23

5.0 based on 23 customer reviews

22
1
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

23 Customer Reviews

0

Outstanding performance for portraits

SEL135F18GM 01 May 2020 by QNTT (USA)

Sharp as a razor, beautiful bocke fast focusing. The quality of the lens in general is flawless. I can’t fault it at all. It is quite expensive but the results justify the price in my opinion. One observation that bothers me: The sunshade is very deep and the grips for the fingers on the lens cap are quite shallow not allowing for a secure grip. In this awkward position the cap has the nasty tendency to jump off from your fingers hitting the glass! For such a big lens cap deeper recesses for a more secure finger grip would be appreciated. It is not a fault of the lens, just a design flaw of the lens cap. I wasn’t able to find something better from a third party manufacturer so Sony maybe an optional cap wouldn’t be too much to ask.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast focus GM

SEL135F18GM SYX 06 April 2020 by StrifeYun (Singapore)

Lens is fast in both aperture and silent focus speed, not forgetting being able to melt the background away. Helps me get some quick action of my pets from a safe distance and not to disturb them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sony FE 135mm f1.8 GM

SEL135F18GM SYX 02 April 2020 by KP Yoong (Malaysia)

A mid tele portraiture lens which I really like as it produces nice creamy bokeh at full aperture. I get really sharp images with with the lens wide open and in tandem with the face and eye detect capabilities of the new Sony cameras I seldom have unfocused shots. The only downside is the steep price.

0

0

0

The “Sharpest” lens I own!

SEL135F18GM 29 March 2020 by DMS2018 (USA)

I am new to the Sony photography ecosystem. The FE 135mm f1.8 GM is the first of two Sony lenses I purchased. This by far is the “Sharpest” lens I’ve used in a very long time! The colors it produces are stellar! I am amazed at how I can hand hold my camera with this lens at shutter speeds as low as 1/10. The sharpness is there! I would recommend this lens to every photographer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Len of E-Mount Full Fame System

SEL135F18GM SYX 23 March 2020 by Peater (Thailand)

Fast auto focus and very sharp lens happy with the picture result

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superlens of Sony 135mm F1.8 GM

SEL135F18GM SYX 17 March 2020 by MN Hussain (Malaysia)

It's fast, it's sharp, it's bokehlicious and it's Sony Superlens. So much so you don't think of the weight. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply Stunning

SEL135F18GM 17 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Lens not only for studio work, but also for creating shallow depth of field for Street Time Lapse. It's such a creative lens and fulfils my thought process in every way possible. The click free aperture ring is a gem when ramping exposures and slick enough not to move camera during shoot on my motorised head. If you're thinking of moving to Sony, this would be a very good excuse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Much more than a portrait lens

SEL135F18GM 28 January 2020 by Chasdog (United Kingdom)

Been using this a month in my sports imaging. It was bought primarily for portrait work and weddings but is actually a real joy for sports, My only gripe would be more to do with me than the lens. I have large hands and perrenially use long lenses with plenty of room to support the lens without fouling the focus or aperture rings. Quite tricky on this lens especially in gloves but I am impressed by the way it feels in the hand, the solid build quality and excellent images especially in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great image quality and subject separation

SEL135F18GM SYX 23 January 2020 by Shoji (Singapore)

I bough this a month ago, never regret it. Would recommend who shoot portrait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fast and accurate focusing

SEL135F18GM SYX 18 January 2020 by Alex Tiew (Malaysia)

Best lens I have here. The focusing speed is fast and accurate especially shooting portrait with my a7iii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful portrait lens

SEL135F18GM SYX 18 January 2020 by Kw9898 (Malaysia)

Absolutely love this lens for shooting portrait. Pin sharp and beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a razor!

