673

4.5 based on 673 customer reviews

423
204
27
10
9
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing

With GPS 14 June 2014 by Alexphoto (USA)

This is the best camera I have used in years I had just a regular point and shoot until it broke then for about 7 years I have been using my phone to take pictures and they where just not enough so I had looked for a camera and saw the dslrs and I knew I would always be broke because I would want to have all the lens (it's a psychological thing I know) but when I saw this one I just had to have it for its zoom it is just amazing no matter if you shoot far away or close up I have been getting awesome shoots I'm so glad I got a bridge camera and a sony one to boot I have been a big sony fan for quite some time and I proud to say that I still am. Though there are times I'm not able to get the shoot I really want at times but that still okay I'm still new to photography and this is a bridge camera but I'm still satisfied with the shoots I produce. So this is an amazing camera for wanting to get closer to your subject if you are far away and I like that. If you are looking for something to help you to get right in the action but you are far away no worries you will get close on it and without losing detail. This camera is a great buy definitely check it out you won't be disappointed.

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

lens failure after 3 years of easy use. E:62:10

DSC-HX400V 24 October 2018 by wrs33 (USA)

I purchased this camera in August of 2015. I have taken lots of pics and vids and everything worked as expected. pic quality not the best, but decent considering the sensor size. light is your friend. setting the pixels to 5M also helps the sensor. Within the past 6 weeks an error code (e:62:10) started to display. I tired the work arounds found on the internet and that worked for about 1 month. Now I am finding that I will have to spend ~200$ to replace the lens, which is ~1/2 the price of the camera after 3 years and 1 month of use. I really like this camera and I imagine that when I look for a replacement the best option will still be this model. Hopefully this issue has been resolved. I want to stress that this camera has never been handled poorly. When I cannot clear the code you can see the lack of image stabilization in the view finder and in the pic. If I had written this review before this error occurred it would have been 5 stars. I am really disappointed that this happened after 3 years. Maybe Sony will help me out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

673 Customer Reviews

0

love the camera

DSCHX400B 12 August 2019 by capt craig (USA)

i love this camera , great zoom and takes beautiful pictures. I am a little confused by all the setting but i am sure i will figure it out. I do not like the photo program , it up loaded my other pictures and and unsure how to put hem in a file format. If i delete a picture from the Sony file it also deleted from my main file. so i deleted the Sony program.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Started off well but .....

With GPS 11 August 2019 by funkyp (United Kingdom)

I was initially happy with my purchase, however on using it while on holiday I have found several issues with it, namely the on/off button has to be pressed several times to switch the camera on, in very good light the camera doesn't perform so well, darkening the subject and the zoom has stopped working on several occasions, freezing completely and showing only a blurred image, the camera then has to be switched off and on again in order to get the zoom to work again. I presume that I have been unlucky and bought a faulty camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A trial

With GPS 07 August 2019 by Lilli60 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera last month and am still trying to work it out. So far so good however, I would really like an instruction book with the camera as I have relied on the website and youtube

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

good all round camera

With GPS 07 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

it`s a good camera i wish it had a higher f stop and raw capabilities but overall a good zoom

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I like it

With GPS 03 August 2019 by pegsy (United Kingdom)

This is the second time I have purchased this camera, i originally bought this model about 5 years ago, after much use it has a problem and for the cost to have it repaired it wasnt worth it. As I was more than happy with the first one and looking at all bridge cameras on the market came back to the Sony cannot fault it. I also have the dsc-hx90v love that too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Comprehensive features - but no instructions

With GPS 02 August 2019 by Scott F (United Kingdom)

As a first timer with such a camera, I would have liked an instruction manual on how to access and use the features. Some of the shots I have taken are of outstanding clarity so hopefully I will find out how to use it to it's full potential

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Great camera

With GPS 31 July 2019 by JoMike25 (United Kingdom)

We previously had an earlier version of this camera but this is much improved clearer pictures and particularly like being able to transfer to iPad u By wi if using the app

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Just what I want from a camera

With GPS 27 July 2019 by Maxxman (United Kingdom)

I wanted to get macro shots( non professional) without the expense of another lense. This fits the bill just right. Zoom is brilliant, it would cost a lot to be able to get the shots on my DSLR,(another big lens). All in all fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Loaded with features at a great price

With GPS 27 July 2019 by Christian615 (Malaysia)

Purchase the product recently to take on an upcoming trip. Have not used it much yet except to take some test shots but very pleased with its performance so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Big Bang for the buck!! Unbelievable camera!!

