31

4.4 based on 31 customer reviews

19
8
1
2
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very good size for traveling and huge rich bass

SRS-XB01 19 September 2018 by Freek382 (USA)

I buy this SONY Speaker few days ago and so happy, coast=quality!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Portable yet less than satisfactory

SRS-XB01/BC E 19 December 2018 by Karen AP (Singapore)

XB01 is good as it is portable. However, I am unable to track the (battery) power level of usage. Also, there is no indication as to whether the device is fully charged or not? Initially, I faced a problem one week after I bought it. But the sales person refused to let me replace the device for a new one. I was facing charging issue as it seemed like it never stop charging after 8 hours. Currently, I am still monitoring the charging feature of this device. Hope that the problem gets resolved within the warranty period. Overall, I am a little disappointed about the whole issue.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

31 Customer Reviews

0

Nice sound for the convenience

SRSXB01/B 13 February 2019 by kenmc0003 (USA)

I’ve been listening through my speaker for a couple of days and am exceptionally pleased with the quality of the sound and the speaker itself. I had no problem pairing the speaker to my iPhone and began to listen to it right out of the box. I purchased this to listen to tunes in my office. It’s not so loud as to be heard in adjacent offices, but just right for listening at my desk. Thumbs are definitely up!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No battery status

SRS-XB01 13 February 2019  (USA)

I need battery status, and 1200 mha battery. I like the sound of this product. But it's short life. And i don't know battery status. I also have xb 30 , sound so deep, i don't like that. I like sound of xb01 more than xb 30, but battery life make me sad

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB01 10 February 2019 by Liz1481 (United Kingdom)

This is such a compact but excellent sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony SRS-XBO1 Disappointing

SRS-XB01 04 February 2019 by BobA6 (United Kingdom)

I started using this wireless speaker with enthusiasm, and was impressed with its ease of use and the way it connected easily via Bluetooth to my phone etc. the sound quality was good too although I did not detect the claimed "Extra Bass". However, after using over the weekend frequently, it has stopped working today. The speaker is fully charged and has not been mishandled, it connects with devices and starts to play, but then stops. Maybe there is a fault with this one, but it certainly fails a usage test.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Portability is really great

SRS-XB01 04 February 2019 by fixit9 (United Kingdom)

Small enough to take anywhere ,with a big sound that s hard to believe from such a small good looking speaker and no wires at all! My grandchildren love it and are forever trying to borrow the speaker, so I am going to have to buy nine more over this year at birthday time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Impressive sound from something so small

SRS-XB01 03 February 2019 by Fella6969 (United Kingdom)

Very impressive sound from this speaker that is no bigger than a satsuma, it’s not room filling by any stretch but is perfect for a camping trip or packing into a suitcase to take your music away with you. Incredibly easy to pair up with any device via Bluetooth and was up and running within seconds of unpacking it. Great for use in the bathroom with it being splash proof if you enjoy listening to music / audiobooks when in the bath.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Size isn’t everything with the SRS-XB01

SRS-XB01 02 February 2019 by Fulkingmarc1 (United Kingdom)

It turns out that size isn’t everything, as reflected in the Sony SRS-XB01. When I excitedly received my delivery, I thought they may have forgotten to put anything in the box, as it was so light! Relief, as I opened it up to reveal my new, blue, “friend.” Set up and connected to my phone in under a minute and I was pleasantly surprised with the ample volume as it filled our kitchen with ease. Sound quality is great for such a small speaker, I love the blue colour (others are available) and with such a small footprint and handy carry strap, it will be simple to take anywhere, attach to your bag or simply place on the garden table. All in all, I am extremely impressed with the ease of use, quality and overall experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Small and mighty sounding

SRS-XB01 02 February 2019 by Stevenm2 (United Kingdom)

I’ve used this for a week or so now, it is pretty small but that makes it ideal to carry in a coat pocket or a handbag, easy to connect via Bluetooth and sounds better then I expected, the battery lasts and lasts, my granddaughter who’s 12 loves it and it’s colour (green) and has more or less stolen it from me, she says her friends love it as well, she has it dangling from the handlebars on her bike, so much safer then in ear earphones as she can also here what’s going on around her

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Dynamite

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Stevieh57 (United Kingdom)

Was surprised at first on the size of the speaker, but was blown away by the sound they say dynamite comes in small packages. Battery lasted longer than the six hours advised. Thought the charging light was supposed to go out when fully charged but it stayed on for longer than the 3 hours charging. Easy to use and easily fits in a bag or coat pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Wow

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by The blue koi (United Kingdom)

I must admit I wasn’t expecting much from a small speaker but this thing is fantastic, great sound with plenty of bass, and long battery life. It’s just the thing if your on the go, just the right size It doesn’t take up much room, easily fits into a pocket, and for the price you can’t go wrong. Well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

So easy

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by tomyboy (United Kingdom)

