58

4.7 based on 58 customer reviews

53
1
0
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

58 Customer Reviews

0

Sony 24mm F1.4 GM superb quality

SEL24F14GM SYX 01 April 2021 by AlexWinata (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought my sony 24mm f1.4 lens and i was amaze by the quality and result. good work sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL24F14GM 10 March 2021 by brento73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched to Sony full-frame cameras, and bought this lens at the same time as I bought the A7Riii. I LOVE this lens. I shoot a lot of wildlife, and often have a long zoom on my camera, but when I want wide angle, this is THE lens. It's sharp, it's great in low light, and even with the 24mm field of view, you can still get a shallow depth of field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent native lens from Sony !

SEL24F14GM SYX 23 January 2021 by Kyden (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little lens with excellent sharpness, no regrets owning this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL24F14GM 18 December 2020 by NJK88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Essential lens for videography. It’s simply the gold standard.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Bad Copy? Very Poor Auto-Focus & Frequent Pulsing

SEL24F14GM SYX 25 November 2020 by SethC (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm not sure whether I got a bad copy - will need to contact Sony for investigation or possible warranty. Leaving this review here in case someone shares the same issues. From YouTube reviews, it seems that people usually love this lens for its good overall performance including with autofocus as well. My current unit, and with the latest firmware as of November 2020, focus hunts and fail to be in focus like it's not close to being a native lens. I have a Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 DG DN lens that is decisive and accurate in getting focus within the first click of a shutter, or when left to perform by itself decisively on auto-focus. However, my present unit of Sony 24mm *GM* f/1.4 lens couldn't perform close to it. By that - this is on the latest Sony a7S III, I meant having the autofocus tracking box on screen locked on, but my Sony GM f/1.4 lens still fails to get focus even after 5-15 seconds on AF Focus Transition Speed at 5 and AF Subject Shift Sensitivity at 5. I mentioned up till 15 seconds only because by then, I'd have to move around and re-adjust my position to hopefully gain focus by holding on the shutter and re-clicking focus points on-screen multiple times. Under normal day-light circumstances, it'd also focus pulse randomly while shooting video, causing unusable footages. This is not an acceptable circumstance for a GM lens, but after having it for about 2 months and used it on 3 shootings with the a7S III, it has never failed to focus pulse randomly while recording video each time. Will have to reach out to Sony to get this investigated.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Pure Quality

SEL24F14GM 10 November 2020  (USA)

Purchased this lens 10 months ago and have shot a few thousand photos through it. I’ve done everything from landscape, portrait, food, auto, product, and astro photography with it. I love the sharpness and the phenomenal depth of field. As with any wide angle lens, you have to beware of odd angles especially when doing portrait photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceeded my expectations

SEL24F14GM 07 November 2020 by Domscillator (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing autofocus performance, great in low light and beautiful creamy bokeh. I didn't expect to fall in love with this lens but it proved me wrong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

World class glass

SEL24F14GM 05 November 2020 by DBounce (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens was the first that I purchased for my Sony A7S III. It made a short list as the reviews were all very positive. After receiving my unit i understood why. This wide and fast lens is versatile, clean while not being sterile. It has character while producing excellent image quality. It’s a must have for any full frame Sony shooter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I love this lens

SEL24F14GM SYX 16 October 2020 by JYTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is so small for a F1.4. it is light weight. Distortion was minimal. using this to shoot at night, sometimes u can even use ISO200. I like the aprture ring too!! It is amazing!! I hope there are more small GM lenses with F1.4 aperture like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Believe the hype - brilliant lens

SEL24F14GM 14 October 2020 by STNT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is nothing thing I can add that hasn’t already been said - this truly is a brilliant lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great little lens

SEL24F14GM 26 September 2020 by MrJingles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had the lens for about a month. Used it a couple of times on my A6500. very happy the sharpness and quality of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Love this lens!

SEL24F14GM 26 July 2020  (USA)

Exceed expectations in all ways, this lens is super sharp, minimal distortion and literally I can't say anything negative. The weight, the feel, the look all surpass expectation and it's 1.4 ... it's priced perfectly as well, you get a lot of bang for the buck with this lens. All the high reviews are definitely justified, this makes me excited to save for another G Master to add to my growing lineup of lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

At Last!

