30

3.5 based on 30 customer reviews

11
6
5
4
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

40 Year Nostalgia Trip

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 July 2020 by Gofmeister (United Kingdom)

I have the 40 Year Anniversary model (NW-A100TPS) and absolutely love it. The sound is amazing through my Sony Headphones, it's a lovely thing to hold when in it's Retro Case, and the Cassette Screen Saver is really clever as it changes according to the file quality you are listening to. I pinned the music player app to make it feel less Android and more Retro Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Love the device but the battery life is too short!

16GB 40th Anniversary model 19 January 2020 by Stinkybear (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago and like the form factor. However the short battery life is a big disappointment. It can only play music continuously on a wired earphone for 12-14 hours - much shorter on a bluetooth headset. Another big issue is that the app is unuseable. It freezes the laptop and takes more than 24 hours just to transfer a handful of albums (most / all times unsuccessfully) Secondarily, the interface needs to be improved. Long song titles do not show up well. Finally, it is overpriced given the flaws mentioned above.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

30 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

It works but it is a disappointment.

16GB 04 August 2020 by Glen Urbina (Malaysia)

While it does what's supposed to do there's a few things that you lose over the earlier A Walkman devices, basically a downgrade over it's siblings and earlier siblings: -USB DAC mode -Inability to create or modify playlists (books marks is the alternative and they cannot be exported/backed up) -Lose tons of sound effects/optimization options that are present on the earlier A series and even other new A series. -Native player is a letdown, too basic. -No bit perfect support Other complaints: -Battery life is the same or below a phone, so who's this for? I can get a phone with a decent DAC for the same or less amount of money, I'd just miss out on the playback hardware controls. -THIS thing is SO underpowered, software freezes or slowns down a lot. It can barely drive small headphones. You'll need a external DAC to drive anything audiophile grade. -They internal DAC is not supported by any third party apps. Software wise EVERYTHING says it's being converted to 16bit 48khz, hardware wise allegedly everything is upscaled to 32bit 192khz. What kind of implementation is this? You'll barely notice the sound difference but downscaling and upscaling music is just terrible. It takes resources, it downgrades and alters the music, it's unwanted overhead. Overall it is a good music player but at this price point the alternatives are so much better. This would be better priced at 150-200USD but at nearly 300USD I regret my purchase. Poor support, other DAP manufacturers blown this thing away in battery, software support, speed and POWER.

0

0

0

Very complicated to use and low volume

16GB 30 July 2020 by Peperami66 (United Kingdom)

I am trying to play my Tidal music on a HiDef device, I was advised that this was the one, but it was a waste of money. Way too hard to work out the storage etc, the lock doesn’t work, so tracks keep jumping, and the volume is very low

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

GREAT ENTRY PRODUCT

16GB 29 July 2020 by Shizir (Singapore)

I was looking for a Digital Audio Player that can support my Tidal subscription with offline mode. I was excited that Sony was offering this all in this device and at an entry level. Features for this device at the price is all that I could ask for. Although the slide drawback is the battery. The battery life on this device is subpar. Couldn't last me the whole day of listening. I wish it could last longer at about 10hours plus of constant play especially when I'm in a flight.

0

0

0

Awesome audiophile player with android build in.

16GB 28 July 2020 by fraga85 (Malaysia)

Great to listen music in all formats. Convenient to download and share music because of the built-in android. But a slightly disappointing it about the battery life. Cannot continuously streams media because it will drain the battery. Play in off line recommended to save the battery

0

0

0

Considerable Walkman player.

16GB 24 July 2020 by LYX6 (Malaysia)

Cons: Battery life is short. Volume adjustment range for Bluetooth devices is small. Screen brightness is too bright even adjusted to lowest level, which is not comfortable while using. Hopefully the volume adjustment range and brightness range can be improved through firmware upgrade. Pros: All besides the above mentioned cons are very well in this price.

0

0

0

40 Year Nostalgia Trip

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 July 2020 by Gofmeister (United Kingdom)

I have the 40 Year Anniversary model (NW-A100TPS) and absolutely love it. The sound is amazing through my Sony Headphones, it's a lovely thing to hold when in it's Retro Case, and the Cassette Screen Saver is really clever as it changes according to the file quality you are listening to. I pinned the music player app to make it feel less Android and more Retro Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Low battery life

16GB 26 June 2020 by Sam1234123213 (Malaysia)

The battery life is too low. may consider a higher capacity in future.

0

0

0

The Best Ever High Resolution Music Experience

16GB 05 June 2020 by James Arockiasamy (Malaysia)

Good High Resolution Music & Crisp Clear Detailed Sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product but ...