DSC-HX400V 26 July 2019 by LOgalinor (USA)

I bought this camera about a year ago, and couldn’t be happier, for the price I paid and received a nice Sony rebate. The zoom lens is fantastic. I had the DSC-HX80 with 30X zoom, previously. I take a lot of wildlife photography, especially eagles, hawks, and Hummingbirds, who are constantly flying in motion. This camera also serves as my binoculars, when trying to see something from afar. I do sell some wildlife photo notecards and people ask me what camera I use. They are always surprised that my photos were not from a higher end DSLR camera. You absolutely cannot go wrong with this camera, at this price!! I am hoping to upgrade to the Sony Cybershot rx10 iv, when I can afford it. I can’t say enough good things about this camera. For this price, no other brand comes close to the features offered on this Sony. Do not hesitate, highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera and Super 50x Optical Zoom

With GPS 22 July 2019 by GadgetgeekHampshire (United Kingdom)

Wanted an upgrade to my previous camera, had used Sony in the past and had always regretted moving to another manufacturer. The DSC-HX400V is easy to use and I have had some great results so far. Haven’t had the camera long and am still experimenting with the different settings but I have not been disappointed. The 50x optical zoom (up to 100x digital zoom) is fantastic, in fact it is far better than a friends 18-300mm DSLR Which has cost more than £1000, so I am very happy that I have the DSC-HX400V. It handles well, and I feel that I am not going to drop it compared to other cameras. I have a degenerative neck condition so weight was was important for me, and the DSC-HX400V is ideal, and much lighter than a DSLR. Overall I am very happy with my purchase and looking forward to taking lots of pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great pictures

With GPS 20 July 2019 by Allan666 (United Kingdom)

I have had this a few weeks very pleased with the quality and value, zoom is good. Only problem is if you take action photos processing image is slow. I come from SLR and this is a replacement for it like that you don’t have to change lenses a much more zoom than any SLR i have had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent everyday camera.

With GPS 17 July 2019 by Rob165 (United Kingdom)

I already have a DLSR but needed something for everyday use without lenses etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great feature and picture quality

DSCHX400B 15 July 2019 by dave100a (USA)

This camera has everything I need for my level of experience with photography and video. I use it for my travel log while traveling in my RV though out Canada and the USA. It has many features that require a steep learning curve that I really can use for various photo and video shots. Also I don't need photo shop or video software to clean up the results like I did with my previous camera. Great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

With GPS 15 July 2019 by Juliea (United Kingdom)

I was given this camera as a gift, its got many great features love the camera but at present I am unable to connect the camera to my phone which is annoying. Not sure if phone's compatible or its something else.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

absolutely fabulous

With GPS 13 July 2019 by woody52 (United Kingdom)

I am no way a professional, so wanted an easy to use camera without all the tech, which this camera has by the way, but it is also a click and shoot, and after playing around with it for a few weeks now I think it is great! My friend who is a photographer says its a cracking camera with all the tech if you want it, so pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

SLR results from something half the size

With GPS 01 July 2019 by Halfpenny (United Kingdom)

Having used a Nikon 3300 DSLR with twin lens for the last 3 years, and tired of carrying everything around, I needed something half the size and weight. The Zoom and quality of photos that the Sony HX400V produce is a perfect replacement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Impressed with zoom

With GPS 30 June 2019 by Jazzie (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for my existing bridge camera as I needed a better zoom facility. This camera fits the bill. Have only used it a couple of times as I bought for a special upcoming holiday but appears easy to use, just slightly heavier than my previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A light camera with an excellent zoom range

With GPS 25 June 2019 by 0000001 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a Sony Alpha 350 that due to me getting older was proving to be on the heavy side when fitted with a larger zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Hx400v Compact Camera With x50 Zoom

With GPS 24 June 2019 by Tab2 (United Kingdom)

I Updated To This Camera & So far It's Fab On Auto Modes & Manual The Best Pic's Of The Moon I Have Taken On A Camera .If You Need A New Camera You Will Love This One .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

great camera easy to use

With GPS 23 June 2019 by colsecurity (United Kingdom)

bought a few week ago the colour quality is very good it just does everthing i want