SEL24F14GM 23 July 2020 by zaperture (USA)

I had been renting various lenses to find the perfect wide angle and decided on the 24mm. So happy I did. The clarity and F1.4 aperture give me the feel I am always looking for in my images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Pricey but worth it

SEL24F14GM SYX 17 June 2020 by iamvpv (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well built and great image quality coming from this lens. Price is on the expensive side but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp

SEL24F14GM SYX 27 May 2020 by iPilot (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first lens. I bought it after thorough research. And this lens didn’t let me down. Construction of lens is top class. This lens is very good for travel Astro and street photography. A must for vloggers and videographers. Sharp corner to corner gives amazing results. I most of the time have it mounted on A7R IV. This combo is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good sharp lens

SEL24F14GM SYX 26 May 2020 by Rated (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good lens for landscape use even with some portraits, not really good bokeh but overall is good lens

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing in design

SEL24F14GM 21 May 2020 by mwalidt (USA)

Initially I was extremely excited to get my hands on this lens having read the various reviews and seeing footage/images taken using the 24mm 1.4 GM. However this lens, and it may be that I received a faulty lens from Sony, produces an unbearable rattling noise as you change aperture. I've tried adjusting it both manually and automatically yet this noise is persistent. After searching the issue up online I was directed to download and install both firmware updates for my Sony A7RIII body and 24mm 1.4 GM lens, which I did. But to no avail, the noise was persistent even after putting the Aperture to silent priority mode. I'm not sure if this is normal for this lens as none of my other lenses have this issue and work just fine. This is my first Sony lens, let alone my first G Master lens, purchase and I'm actually really disappointing. I would love to hear some input from anyone else on this matter/issue. I would especially value a response from a Sony representative as to whether this is normal for such an expensive lens. I've attached a video below of the issue. (Note: The camera is in Silent priority mode)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Great

SEL24F14GM SYX 17 May 2020 by No Short name (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sony lense. Great Sony lense. Great Sony lense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great it very good i love it

SEL24F14GM SYX 11 May 2020 by ZKhanin (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

I happy to had that . it very good quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 24mm F1.4

SEL24F14GM SYX 29 April 2020 by DCMJ (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp, fast and flexible. With APS-C mode on A7iii, it becomes 36mm as well, with good enough resolution.

0

0

0

Sharp & Versatile

SEL24F14GM SYX 29 April 2020 by breadboy (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of my go to lenses, stuck on my A7iii most of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

24mm G master review

SEL24F14GM SYX 29 April 2020 by rhysdury (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is fast focusing, light and efficient. One of my favourite lens to use. Looking forward to see a 50mm f1.4 G master

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

SEL24F14GM 28 February 2020 by ThirdSelf Always (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Images are very high quality, compensate the mediocre skill of amateur photographers like me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible focus control, great lens.

SEL24F14GM 24 February 2020 by blackcat69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a few weeks ago and the results are incredible with pinpoint focus accuracy and incredibly shallow depth of field at f1.4. Versatile lens, definitely recommend for anyone with a Sony A7R IV camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Light and bright 24 for the street

SEL24F14GM 16 February 2020 by JCK19 (USA)

Great lens on the A7R2 for the extra angle and compositions indoor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect Walking Around Lens

SEL24F14GM 09 February 2020 by dan0513 (USA)

I bought this lens a few months ago because I needed a high quality lens that was easy to travel with. I use this lens with my A7 M3 and it does not disappoint. It's lightweight and compact. I was surprised by the survivability of this lens. On more than one hike I've stumbled or dropped it and this lens has held up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievably sharp

SEL24F14GM 03 February 2020 by JoePhoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After toying between this and a 16-35 I am very pleased with my choice. It’s the sharpest lens I’m yet to use and the 1.4 shallow depth is absolutely bokehlicious. It’s a beautifully crafted lens and feels good in the hand and on the camera. 16mm would sometimes be nice for landscapes but most of the time this is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens

SEL24F14GM 28 January 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic lens, superb bokeh, fast autofocus.... but I just wish they would not take 60+ days to give me my £100 cash back (... I'm still waiting Sony...)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Astro and landscape lens

SEL24F14GM 20 January 2020 by Curtis2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to try out Astro and use as a walk around lens it’s really easy to get good shots and I’m sure with practise they will great shots there was a bit of focus issues at first but I think that was user error and now I use spot focusing I’m getting better results. Dust on the sensor ruined a lot of shots but that’s a full frame issue it seems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Beautifully made lens, expensive, but superb

SEL24F14GM 07 January 2020 by WK reviews (United Kingdom)

