8

4.6 based on 8 customer reviews

7
0
0
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Quality Sony speaker with amazing sound

SRSRA3000B.CEK 18 March 2021 by Papi (United Kingdom)

I have been listening to the Sony SRS-RA3000 speaker for nearly three weeks and it has opened up a completely new listening experience. It’s amazing how this single speaker delivers surround sound capability with its 360 Reality Audio and Immersive Audio Enhancement features. I listened to music via the Bluetooth and wireless connectivity. Both were easy to set up. The speaker caters for Alexa Built-in devices and via chrome cast enabled app. Since I don’t have any Alexa Built-in devices, I used Google assistant. My preferred music streaming app Spotify works a treat with assistant allowing me to use voice command with ease. Very handy when I want the volume raised or lowered remotely. Normal voice conversation is also a great feature too. The touch buttons, all located at the top of the speaker, include power, volume, Play/pause, Bluetooth, Wi-fi and Sound Mode control. These are laid out in a simple and easy to use fashion. Also, the speaker comes in a stylish design with black fabric covering and bronze trims. It blends well with the decor and surroundings in any room in the house. Fortunately, every purchase of the speaker comes with a three-month subscription of Tidal - a high fidelity music streaming service. Upon installing this 360 Reality Audio supporting app on my iPhone and listening to compatible 360 Reality Audio tracks, I really appreciated the full potential of the speaker. I also love how the two-channel stereo is transformed into a truly amazing fuller surround sound experience with the aid of Immersive Sound Enhancement feature. The auto volume feature enables it to adjust the sound from one track to another. Another great function offered is the Immersive Audio Enhancement feature whereby the speaker automatically calibrates the sound to suit the location. I have been enjoying listening to music throughout the house in all the rooms. The speaker, with its spatial sound technology fills any room immersing me in a completely new listening experience. Has to be experienced to be believed. Of the three connectivity options - Bluetooth, Wi-fi and a 3.5mm audio jack - I have not yet used the latter, but it is quite reassuring to know it is there should the need arise. This speaker has been perfect company whilst I have been reading, working or cooking in the kitchen. It delivers room filling sound in any room. I was so impressed, I even had it playing whilst watching football on television with the commentary sound turned down!! Based on my experience of the SRS-RA3000, I would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slick and well built but sound quality is lacking.

SRSRA3000B.CEK 10 March 2021 by Andy68 (United Kingdom)

This is my review of Sony’s SRS-RA3000 Wireless speaker. Initial impression was very good. Nicely packaged, and the product seems sturdy and well-made although the aesthetics may not be to everyone’s taste. The onboard controls are responsive, and everything feels well laid-out. Installing the iOS app was simple but pairing and setting up took 3 goes to work but once done the app seems competent but you are not likely to use it. Most people I suspect will use it as a Bluetooth speaker or as a Spotify Connect device. It works seamlessly with both. Pairing with Alexa was very simple too. Initial assessment of the sound quality however was disappointing. I ran the speaker for 24 hours at half volume to run-in. Immersive Audio Enhancement really needs to be switched off to get any clarity to the audio and it is on by default. I found Auto Volume needs to be switched off for Spotify Connect volume control and it is on by default. I was not sure what to expect from a product at this price point, so I compared it directly with wireless speakers costing £25, £150, and £600; this Sony sitting between the £150 and £600 price points. Despite the SRS-RA3000 having the obvious advantage of size over the £150 speaker I compared it with, the cheaper device clearly outperformed the Sony in clarity, presentation and soundstage although of course the Sony was very much more able to fill the room. There may be many features which you could use to select a wireless speaker, but for me the sound quality vs price comes first, and despite being a fan of Sony equipment for decades, this speaker disappoints. There is little clarity at any part of the frequency range and at higher volumes the sound becomes very compressed. I suspect this is simply the limiter in the DSP protecting the drivers, but it is not subtle. I have some great kit ranging from sub £100 smart speakers through 1980s separates to modern British HiFi costing thousands and I understand what is possible across a range of kit and the Sony SRS-RA3000 unfortunately does not acquit itself well. Perhaps I’m spoilt but I feel other speakers in this market at this price point do better. It is possible of course that the unit I reviewed is not representative for some reason, but based on the one I tested, focussing on sound quality, I could award 2/5 at best.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

8 Customer Reviews

0

Whoa!