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

With GPS 22 June 2019 by Alupolis1979 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera almost a month ago and I can say it features everything a non pro photographer would love to have. I deleted a star just because one of the reasons I bought it was because I wanted the time Lapse feature but after the purchase I realized that it was not available in Greece.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Poor wireless connection

With GPS 21 June 2019 by Manxkippr (United Kingdom)

Great camera and excellent quality photos BUT the WiFi connection is useless. The Imaging Edge app is rubbish for sending photos to my iPhone and I have now given up trying.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

Totally Brilliant Camera

With GPS 19 June 2019 by Greenbird (United Kingdom)

I am a Birder more than a photographer. Having purchased an expensive SLR with interchangeable lenses I found the effort of changing lenses outweighed any advantages. I purchased the Sony Bridge Camera, immediately was able to get some great distance bird shots and within 1 hour of purchasing the camera I was taking remote photos from my smart phone using the wifi capability. Amazing, brilliant camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great camera full of features

With GPS 19 June 2019 by peterhew (United Kingdom)

ive only had the camera two weeks and although im 60 years old its my first real camera and im loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great camera

DSCHX400B 17 June 2019 by grampajim005 (USA)

Great camera , easy to use, yet lots of features to try, love tyhe zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My second Sony Camera

With GPS 11 June 2019 by UlsterSam (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a second hand, it was extremely well looked after and is still as good today as it was when it was new

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features

With GPS 11 June 2019 by Little one (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased to use on different subjects to my partner. The magnified image is brilliant for a fixed zoom lens. I just love the second auto focus facility that takes multiple shots in low light situations, and produces the best image from those shots. Still getting to grips with the features but looking forward to exploring with this camera. Really happy that I purchased it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

HX400V

With GPS 10 June 2019 by jojocolvin (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my last Sony camera. It is superb. Beautiful photographs ... Easy to use. A super supercamera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy for me as beginner

With GPS 04 June 2019 by JaneS2 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace an SLR and 300mm lens which I never used because of the weight carrying round. I have taken lots of bird photos to help me identify them and was amazed how well they came out. Not used many of the features but point and shoot on auto plus fast shoot . Hoping I can gradually learn the features and how to use aperture, speed etc to make photos better. I use maximum magnification regularly without a tripod- I never expected such good images. I also found the camera comfortable to hold compared to others in the shop. Downside? I found reclaiming the voucher money stressful as I am not good at IT and did it incorrectly somehow ( on my third attempt) so had to send pictures again. The app on my tablet to download the photos changed without me knowing which was confusing and I don't like the ads I now get every time I change folder in my app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera! Definitely worth the money!

With GPS 04 June 2019 by Jvod (United Kingdom)

I bought this item about a month ago, when it arrived, I was already impressed. It features an impressive 50x Optical Zoom, and another 50x Digital Zoom. The battery life is amazing, I used it for around 18h before the battery depleted fully. The camera is nice to hold, very ergonomic and features a place to put a strap on, so you don't drop it by accident. This camera can also be mounted onto a Tripod, which is very useful. The camera features many different modes for taking photos and has a built in app store, for different camera features. The lens is 55mm and this therefore means lots of different lenses can be connected, filters etc.. The camera also has a hot plate, so different, external accessories can be connected. Overall, 5 star camera, great price, great specs. Overall absolutely amazing. Would most definitely recommend!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Brilliant Camera

With GPS 30 May 2019 by Leeky (United Kingdom)

Has all the features you could need, focus close up can be a bit hit and miss but nothing you can't work around. My first Sony and my first Bridge camera. I would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera for the money

With GPS 25 May 2019 by Sooz 52 (United Kingdom)

I wanted to rekindle my interest in photography and wanted a digital camera that was easy to use , comfortable to handle , good picture results at an affordable price .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic Camera!