32GB with headphone 12 May 2020 by Sony Sony Sony (Singapore)

Generally am happy with the product design, sound and ease of use. But gripe is that battery power is not as good and long as advertised. Also takes too long to recharge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent DAP

16GB 05 May 2020 by LeeKF (Malaysia)

A good product overall. The only downside is the mediocre battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A105 Walkman - One month later

16GB 40th Anniversary model 05 April 2020 by pug205 (United Kingdom)

I bought my Walkman - A105 on month ago.. Purchased a 128GB Ultra Micro sd card, so do use the on board memory as the 16gb is not big enough for music, as this device is Android based operations uses this availible internal memory. Presently using google play music and alos backing up my cd collection using Sony's Music Centre on a windows based pc. A little inconventent as i'm using a mac and I thought Sony would make this available for mac users as well. The software is fast and easy to use and tranfers quickly to the walkman, you just need a windows base pc. My only bug bare is the battery life. I did read a previous comment about this and thought it would't be a issue. But it is a issue and best adivce is to switch off wifi and put the device in to battery saving mode. does help. I'd love to buy a walkman case, but this seems expensive and not available in the uk, looks as if the genuine part is availible from Japan only. Headphones, which ones to purchase !! with NC function. Yet again, seems as the only ear buds recommened are the IER-NW510n which seem to be available from Japan only. I did find a pair of NC31E (Ebay ~£20) and these work really well and including the Noise Cancelling (probably cuts 95% of background noise). I'm in no rush so i'll keep looking around for the best deals. What i've noticed is I'm not using my smart phone for music and now I have my music in one place. Enjoy, Music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

2

0

Exellent Walkman

16GB 01 April 2020 by Dom1da (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Portable Hi-Res Player. excellent sound when combined with WH-1000XM3 headphones. Good battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Nice Sound

16GB 10 March 2020 by SwanMelody (Malaysia)

Like the size and features of this Walkman. However, very disappointed with the battery life. It drained off so fast even after I switched Bluetooth and WiFi.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

16GB 40th Anniversary model 28 February 2020 by Jingen (Malaysia)

I am so happy get this mp3 it is great while using

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Storage Woes Lead to Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 28 February 2020 by MSonyFL (USA)

Sony has blocked the ability to format SD Cards as Internal Storage on this Walkman, which means that if you plan on downloading hi-res music files from apps like Tidal this will be impossible because you will quickly run out of the internal storage and be unable to transfer the app and its files to the SD card. Very disappointing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

9

0

Great sound but big issues spoil the enjoyment.

16GB 27 January 2020 by Catscorner (United Kingdom)

The NW-A105 was a Christmas gift to replace my aging Sony NWZ-E436F which has served me well and will continue to in the car. The sound the NW-A105 produces is excellent. The addition of the Android OS allows for use of online music subscription services such as Amazon Music, although an additional SD card is a requirement as this quickly eats up the 16gb internal storage. My big issue is that there is no way to control the volume other than via the buttons on the machine itself. I have had this confirmed by Sony Customer Service. For such an expensive piece of kit, it's my view that you should have the ability to be able to use inline volume control earphones. It is also disappointing that if you try and use Bluetooth earphones the "sound adjustment" options are unavailable. So while this Wallman can produce a great sound, it's not easy to actually benefit from and enjoy it. The battery life is not brilliant, even when Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are switched off. Another design flaw is that the device switches itself on when you charge it. If you fail to switch it off when charging is finished, expect the battery to be at least half dead when you go to use it. All these points are why I have only given 3 stars. I was expecting so much from this device and I have been sadly disappointed. Oh and a final point, you have to use the Sony software to transfer music files onto the device in order for the Library to recognise them. Unfortunately the software is a nightmare to use and loves to place all the 1st tracks of CDs into an "Unknown Artist" folder and labelling them unknown tract, unknown album etc. Prepare to spend a long time editing tract information and merging them back into the correct CD folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

22

10

0

Sound quality just nice

16GB 40th Anniversary model 19 January 2020 by ce2kent (Malaysia)

I bought the A100 40-anniversary edition few weeks ago and I'm happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the device but the battery life is too short!

16GB 40th Anniversary model 19 January 2020 by Stinkybear (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago and like the form factor. However the short battery life is a big disappointment. It can only play music continuously on a wired earphone for 12-14 hours - much shorter on a bluetooth headset. Another big issue is that the app is unuseable. It freezes the laptop and takes more than 24 hours just to transfer a handful of albums (most / all times unsuccessfully) Secondarily, the interface needs to be improved. Long song titles do not show up well. Finally, it is overpriced given the flaws mentioned above.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great products

16GB 40th Anniversary model 18 January 2020 by Lls67 (Singapore)

I ever had the 1 St generanation WM, this new products recall back my memory

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Superb Device but Pricey

NW-A100 SERIES 09 January 2020 by mamuvinyl (Malaysia)

Bought this on December 2019 and for overall experience, it was a great device. However, battery will drain too fast when using WiFi and the 16GB internal storage is the downside of this device. Musical experience is great using wired headphone and when using Bluetooth, its an average depends on what headphone/earphone that you're using. The TPS soft case is the best featured. However, since its using a soft material, its quite 'fragile' with your fingernails (especially). Hope that Sony will produce the TPS softcover only for this TPS owner as a spare case. Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

You can do better Sony.