SRS-RA3000 10 April 2021 by Gabe69 (USA)

I'm so happy with this that i started dating it! It actually works!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Sony speaker with amazing sound

SRSRA3000B.CEK 18 March 2021 by Papi (United Kingdom)

I have been listening to the Sony SRS-RA3000 speaker for nearly three weeks and it has opened up a completely new listening experience. It’s amazing how this single speaker delivers surround sound capability with its 360 Reality Audio and Immersive Audio Enhancement features. I listened to music via the Bluetooth and wireless connectivity. Both were easy to set up. The speaker caters for Alexa Built-in devices and via chrome cast enabled app. Since I don’t have any Alexa Built-in devices, I used Google assistant. My preferred music streaming app Spotify works a treat with assistant allowing me to use voice command with ease. Very handy when I want the volume raised or lowered remotely. Normal voice conversation is also a great feature too. The touch buttons, all located at the top of the speaker, include power, volume, Play/pause, Bluetooth, Wi-fi and Sound Mode control. These are laid out in a simple and easy to use fashion. Also, the speaker comes in a stylish design with black fabric covering and bronze trims. It blends well with the decor and surroundings in any room in the house. Fortunately, every purchase of the speaker comes with a three-month subscription of Tidal - a high fidelity music streaming service. Upon installing this 360 Reality Audio supporting app on my iPhone and listening to compatible 360 Reality Audio tracks, I really appreciated the full potential of the speaker. I also love how the two-channel stereo is transformed into a truly amazing fuller surround sound experience with the aid of Immersive Sound Enhancement feature. The auto volume feature enables it to adjust the sound from one track to another. Another great function offered is the Immersive Audio Enhancement feature whereby the speaker automatically calibrates the sound to suit the location. I have been enjoying listening to music throughout the house in all the rooms. The speaker, with its spatial sound technology fills any room immersing me in a completely new listening experience. Has to be experienced to be believed. Of the three connectivity options - Bluetooth, Wi-fi and a 3.5mm audio jack - I have not yet used the latter, but it is quite reassuring to know it is there should the need arise. This speaker has been perfect company whilst I have been reading, working or cooking in the kitchen. It delivers room filling sound in any room. I was so impressed, I even had it playing whilst watching football on television with the commentary sound turned down!! Based on my experience of the SRS-RA3000, I would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

brilliant speaker

SRSRA3000B.CEK 17 March 2021 by zmonia (United Kingdom)

Sony SRS-RA3000 premium wireless speaker. I am familiar with sony for the excellent quality of the equipment, I have a sony TV paired with a soundbar and now also this speaker and I am not disappointed because I got exactly what I expected for Sony - is a perfect quality. This speaker is fitted with brilliant ambient room-filling sound which means that even though you are moving, you hear the same sound everywhere. I use this speaker mainly for a music I just connected speaker easy to my phone and got - Sony | Music Center app for a wireless control of my music and to change settings. It looks brilliant too. Google Assistant built-in and Alexa built-in. I am recommending this speaker with no doubt.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

2

0

Great sound!

SRS-RA3000BMSP1 14 March 2021 by Ton18 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using it for about two months. Enjoying the it! . Only set back is that the position to place it is restrained by access to power point. Hence centrality is compromised! Otherwise it’s great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very grown up speaker

SRSRA3000B.CEK 10 March 2021 by Diddy (United Kingdom)