SEL135F18GM 10 January 2020 by Stopher77 (United Kingdom)

I decided to purchase this lens as I wanted a telephoto low aperture lens and traded in my Sony FE 70-200 F/4. Wow! What a purchase. This lens is razor sharp even wide open. This is marketed as a portrait lens, however, I have seen incredible results using it for landscapes paired with my Sony A7 III. My only minor issue is the weight, although, it is reassuringly heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Next Level Lens

SEL135F18GM 17 November 2019 by jloz (USA)

I waited and waited to purchase this monster lens and the long wait is over. When I say monster, I mean it is huge! It is a great workout for your forearms as it is very heavy. The IQ this lens delivers is next level. You will not be disappointed, even if you are an image snob. It focuses lightning fast. Performs well in low light conditions. The bokeh melts like butter. Even at $1900 this lens is a bargain. After reading my word salad, go to your nearest online or B&M retailer and do not waste another moment. P.S. Do not purchase the Intl' version. It may be $150 cheaper but it does not come with the manufacturer's warranty and the mount is made of plastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Faultless

SEL135F18GM 16 October 2019 by Chimneyfinder (United Kingdom)

This is a very fine lens. The sharpness is incredible and impressive for maintaining such a high level not only through the aperture range but from close to far distances. Focus speed is at a pro level response. Resistance to flare, ghosting, veil, etc. is very high. The weight and size comes with the design capability so it would be fatuous to criticise it for this. Really, I can not say that this lens is lacking in any department and very few lenses would achieve this in my experience. I have this lens (it is the longest lens I own) as it sits in the mid range of a 70-200mm, and it covers what I want as a telephoto. As I go out walking for a whole day the f2.8 zoom would need a larger bag and it can start to feel heavy. Apart from that the 135 is an absolute joy to use and, being used to prime lenses for 40 years, framing isn't an issue, it suits my eye. I am delighted and fortunate to have such a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Sharp sharp

SEL135F18GM SYX 12 October 2019 by Magicdow (Singapore)

Having used another brand's 135 for many years, the GM 135 is so much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 23 September 2019 by Snowsurfer55 (USA)

This lens is sharp and has an amazing focus system. Great bokeh for portraits and prefer it over an 85mm. So far this is my first GM and it is well worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony FE 135mm F1.8 GM

SEL135F18GM SYX 01 September 2019 by RonneyW (Malaysia)

I have been using the lens for a month and love the picture quality and sharpness

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Absolutely the best 135mm fast len I've ever used.

SEL135F18GM 29 August 2019 by NRE 12 (USA)

This lens is totally fabulous particularly, for low light work. I tried it out at a stage performance this past summer and immediately returned it to the rental shop with money in hand. I've shot at least 10 low light stage performances sine then and have not regretted paying top dollar for this glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL135F18GM SYX 02 August 2019 by Dean78 (Malaysia)

Must be lens in my camera bag all the time when im travel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 29 July 2019 by Doug75 (United Kingdom)

Unbelievably sharp lens. The Eye AF tracks perfectly for portraits even in low light. The two focus hold buttons instead of the one is very useful when rotating the camera for portraits. The lens is expensive but you get what you pay for with the G master lens. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Lens very cool

SEL135F18GM SYX 29 May 2019 by M Piccolo (Thailand)

Lens is very cool and very fastest focus. Picture is very clear, smooth bokeh. I love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A diamont

SEL135F18GM SYX 12 May 2019 by jopothai (Thailand)

Sony did a great job. This a THE lens to have. I use it for street photography, landscape and architecture. A compact lens with many features and a great hood.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

recommend this 135GM

SEL135F18GM SYX 29 April 2019 by JackiePanSingapore (Singapore)

I bought 70-200GM and 135GM, later i will write 70-200GM. If i got a chance, i may return that 70-200GM. Not saying 70-200GM is not good. Because 135GM is near perfect. Super sharp, creamy bokeh, fast AF, nice color render specially skin tone. I owned some other GMs as well, also has been a long time using Canon lens such as 35L,85L etc. Trying to upload some images, but Sony Website, you know, can't upload above 5MB, which is quite stupid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3