With GPS 24 May 2019 by Skyrocket (United Kingdom)

I have only been using this camera for a short time but I have already taken some great photos. I bought it to replace my old Pentax, which finally gave up on me on a day out to the races. The battery life is very good but I would suggest buying some spares if you intend taking a lot of photos. I am particularly pleased with my photo of a full moon. If you are looking for a camera to take some seriously good photos, you can't go wrong with the Sony HX400V.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Camera

With GPS 24 May 2019 by lesricky (United Kingdom)

I bought the HX400V a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it and it's performance, It easily matches my Canon 60D at a lot less wait and picture quality is very good. Very pleased I bought it and have only used this camera since.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Lense

With GPS 22 May 2019 by MikeyOf Aires (United Kingdom)

Great camera for beginners to advanced users, can be difficult to use the menus when having no experience

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Replacement

With GPS 15 May 2019 by Marty123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a much older Nikon with a 300 zoom lens. So far very impressed with the features, but a proper user manual would be a help. Much higher resolution and much less weight to carry round.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great travel camera

DSCHX400B 14 May 2019 by Old Jim (USA)

I bought the DSCHX400B to take on a trip to Scotland, as I didn't want to lug around a DSL with multiple lenses. I have been using it at home to get familiar with it, and have not been disappointed with it's features and the quality of the photos I've taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lots of features

With GPS 09 May 2019 by Saabman 93 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace a smaller one. I am extremely pleased with it and will know more when I go to the Monte Carlo F1 Grand Prix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features just asI required

With GPS 01 May 2019 by Trotsky cat (United Kingdom)

Great camera easy to use good zoom. a Nd great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing Camera!

With GPS 25 April 2019 by jodes27 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for Christmas last year and I must say, it has changed my photography/recording style. It is very simple to use and is my first camera. For anyone looking an easy and simple camera I 100% recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Because its a Sony

With GPS 25 April 2019 by Gina9165 (United Kingdom)

For the Zoom Pic Quality And I like a Sony easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good zoom beginners camera but poor instructions

With GPS 22 April 2019 by Russh (United Kingdom)

The camera feels good to handle and it zooms in close to the subject but the resolution seems little better than a high end smart phone (which, admittedly cost three times more and don't have that zoom). The instructions downloaded from the internet are dire. The camera has built in instructions which are also next to useless. It's a camera for beginners, but the instructions were not written with beginners in mind.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

All round camera.

With GPS 21 April 2019 by Kev G (United Kingdom)

I have use the camera for aviation and for family shots and the results are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features

With GPS 12 April 2019 by verhavomit (United Kingdom)

I bought this as my DSLR had become too heavy and awkward for my arthritic hands. This is a great camera, easily fits in a small bag for motorbike rides. I love the tilting screen, no bending down. Also the eye sensor for view finder or screen is brilliant. Highly recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Camera

With GPS 31 March 2019 by Lesley13 (United Kingdom)

Extremely good value with way more features than I had realized when I actually bought it. It's great on automantic; but gives lots of oportunities for experimentation on manual mode. Highly recommend. Easy to use straight away, but a little effort is needed to master all the wonderful features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great little machine!

With GPS 27 March 2019 by ProBono (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera two weeks ago to make better photos about my products. I am a complete novice, but I already made some outstanding photos. I try to get out of the pre-set modes and discover all of its features. I bought a 80cm x 80cm photo studio tent and a basic tripod as well. I love this camera. It is not too heavy, the zoom is incredible!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

An amazing little camera

With GPS 25 March 2019 by dave52 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to take on a seven week holiday in New Zealand as I didn't want to take my DSLR plus extra lenses. I was amazed at the capabilities of this little camera, and didn't miss my DSLR at all. The HX400V was capable of anything the DSLR could plus much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The Superior Lens

With GPS 19 March 2019 by Walkman15 (United Kingdom)

To me having used Nikon and Canon for the last 35 years , The Lens on this camera makes all the diffrence. Most cameras of the Type have good programs, like the Sony, but they do not have a lens to compare to this Zeiss. Its smooth in operation and if shooting action the auto focus is very good, shoot 3 pictures clusters 1 will be in perfect focus. In other makes you would be paying £1000+ for this quailty. Great work SONY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Great Camera....For a While...