I have been using this bluetooth speaker for a couple of weeks now. First impressions were that it's so small it couldn't possibly be of any quality. I was wrong about that. Firstly I connected it to my computer to see how it would rate against my more expensive wired speakers. Via bluetooth it connected first time without any setup issues. I was surprised by how clear the sound was, punchy bass and bright treble and compered favourably with my wired setup. Next I wanted to find out it's range. I tried it in every room in the house and to my surprise there was no loss of sound, next I tried it in the garden and managed to get a fair distance with it. My favourite use was having it on in the kitchen when I was preparing meals. It is small enough to not get in the way and no chance of loosing it due to the bright colour it came in. It is easy to control the volume with biggish buttons on the top and loud enough to be heard over any background noise. Recharging was easy by plugging it into the USB port on my computer. Over all I was impressed by how easy and portable this small unit is and I can see it replacing my wired computer system just for its ease of use.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Great for voice, acceptable for music.

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

This was provided by Sony for review and I have to say that I was very surprised at the sound quality from such a small bit of kit. It is a little limited for loud music but is excellent for listening to radio drama and spoken word, with an impressive depth of sound. Bluetooth link was easy and made listening to anything over my phone a far better experience - this was how I used it. Charge held well and having used it for around 6 hours it has not yet needed recharge. Too chunky for the pocket but the weight is reasonable and probably needed for the good sound quality. Depending on the price point it is a remarkable little speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Great little bass speaker

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Pablo 1 (United Kingdom)

Very neat and compact with non slip feet Easy to set up for blue tooth Even played my guitar through it Many uses splash proof too Simple instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Super versatile speaker - XB01 Extra Bass

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Geoff05 (United Kingdom)

An amazing good looking and lightweight portable speaker which produces a great sound for its size. I've being using this for a week and found it an extremely good speaker. It looks good and generates an unexpected volume for its size. I mainly use it in my home-office but I have used it for background music in a large church hall and it coped remarkably well. Its battery life is brilliant and the set up was very simple. The Bluetooth connection has been stable without any problems on a phone, tablet and laptop. Another great product from the Sony stable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Good mid range speaker

SRS-XB01 31 January 2019 by Drew2 (United Kingdom)

Tested through Sony Product Tester Panel, the device arrived, was easy to set up and performed very well particularly in bass notes with tablet (iPad) but not so well with Android phone as volume was limited and bass didn't come through strongly. However, a good all round speaker and nice design to fit with any room

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Excellent product

SRS-XB01 31 January 2019 by Kccts (United Kingdom)

Very easy to setup instructions are clear and simple. For the size the sound reproduction is great and as its small can go everywhere with you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Lovely little speaker

SRS-XB01 30 January 2019 by ChrissyLM (United Kingdom)

I've had the SRS-XB01 for a week and the 1st thing you notice is the sound quality, very clean the highs, lows and mids are not muddled together, the unit has two speakers the one in the back has a slight gap then the back plate to reflect the bass back, which is nice as I would place it by a wall to do the same thing (as I do with my SRS-X55), it's not super loud but for use in and around the house its more than enough. I like that I can use it in the shower as it is splashproof I put it on the windowsill and is fine. I don't play music out loud outside so I'm not sure how it would preform. My niece's use it when they are listening to YouTube they are 5 and 8 and they love it. I haven't played music on full volume for mor than a few minuets at a time when I'm using it but I get very close to the 3 hour play time. Likes, price, colour, sound quality, splashproof Dislikes, no party chain Overall for the price it's more than worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Music in any room in the house.

SRS-XB01 30 January 2019 by Pete in Wales (United Kingdom)

I’ve never got on that well with headphones so a small portable speaker was always going to appeal and this little box doesn’t disappoint. 1st off don’t be fooled by the ‘Extra Bass’ displayed so prominently on the packaging, a box this small is never going to warranty the description bass rich. That said the sound from this little box is much fuller than its size would lead you to expect, not at all the tinny little sound you may have expected. The added bonus is that for such a small box it is capable, when fed with a decent signal, of a respectable volume, not loud but definitely achieving a comfortable listening level. The sound is somewhat dependant on the surface it is on, sounding clearer and louder when on a hard reflective surface than on the carpet. It is particularly good when sat on the cistern in the bathroom, which is great because with this little box I can now have music while soaking in the bath!