With the Immersive Audio Enhancement turned off this is very well rounded speaker. Up to sensible volumes there is no lack of bass, giving much larger systems a run for their money. The mids really shine in my opinion. I find a lot of speakers of this type process the sound too much, leaving the experience lacking in clarity. This speaker gives you the right amount of all the frequency needed to enjoy the music. The speaker can be used very quickly straight out the box by connecting directly via Bluetooth and the pairing process could not be any more simple. However, using the correct Apps installed on your smartphone brings out a lot of very useful features that are a too good to be missed. By following the step by step guide in the operating instructions, the speaker will join your Wi-Fi and become a smart speaker (I did not read the instructions at first and got confused when things did not work as expected). This will give you control from any voice activated device making it easy to stream music from your existing setup. My small smart speakers can now easily be told to play music out the SRS. At this stage you would have installed Sony Music Centre App on your smart phone and you will have access to some very important features. The Immersive Audio Enhancement feature is set as default in the ON position. This has the effect of pushing the vocals back into the mix and creating a virtual sound stage. I find the clarity of the vocals is much more suited to my taste with this feature turned OFF. The App also has a very capable equalizer giving fine controls over EQ. There are also pre-sets to help point you in the right direction of your preferred tone. This speaker has become an instant improvement in my smart speaker system. Giving me easy access to a well rounded sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Slick and well built but sound quality is lacking.

SRSRA3000B.CEK 10 March 2021 by Andy68 (United Kingdom)

This is my review of Sony’s SRS-RA3000 Wireless speaker. Initial impression was very good. Nicely packaged, and the product seems sturdy and well-made although the aesthetics may not be to everyone’s taste. The onboard controls are responsive, and everything feels well laid-out. Installing the iOS app was simple but pairing and setting up took 3 goes to work but once done the app seems competent but you are not likely to use it. Most people I suspect will use it as a Bluetooth speaker or as a Spotify Connect device. It works seamlessly with both. Pairing with Alexa was very simple too. Initial assessment of the sound quality however was disappointing. I ran the speaker for 24 hours at half volume to run-in. Immersive Audio Enhancement really needs to be switched off to get any clarity to the audio and it is on by default. I found Auto Volume needs to be switched off for Spotify Connect volume control and it is on by default. I was not sure what to expect from a product at this price point, so I compared it directly with wireless speakers costing £25, £150, and £600; this Sony sitting between the £150 and £600 price points. Despite the SRS-RA3000 having the obvious advantage of size over the £150 speaker I compared it with, the cheaper device clearly outperformed the Sony in clarity, presentation and soundstage although of course the Sony was very much more able to fill the room. There may be many features which you could use to select a wireless speaker, but for me the sound quality vs price comes first, and despite being a fan of Sony equipment for decades, this speaker disappoints. There is little clarity at any part of the frequency range and at higher volumes the sound becomes very compressed. I suspect this is simply the limiter in the DSP protecting the drivers, but it is not subtle. I have some great kit ranging from sub £100 smart speakers through 1980s separates to modern British HiFi costing thousands and I understand what is possible across a range of kit and the Sony SRS-RA3000 unfortunately does not acquit itself well. Perhaps I’m spoilt but I feel other speakers in this market at this price point do better. It is possible of course that the unit I reviewed is not representative for some reason, but based on the one I tested, focussing on sound quality, I could award 2/5 at best.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

0

Great Connectivity.

SRSRA3000B.CEK 10 March 2021 by Mike F (United Kingdom)

Sony – SRS RA3000 Wireless Speaker Review. The Sony SRS RA3000 speaker arrived well packaged & complete with full user instructions & mains power lead with UK plug fitted. I noticed immediately the usual Sony high build quality which you would expect for a premium wireless speaker. Weighing 2.5 kg this speaker is no lightweight, reassuringly well made. This speaker was easily set up & I was soon enjoying Sony 360 Reality Audio with ambient room filling sound streaming options include wifi & bluetooth with Google Home & Alexa & Chromecast also included. The Sony SRS RA3000 speaker also offers the useful addition of auto sound calibration. Another useful addition is an external 3.5mm audio jack, after fifteen minutes of inactivity the speaker will switch off automatically. Being humidity resistant the Sony SRS RA3000 is quite happy to stream music anywhere in your home including your bathroom or kitchen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Great bedroom speaker

SRS-RA3000 05 March 2021 by blurkenny (Malaysia)

Decent bedroom speaker for its price. Quite easy to pair as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0