not always tempted to carry a heavy (Canon 5D Mkll) DSLR. This one fits the bill perfectly and now goes with me everywhere. It's great for street and travel photography and is so much more versatile than a phone camera. I chose the Mk VA rather than the Mk 6 because of the faster lens (f1.8 - f2.8) as I looked at most of my Photo subjects (people and landscapes) and decided that this one fell into the category of what I use most when using my DSLR. This doesn't mean I don't use the DSLR anymore, I now reserve that one for really serious photography when I don't mind walking around with a heavy backpack full of gear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality with Some Quirks

DSC-RX100M5A 21 March 2019 by GregTurnbull (United Kingdom)

My Sony RX100VA is an amazing camera, very small, great fast lens which can zoom from wide-angle (24mm) to portrait (70mm). Obviously no telephoto optical zoom for this size & speed which is OK by me, I just move closer to the subject if possible or crop the image if not. It does have some quirks though, no GPS chip to record my location on the images, which is a shame, the essential handgrip should be included & not an extra at this price. The battery does run out fast in cold weather so you need a couple of spares. However, the worst issue for a landscape photographer is the annoying overexposure by -0.3 to -0.7, which is a mistake that should be fixed by a firmware update to the sensor &/or the processing S/W. I hate having to set a general -0.3 compensation, because you can forget when shooting darker subjects. :-) Obviously with such an expensive camera you should be shooting in RAW so some of these issues can be fixed by post-processing in Lightroom, Photoshop, etc., but this should not be necessary. Sony, please listen to the reviews in this regard! Overall a great camera, but one that takes a little effort to think about your subject, lighting conditions, etc., and make adjustments in the camera before taking any pictures, but then this is not a bad thing. Be aware that you are going to spend some time later on fixing some of the issues in S/W on the computer, so budget for this accordingly...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Dissapointing underwater colors

DSC-RX100M5AE32 15 February 2019 by Carlitos777 (Singapore)

I bought it for underwater photography and video. Seller told me that this camera was great for it and also sold me The Sony housing for it. was told that there was a FIRMWARE update for it. This turned out to be false, not true. I bought the VA(5A) model and the update is for the V (5) model. very sad.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact yet powerful

DSC-RX100M5AE32 15 February 2019 by Birdddy (Singapore)

I got this as a birthday gift and it couldn’t get any better than this. Have been eyeing for this compact camera to replace my not so travel friendly A7R3 with 24-70 GM. And i must say it a great replacement for quick point and shoot. It start up quick, focuses quick and accurately. It is light weight and can be stored in my pocket easily. The down side is that like many other reviews is the battery life but it should be decent enough casual shooter. Also, i have to get the sony grip to better enhance the gripping of the camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent!

DSC-RX100M5AE32 15 February 2019 by Darendreamer (Singapore)

This is my first time buying a camera and it is awesome! The reason of buying is for our Japan trip on April. I got it on January so I got 3 months to learn it but it i totally easy to use it. Me and my wife really enjoy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

DSC-RX100M5AE32 21 December 2018 by Kenshin X (Thailand)

Sony camera take the photo of my son at sing park Chiangrai Thailand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great camera

DSCRX100M5A/B 12 December 2018 by cowpoke (USA)

user interface is challenging takes grewat pictures even at iso6400 and above

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Loaded with quality but still fits in your pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 07 December 2018 by denso pemburthy01 (United Kingdom)

Well built with an easy menu system.Takes good pictures in low light (for a compact) and great video. Loaded with quality and has all the features I need but still fits in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Wirote Choisriket

DSC-RX100M5AE32 06 November 2018 by คุณต่อ (Thailand)

RX100m5a It’s awesome compact camera. Easy and very light you’ll enjoy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Gray features

DSC-RX100M5AE32 04 November 2018 by Roschua (Singapore)

Love it; one of the best compact cameras I have bought so far

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but complex

DSC-RX100M5A 27 September 2018 by Pauler (United Kingdom)

My initial reaction is that it will be highly suitable as a compact holiday camera instead of my Sony APS-C. In the early stages it seems very complex although versatile might be a fairer description. One seemingly mean feature is the obvious need to buy an (admittedly low cost) grip for such an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

3

0

A small camera with a lot of impact

DSC-RX100M5A 12 August 2018 by Marcia G (USA)

I bought this camera to take with me while I walked over 635 miles across Northern Spain last Fall. I needed something compact (fits in pants pocket) yet took good quality photos. It's spoiled me....though I still love my DSLR and lenses this little camera has proven itself over and over again for quality and impact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0