I made the switch from an aging M43 Olympus OMD EM5 to the Sony A7iii recently and went through the whole deliberation of what lenses to purchase for it.. Coming from a M43 where my body + 3 lenses would only weigh roughly 1.7KG's in total (which is the reason I went M43 from a Canon DSLR) I didn't want to stray too far away from that sort of weight. I travel quite a bit from morning until night and weight is something I need to consider, this may differ from your needs though. I had three lenses (or three focal area's I'd like) in mind when purchasing my A7iii: This 24mm 1.4 GM (9cm long / 445g), Sony's 16-32 2.8 GM (12cm long / 680g) & Sony's 24-70 2.8 GM (13cm long / 886g) After much thought and research, I opted for the 24mm focal length due to this being my go to length according to my Lightroom Metadata statistics, as well as the weight/size differences between them all, not to also mention the additional 2 f-stops which I would need for low light shots. The 24mm came in at the shortest and lightest vs the other two zoom lenses, this is probably no surprise there. The 16-32mm was a close second and I spent a while umming and arring, though the price was another £700 odd extra, so I opted for this 24mm. After deciding the focal length I wanted, I looked at alternatives such as the Sigma 24mm 1.4 ART lens which was pretty much half the price of the Sony 24mm. After reading a ton of reviews, I felt the Sony came off as a better lens in terms of build quality, picture quality and the additional size/weight of the Sigma version (11.5cm long / 780g), that's an extra inch in length and 340g's more, which is 75~% heavier than the Sony 24mm, even more than the 16-32 2.8 lens I was considering. A decent comparison review of both lenses I found could be read at lightandmatter org and DPreviews had good user comments if that helps someone else in the same choice as myself. Enough about my personal sitational choice, and moving on to actual lens itself... Build quality is solid, for something that weighs only 445g it feels dense and well balanced. Mounted onto my A7iii, it has a nice weight to it, not too heavy at the front, though single handed shooting is still something I need to adjust to coming from a M43 body + lense which weighs around 600-700 grams. the A7iii and the 24mm weighs in roughly around 1.1KG in total, which is not too bad for a mid-high end body and lens. The lens features an aperature ring, many many reviews mention that the ring gets rotated during transport etc, though I haven't found that happening to myself (as of yet), I quite like having the aperture ring. There's a switch which allows you to transition from a clicky feedback to smooth ring rotation, great for videographers as it wont create noise/vibration when turning the aperture ring. Not something I would need, so I leave it on the click feedback so I can tell when I'm changing apertures if using the ring. There's also an A position on the ring to allow you to control the aperture via the camera body like you would normally do. Vignetting appears slightly when wide open, but not really noticable after f2 or so, not that big of a deal as it can be controlled post processing anyway. Center sharpness is exceptional and corner sharpness too is great across the image even at f1.4. Corner sharpness gets even better past f2.8 which amazes me even more so. Autofocus is super quick and accurate 99% of the times, though this may also be situational depending on your body, but on the A7iii it's a huge huge huge step up from my 7-8 year old OMD EM5. The bokeh is absolutely stunning, it features 11 aperture blades which create beautifully round circles which you may notice on lenses with 9 or less blades. Creates stunning creamy bokeh if that's what you're after, doesn't suffer from onion ring bokeh that the Sigma 24mm has a touch of. The filter thread required is 67mm, quite a standard across the Sony lenses. The lens comes with a nice little lens carry case, which is a nice touch, though given the amount you're spending for the GM lenses, it's about right. A well designed lens hood is also included, it has a nice release button you need to press in order to take it off, making it a bit more secure. Overall, yes it's an expensive lens, though if you're looking at the GM series of Sony lenses, you don't expect cheap. The overal quality, I feel personally, warrants the price. The Sigma is a great alternative and if pushed for money, I would have bought that instead and sacrificed on weight and size for money. Quite a long winded review, though hopefully this helps someone that was in the same situation as myself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL24F14GM 04 January 2020 by Mckellar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was a little hesitant when first buying this lens but since it’s arrival I’ve fallen in love, if that’s even possible! using for portraits and weddings. Using on a full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

First Wide Angle Lens

SEL24F14GM 12 November 2019 by eldongeb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with this lens. I have shot indoors and out with the lens and it is sharp as a tack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp, compact

SEL24F14GM 07 November 2019 by JamesL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Sharp lens, compact size. I like the aperture ring on the lens with the ability to revert to using the thumb wheels by switching to A on the ring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp,

SEL24F14GM 07 October 2019 by Malcey (United Kingdom)

