23

3.8 based on 23 customer reviews

11
4
1
6
1
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great party speaker

SRS-XB402M 30 August 2020 by Ian765 (United Kingdom)

Contrary to some reviewers, I found the set up easy and straight forward. Alexa works without issue and from a distance. The sound is very good for a product in this price range. I bought this for Alexa features and for the lights to use outside in our garden. It ticks all boxes

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellent extra bass but not a real smart speaker

SRS-XB402M 16 August 2020 by Rahulroses2020 (United Kingdom)

I have purchased this device in the month of April just as when they were very new to market. I use them daily to lesson to music over Spotify but has issues with integrating with Amazon music, youtube or other players over WiFi. Its an average device and do not replace it with a real Alexa echo. The Audio is really good but not better than other premium speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

23 Customer Reviews

0

AMAZING

SRS-XB402M 15 April 2021 by Alexander Novikov (USA)

This is a great speaker although it can not play apple music off the cloud but all in all this is a great speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, great features

SRS-XB402M 15 March 2021 by AndriCost (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought this for me for Christmas I absolutely live it!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

SRS-XB402M 29 December 2020 by steamtrain74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is very good but cannot use while charging, it plays at full volume and cannot turn the light effect off. I expected a better product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great gadget

SRS-XB402M 10 September 2020 by Kpos (United Kingdom)

This is the second one I have purchased for my holiday home.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great party speaker

SRS-XB402M 30 August 2020 by Ian765 (United Kingdom)

Contrary to some reviewers, I found the set up easy and straight forward. Alexa works without issue and from a distance. The sound is very good for a product in this price range. I bought this for Alexa features and for the lights to use outside in our garden. It ticks all boxes

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound poor streaming

SRS-XB402M 26 August 2020 by mikecc51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second speaker sent the first one back as it repeated after the first few minutes. Really bad with BBC streams, unusable. This second one does the same but not as bad!! Tried all the obvious, turned everything off including the router no better. Shame as the sound is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Excellent extra bass but not a real smart speaker

SRS-XB402M 16 August 2020 by Rahulroses2020 (United Kingdom)

I have purchased this device in the month of April just as when they were very new to market. I use them daily to lesson to music over Spotify but has issues with integrating with Amazon music, youtube or other players over WiFi. Its an average device and do not replace it with a real Alexa echo. The Audio is really good but not better than other premium speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB402M 02 August 2020 by Woody89653 (United Kingdom)

This speaker has great sound, unfortunately when playing BBC radio channels through Alexa the sound loops back every few minutes. Hopefully Sony will update software

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Easy to set up and use

SRS-XB402M 20 July 2020 by Jwhit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this. Sound quality is good. Just what I need.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Blown away

SRS-XB402M 10 July 2020  (United Kingdom)

As I've only had basic Bluetooth speakers up until now, this has totally blown them all out of the water. Rich bass and crystal mid range makes this a joy to listen to, easily fills my entire garden with sound. In a nutshell it is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great feature

SRS-XB402M 09 July 2020 by Sapphire 24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and it works great for me. I'm glad I purchased it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not quite what it says on the tin

SRS-XB402M 09 July 2020 by IanY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the speaker not just because it had access Alexa etc, which unlike other reviews I found very easy to activate, but because of the sound and battery life. The later is a big disappointment. Although clearly on the box it says upto 12hrs, I only get a couple of hours life, maybe 4 max. So disappointed with that. The sound is good, the lights are ok, but overall not something which would see a party out in my eyes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Literally BANGING

SRS-XB402M 04 July 2020  (United Kingdom)

Just bought it and I’m super satisfied with it .its just great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Where's the "EXTRA BASS"?

SRS-XB402M 23 May 2020 by Richhr4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this speaker after reviewing the specifications and thought it would be the ideal portable smart speaker. However we are now a week into trying to return it. For the money the sound quality is very poor. Our kitchen alexa out performs it on sound quality and bass. Yet another sony product that we have regretted buying (our sony bravia TV is soo slow!!!)

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

DOES NOT WORK AS A MULTIROOM SPEAKER

SRS-XB402M 11 May 2020 by dennism4 (United Kingdom)

I've got to say I'm disappointed, I expected a lot more from this especially as it's a Sony product, After playing about with the sound modes, EQ settings etc the sound quality is just about ok, but to be totally honest my jbl flip 4 has a better quality of sound ... Alexa does work but beware ... YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE THIS AS AN ALEXA MULTIROOM SPEAKER ... which was my main intended purpose as it does not appear as an Alexa speaker in the speaker list when setting up speaker groups in the Alexa app even though it does appear and is recognised as an Alexa/Echo in the Echo & Alexa list ... which in summary makes the Alexa integration pretty much a useless as you can control any bluetooth speaker in the same way using Alexa on a phone or tab which you have to use to control this anyway ... The "party" lights have a few different modes but no real user control, they don't seem to respond to changes in settings or music very well ...

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Beautiful sound.

SRS-XB402M 03 May 2020 by Godknows (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound quality. Stunning design. Instructions not detailed enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Looks good, Sounds great

SRS-XB402M 28 April 2020 by Normanfid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I provides exactly what I wanted for my outdoor space, really good sound quality anywhere in my garden provided by Alexa. Not too worried about the lighting effect but it does add character and on warm summer nights it might be effective. It also looks the part, so it gets pride of place. The sound is amazingly loud if you want too really annoy the neighbours

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Alexa doesn’t work as well as on Official Amazon

SRS-XB402M 10 April 2020 by Foulk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had to send it back. Alexa didn’t work very well. Lights even when turned off, came back on again each use which was annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Good to use

SRS-XB402M 16 March 2020 by Ladycrumble51 (United Kingdom)

Only got three days ago just started useing it good so far

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Really smart

SRS-XB402M 08 February 2020 by Bfpetal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the great sound and the lights and it was easy to set up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

A lot in its locker

SRS-XB402M 05 February 2020 by Medway Graham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although 70+ in years, I am not the target market for this type of speaker but I wanted something that had good sound quality for speech. With an app controlled graphic equaliser, one can fine tune the sound output to make speech very clear. It connects via Bluetooth and Wi-Fi. For music, it is very adaptable and gives all round sound from its strategically positioned speakers. For those preferring heavy bass and lights, it can do those as well; indeed, that is its main purpose. It is portable but would have been enhanced by a carrying handle for additional safe handling. I bought it as a special offer which was a real bargain. My only complaint is about the associated app which controls all the functions. So far, it seems to change how it works each time with no consistency of operation or display. One can power off from the app yet it didn’t on all occasions when by chance a short press on the power button did the trick. Maybe it’s just me trying to get use to it. Also, I would have preferred more direct controls on the speaker and the option of a wired input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Waterproof speaker

SRS-XB402M 27 January 2020 by Bath 01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little product love how the lights change colour

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great quality speaker

SRS-XB402M 21 January 2020 by Asha83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy with this speaker. Love the fancy lights and having a built in Alexa just takes this product to another level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2