DSC-HX400V 09 March 2019 by Steuman (USA)

New buyers considering this camera, please do not discount the people complaining about E62:10 issues. This camera is great and I loved mine until this error occurred, but now that it has my wonderful 50x optical zoom is useless. Chances are VERY high yours will ultimately have the same issue--just research the 62:10 error and see. Mine lasted just over 2 years. The easy work-around power-on/power-off solutions either do not work for long or do not work at all. If they fail your only options are trying to replace the image stabilization cable deep inside the lens assembly or replacing the entire lens assembly which costs about half the price of the camera. For those who think they'll try the cable (which is every inexpensive), beware that the replacements sold online lack two tiny electronic components soldered to the pads on the end. I don't know what they are but I suspect they are the source of the error more often than the cable itself. You'll have to disassemble the camera all the way down to the end of the lens assembly AND take the stabilizer apart just to free up the old cable. Threading it back together is not easy, but I managed to do it only to discover the error remained. Before the error effectively ruined my camera I really loved it. The zoom and image stabilization were magnificent for a camera in this price range but what does it matter if it runs such a high failure risk after just 2-3 years? Once it fails forget using zoom without a tripod. You can't hold it steady enough to get a clean shot even at high shutter speeds. Autofocus also struggles to work. I've missed far too many shots as it faded endlessly in and out trying to lock on. Pictures using even a small amount of zoom appear muddy and blurry. You can still get reasonable snapshots without zoom--but I can take comparable pictures at that level with a MUCH less expensive camera. I once recommended this camera. I regretfully must change my opinion. Do not waste your money on this if you want a camera that lasts more than 2-3 years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

With GPS 09 March 2019 by Pam44 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago. I have used a DSLR camera for years with the different lenses, but it’s getting a bit heavy for me now. This was a perfect replacement. I took it away with me, it was much more compact, and I was able to take lots of lovely photos. Very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony HX400V is an excellent camera!

With GPS 09 March 2019 by lucky user (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 3 years ago and I am very satisfied!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

To soon to know

With GPS 07 March 2019 by Brian1951 (United Kingdom)

Bought about 6 weeks ago only tried a few test shoots seems OK , going on a tour in May will give it a good test then

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Best of the camera's that I researched

DSCHX400B 24 February 2019 by Gary1234567890 (USA)

I researched most of the popular "bridge" cameras looking for a camera that I could pull out and immediately take a picture. I thought that I wanted to go back to a typical camera with removable lenses but I found that they are too complicated and require too much effort to simply take a picture. The DSCHX400B has most of the features and functions that I decided were important for me. Yes, I would buy it again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features - love it!

With GPS 10 February 2019 by Judith2016 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about a month ago and am really pleased with it. It is not too big and heavy to carry and has a fantastic zoom. I have not used all the features yet but have used the burst on some wildlife and with the zoom really pleased with the quality of photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Impressed so far!

With GPS 08 February 2019 by adrian1652 (United Kingdom)

I have very little knowledge of photography and I wanted to step up from my old compact with a view to learning more about photography and being able to take good pictures in a range of situations including promotional shots for my gardening business. I researched many bridge cameras and SLRs and opted for the HX400V. Features that attracted me were the favourable reviews concerning the zoom lens, the electronic viewfinder with automatic eye detection, plus the camera being in the right price range for me. So far I have only experimented with the camera on auto setting and outdoors in good light - so a long way to go yet! However, I am already really impressed by the ease with which I can take clear images of subjects both close up and at distance. I was worried that the EVF might be fuzzy and not helpful - I needn't have worried, it's fine, and the automatic switch over between screen and EVF is one of the reasons I chose this model and not the HX350. So I am feeling happy and confident that this camera will serve me well and I am looking forward to learning more about it's features and therefore about photography in general..... in time this might justify the next step up to a DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wireless Tranfer & in genral all the facilitys

With GPS 02 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very very good for the Price and well made. easy to use giving realy good Photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera light to carry easy to use

With GPS 02 February 2019 by Chevron56 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to carry when walking getting fantastic photos with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Seems to do a really good job

DSCHX400B 01 February 2019 by Pug36 (USA)

It does tend to have excessive noise at a long zoom especially in difficult light.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty pleased

With GPS 01 February 2019 by Shanman (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a 'point and click' camera and have always thought Sony might be out of my reach but the CyberShot was right on my budget. The Wi-fi and NFC fearures take a little mastering but are greatb features. The zoom is far better than my previous camera and the picture quality is fabulous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good all round camera

With GPS 01 February 2019 by Snowy52 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera as a replacement and very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

With GPS 30 January 2019 by Shooter008 (United Kingdom)

Its very good and had many beautiful features. I would recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera

With GPS 29 January 2019 by TTTTS (United Kingdom)

very easy to take pictures and videos but still trying to link to my phone, its only been 2 months and I have given up. Will ask my daughter to help as Sony are not easy top contact. Maybe they will now contact me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0