Although I prefer a more long term usage before making judgments. All I can say for now is that this lens could probably be the best lens purchase I’ve ever made and I used a lot of premium lenses from most brands. Small and lightweight and so sharp wide open. Just buy it it’s just amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Brilliant

SEL24F14GM 29 September 2019 by Ninirockx (USA)

I borrowed this lens once. On the basis of great reviews. I shoot rockn roll concerts very often and wanted to try it out. I was absolutely excited and convinced. What a quality. Sharp from corner to corner, and that wide open. Even the drummer who is further away is clearly visible. It was clear I had to buy it. I'm a fan of the G-master lenses and that's my first prime lens. The quality is brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best investment

SEL24F14GM 08 August 2019 by kenny2000 (USA)

G Master lenses are expensive but rightly so. This beast is sharp and extremely lightweight so travel and walk-arounds is less stressful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp wide lens for various purposes!

SEL24F14GM 06 August 2019 by Ashlie (Malaysia)

I pre-ordered this lens when it first came out and has used it since. This is by far the best lens in my line-up. It is optically sharp wide open (f1.4) and at smaller apertures. It is also a very versatile lens, as I have been using it for landscape, environmental portrait and street photography. The lens is well-built with good features (AF/MF button, Click ON/OFF button, programmable button), and I use it for almost 90% of my photography needs. It is quite small in size, thus easy to bring along short trips or vacations. I pair it with my Sony a7R III to get the best resolution out of the lens, and so far the resolving power of the lens has not disappointed me. I highly recommend this lens for those who are into wider angle lens and low-light photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Astrophotography Use

SEL24F14GM 27 July 2019 by gpsranger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used for astrophotography on my A7s incredible photographs my best ever for detail and pin point stars also used it for a few snapshots on my A6300 again very good clear clean photographs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Outstanding for landscapes and astrophotography

SEL24F14GM 20 May 2019 by Loic Reunion (USA)

I am an astrophotographer in Reunion Island, and own many f1.4 or f1.8 primes of other brands, from 14 to 50 mm range. The first time I made a photo with this lens (of course it was at night and at f1.4 ) I was simply shocked by the sharpness of the image, even in the corners. Pinpoint stars everywhere, even in the corners, moonlit landscapes perfectly rendered and tack sharp at f1.4. Just couldn't think this would be possible one day... Definitely a new standard for fast wide angle prime lenses and by far the best wide angle astro lens I own. Just hope now it will soon have fast G Master sisters like this in the 15-50 mm range for night photography and landscape photography in general !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Brilliant lens does everything I expected.

SEL24F14GM 16 May 2019 by Nick_B (USA)

Still getting used to the lens in terms of composition at 24mm. But brilliant sharpness, bokeh with good colour and contrast. Sometimes knock the aperture ring, but now aware, it's not a problem, cant fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice travel prime.

SEL24F14GM 10 April 2019 by Amateur Sketch (USA)

Recently used this lens on a trip in se Asia. This lens is sharp and performed superbly in low light. The only lens I brought on my trip. Size and weight of the lens is a positive for travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

24mm f1.4 G master is excellent prime Len

SEL24F14GM 17 March 2019 by Andy2019 (USA)

It’s small light weight sharpness bokeh also fit right on my a7iii and my bag for travel perfect for landscape vacation photography I’m so in love with 24mm f1.4 G master.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The Prime

SEL24F14GM 10 February 2019 by Fitz Michael (USA)

This lens is very light and sharp and the manual focus is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb lens. Light and sharp

SEL24F14GM SYX 20 December 2018 by Anthonygmh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought it a month ago, bring it for a trip. It a very sharp len. Good walk around and landscape lens. No regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

G for Gem!

SEL24F14GM SYX 16 December 2018 by MEzairi (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a cityscape passionate shooter, having this incredible lens is dream come true to me. I love travel with my family and shoot cityscape around the world. Travel light is very important. With 2 growing children with me all the time, it is almost impossible for me to properly set up a camera with tripod, and spend too much time to shoot especially in low light. But 24 GM making it possible to shot low light hand held, and effortlessly. The results are magnificent, sharp corner to corner, even at f1.4 Focal 24mm also giving me a reasonable result of family portrait, with superb bokeh, making this lens is perfect all rounder and go to lens for me. I will travel again to Singapore this coming new year eve. With this lens, i hope i can get magnificent photos and footages especially the new year eve fireworks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Overall a fantastic lens!