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB01 29 January 2019 by Martin7A (United Kingdom)

Received the speaker last week,pairing a Bluetooth speaker is very easy,small enough to sit in your palm,it is water resistant,because of it's size it is easy to move around, I think the USB cable could do with being a bit longer. The unit works very well from my Ipod and sounded quite good playing a variety of music, overall very good,

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Sound and price bargain

SRS-XB01 29 January 2019 by WaltRnR (United Kingdom)

This small light Bluetooth speaker is up there with the best,at three quarter volume at the side of your bed is the sweet spot.The singers voices are clear and true a pleasure to listen to bass just right not to heavy,great battery life well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Great bit of Kit

SRS-XB01 29 January 2019 by SpondyKM (United Kingdom)

Starting with the plastic packaging, at first I thought it might be difficult to open, that thought was wrong it was vey simple to open. As with all Sony products there are numerous instruction sheets in multiple languages, however the main instructions as to how to operate and charge the SRS-XB01 came on a very simple sheet, with very easy to follow instructions and pictures. The actual unit is tiny but so very simple to set up, within minutes I had connected to my iPhone, via bluetooth and the music was flowing. I was able to stay connected in every room in the house with no interruption of service. For such a small piece of kit the sound quality was amazing, but by being small it was easy to pop in a pocket or move around. Added to that it is water resistant so great to take into the bathroom. Charging the unit is also very simple via the supplied micro/USB cable so no expensive batteries to buy - charging was also very quick and the unit holds its charge well. My only slight reservation was that the four control buttons on the top of the speaker are the same colour blue as the rest of the unit, they are however slightly raised. The buttons concerned are fast forward. bluetooth connection and up/down volume. It would be helpful if the buttons were of a different colour to help those of us who are more mature and whose eyesight might not be as good as it used to be.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Simple, light and effective at that price

SRS-XB01 28 January 2019 by weks (United Kingdom)

I received this product a few weeks ago now after being kept well informed about shipping. The product was easy to unbox and, being fairly familiar with Bluetooth speakers, I didn't really even need to read the instructions to set it up - it was so easy. For the price of the product it does a good job. You're not going to use it for getting the party started or for public address, but if what you want is a low cost, decent value and clear speaker (that is a boost in quality and volume over your phone speakers for example) then this is an ideal product.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

High quality little speaker

SRS-XB01 27 January 2019 by Grumpy old git (United Kingdom)

As a current owner of a large Sony speaker that has outstanding quality of sound I looked forward to hearing the quality of sound from a smaller speaker. It was well packaged & thankfully easily opened without the need for scissors or a knife. It came packaged with instructions, charging cable & strap to attach to the speaker. Even without looking at the instructions the speaker was paired to my iPhone within 20 seconds, very impressive. It is a well made device, it looks strong enough to take day to day abuse & the little touches that make all the difference between a quality product & a cheaper alternative are evident. Rubber feet, a rubber cover for the charging socket that fits perfectly & discreet light built into the grille of the speaker for Bluetooth are all nice touches. I chose a podcast from my phone & instantly it was played back by the speaker. Sound quality from such a small speaker is first class with no distortion when the volume is turned up playing back my favourite music. Volume / pause controls can be operated from the speaker or from your device & they too have a quality feel to them. If a call comes in whilst in playback mode it cuts off when you answer the call & resumes playing when the call is completed perfectly. I have yet to charge it up but if it is anything like my larger speaker, battery life should be excellent. The speaker is small enough to carry around, ideal for travelling & suitably water resistant in the shower. The speaker is ideal for use in various rooms in the house & for travel, I would recommend it. Gripes? My only criticism is the generic instructions using illustrations rather than text. I can see why it’s done as it can be understood in various languages but I would prefer written instructions. Given that you already supply written instructions on the subject of water resistance would the costs be any higher to integrate written instructions on how to set the speaker up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Can't get it to work!

SRS-XB01 02 January 2019 by alec99 (United Kingdom)

1. The product is seen by my computer where it's listed among the connected wi-fi items but doesn't proceed beyonf a quick-flashing blue led. No beeps are sounded to indicate that it's entering pairing mode.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great speaker

SRSXB01/L 27 December 2018 by Clarissa1989 (USA)

My daughter enjoyed her Sony speaker, pretty good speaker for the size and prize.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound

SRS-XB01 26 December 2018 by aidant (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound and easy connection to various phones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Portable yet less than satisfactory

SRS-XB01/BC E 19 December 2018 by Karen AP (Singapore)

XB01 is good as it is portable. However, I am unable to track the (battery) power level of usage. Also, there is no indication as to whether the device is fully charged or not? Initially, I faced a problem one week after I bought it. But the sales person refused to let me replace the device for a new one. I was facing charging issue as it seemed like it never stop charging after 8 hours. Currently, I am still monitoring the charging feature of this device. Hope that the problem gets resolved within the warranty period. Overall, I am a little disappointed about the whole issue.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great Price!!

SRSXB01/B 03 December 2018 by Wayne105svaz (USA)

I bought this and it sounds great. The price was resonable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great

SRS-XB01 26 November 2018 by dredog (USA)

cute size great sound great bass and very portable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Literally the best speaker

SRS-XB01 04 October 2018 by Alexz113455 (USA)

Worth every penny take my word for it it’s afordable and the bass sounds like a 200 dollar speaker and the volume is amazing for its size the only bad thing is that it’s made out of plastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Very good size for traveling and huge rich bass

SRS-XB01 19 September 2018 by Freek382 (USA)

I buy this SONY Speaker few days ago and so happy, coast=quality!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0