SEL24F14GM 01 December 2018 by fltotx18 (USA)

I bought this lens a month ago and could not be more happy with it. Sharp, good AF performance in both still and video. The size and weight is a good balance on the A7RIII. Love the bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

The best 24/1.4 you can buy from any system

SEL24F14GM 15 November 2018 by TheTog (USA)

It's not an exaggeration to say that Sony just made the best 24/1.4 out there. The most important points are that it's lighter than all modern 24/1.4 (including the Leica 24/1.4) and smaller than most (bigger than the Leica). Here is my own list of pros, so-so, and cons ***Pros*** + Lightest and smallest for its class so more enjoyable to use, more suitable for small Sony mirrorless bodies + Sharp corner-to-corner from WO, great stop down as well + Lowest sagittal coma in it class, great for wide-field astrophotgraphy. + Mild pincushion distortion (unusual for a wide) that is good for portrait + Very minimal focus breathing, not just great for video but also for focus stacking + True to the GM design philosophy: prioritize sharpness and bokeh with highest Sony construction quality (aperture ring, customizable on body button, de-click) + Great manual focus feel, quite comparable with the best manual focus lenses + Cheaper than Canikon and Leica 24/1.4 ***So-So*** + Above average flare resistance and when it happens, flare and ghost can be ugly + Above average chromatic aberration suppression: they're there, but not to the point of uncorrectable in post-process. + Fast focus speed: faster than the GM 85 and FE 50/1.4 but slower than say FE 55/1.8. I expected blazing fast like the FE 55/1.8 due to the new 3x torque AF motor. ***Cons*** + Baked in vignetting and lateral CA correction: I prefer to fix these my own, especially vignetting. I have been saving up to own a set of Leica Luxes for small size/weight, but this really quenched that need. Looking forward for more GM like this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

5

0

A great Sony GM len

SEL24F14GM SYX 13 November 2018  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this len recently and I'm very happy with the len performance. I also own and love my Sony 85mm f1.4 G-master but it is too heavy for Sony mirrorless camera. In 2018, Sony is putting effort to produce smaller, lighter, competitive price and the most important is great IQ lens. Good job to Sony team!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens!

SEL24F14GM SYX 13 November 2018 by RichardLKT (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the IQ of this lens! My new favourite prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fav wide angle lens!

SEL24F14GM SYX 10 November 2018 by Keithbandit (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got the lens when it is available in Singapore. Been the most used lens due to its short focal length and sharpness. Fav lens now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Must have in your gear set

SEL24F14GM SYX 08 November 2018 by Bank12684 (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Crispy sharp at 1.4 , wonderful rounded bokeh , accuracy and speedy focus all come in palm sized lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

IT'S A 100% YES

SEL24F14GM 08 November 2018 by Mystro (USA)

I bought this lens and i've been totally happy. i own about 10 lenses and this is one of the best. It's a 100% yes

27

1

0

I waited a long time for this to come

SEL24F14GM 03 November 2018 by LEE1989 (USA)

After being a Sony camera user and switched from their A-mount to the E-Mount, I have been waiting for a 24mm or wider prime for so long, and this finally come! It's smaller and lighter than I thought it would be but it has the best optical performance I could imagine. I used to own the A-Mount Distagon 24mm F2.0 ZA SSM lens, that is a lovely lens but it's slower and less sharp on the corners. This new 24mm GM lens has met my expectation in every aspect. I would love to see Sony strive on to make more lenses like this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

2

0

Excellent resolution

SEL24F14GM 03 November 2018 by Wilby (USA)

Just received lens, well worth it. Took some pics, great resolution, very satisfied with lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

9

0

Superior optical quality, excellent build.

SEL24F14GM SYX 03 November 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this lens for the past few weeks and was really impressed with its weight and size. Loved the bokeh that this lens produces, creamy and buttery. Very sharp wide open, very quick and accurate focusing. Comes with the Sony features Af button at the side and the click and click less aperture ring is great for those who is doing video work. Really loved this lens and will highly reccomend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beyond Expectation

SEL24F14GM SYX 03 November 2018 by Trenyan_photo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this only a few weeks but it is already a featured piece in my camera bag. It lives up to the GMaster name tag and sharp edge to edge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Star eater included in body.

SEL24F14GM 22 September 2018 by Jakub32 (USA)

The manufacturer never fixed old optimizations that end-users wanted to be disabled.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

15

370

0

Star eater issue included

SEL24F14GM 20 September 2018 by a7rii (USA)

Fix old firmware issues first so that products of this kind might be usable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

12

351