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 January 2020  (Singapore)

The device has poor battery life. Even leaving it on standby drains the battery quickly. I used to use the A17 and it could be left on standby for a couple of days. Not the case with the A100. I'm also disappointed with the lack of support for a DAC. I own a PHA-1A and it simply doesn't connect. Overall, for a device that touts itself as a 40th anniversary device, it could have been a while lot more.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Sound great, but software still need improvement

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 January 2020 by pokemongi (Malaysia)

Battery drain fast even turn of wifi and bluetooth. Software always have bug: - Intermittent cannot detect SD card, have to restart the device only can detect again -cannot play DSF when connect to CAS-1 via USB-B port - not able to set sound setting when connect via bluetooth - missing USB DAC function

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

average performance

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 January 2020 by Vince1234 (Singapore)

startup is lagging, short battery life, not compatible with all Bluetooth devices, memory card cover flimsy, screen and battery can be bigger and better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Good features

16GB 04 January 2020 by Markslzn50 (United Kingdom)

Been using my sony walkman NW-A105 for a week now. The bluetooth is brilliant and connects everytime, not sure about the battery life as it seems to not last as long as I thought so a bit disappointed there, sound and features are great ,but could do with fewer apps being ore- installed, and left for the owner to choose

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

10

0

Very poor and disappointing

NW-A100 SERIES 20 December 2019 by Acis (USA)

There are several very significant flaws with this player unfortunately. Outside the default music player, while it is suggested you can stream tidal, for example, it is actually completely impractical to do so. As soon as the screen goes to sleep, the music starts to skip and stutter. It’s unlistenable. Doesn’t happen with stored music but there you are stuck using the “clear audio” enhancement if you hope to get any presence or volume from music. All other settings make the music sound very far away. The battery is racing to run out as quickly as possible. It’s unbelievable how poor it is. Surely a slightly bigger form factor and a player that lasted more than a few hours would have been a better proposition. I really genuinely wish I never bought this, it’s been a terrible disappointment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

19

18

0

Constant companion

16GB 40th Anniversary model 10 December 2019 by OMGM (United Kingdom)

Sony MP3 players are the best. This is my fifth. I was a radio professional and now am a mobile dj. Walkman makes preparing my crate for each set a positive pleasure. I wish accessing sd card content was easier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

3

0

Good Sound/Build. Low Volume/Battery Life

16GB 07 December 2019 by Matt7678777 (United Kingdom)

Love the sound on this and it's built well. However, the volume capping (yet again) let this down. It's important to have that extra headroom but it doesn't deliver. The battery life isn't great but kinda expected. Quite pricey for the things that let it down.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

17

0

Solid build and some great features

16GB 18 November 2019 by Jafster119 (United Kingdom)

The NW-A100 series is a palm-sized rigid aluminium unit thats got a 3.6in touchscreen, and it uses many of the same high quality audio components as the ZX line. That includes the fine sound resistor chosen for its delicate handling of audio detail. It offers somewhere between nine and 26 hours of battery life, depending upon whether you also use noise cancelling or ambient sound modes. Ok the screen is nice and vibrant great for watching YouTube videos or anything else that you would like to put in using the web browser at hand. I use a few apps where I would usually drain the battery on my phone for but now I use this and I must say I’m really pleased with it. The Android 9.0 OS gives access to all of your favourite music streaming apps, but the Walkman app itself is great. Bottom line it’s a little expensive just as all tech is but when Sony builds something it usually of very high quality for that reason I am a big Sony fan. Oh well on waiting for ps5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

4

0

Superb Music Player +

16GB 17 November 2019 by MoggieP (United Kingdom)

When I received the NW-A105 I was immedietly impressed with its style and build quality. It feels solid in the hand and heavy enough to know it is still in your pocket. You could say it is a music player first and a mini-android tablet second as it has Android 9 (Pie) loaded as an operating system. However the display is small and using the NW-A105 as a small tablet (using the built in Wi-Fi) is tiring on the eyes. Given that the NW-A105 is sold as a Walkman its design and functions fit its purpose perfectly. The system is intuitive to use with infrequent reference to the online or printed manuals. WiFi and Bluetooth work very well with no problems connecting to WiFi or various Bluetooth devices (Sony and non-Sony Products). The output quality from the NW-A105 is excellent with lots options for adjustment of sound settings, volume levels are easily set and adjusted to suit my needs. Adding music files to the player is a drag and drop process using file explorer although Sony software is available to rip, access and load files on the player. Anyone with a large music collection may need to expand the memory which is easy with a micro-sd card. A minor issue for perfectionists is the need to name album artwork with the same name as the music folder name to enable the artwork to be shown on the player. Playing the music is a simple process using the Walkman software pre-loaded on the player, however as the NW-A105 can access the Google Play Store alternatives are available to download. Charging the player is simple with the provided cable either through a PC or a USB charger. Battery life seems reasonable although you are advised to disable WiFi and Bluetooth when not in use and also to power off the player when not in use. I can recommend this product to anyone who loves music and does not need the phone connectivity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

19

1

0

Dead on Arrival

16GB 17 November 2019 by Dragonthoughts (United Kingdom)

When I received this Walkman, I unwrapped it, looked at the getting started guide and connected it to my PC for 6 hours to charge before use. It never charged and was never able to be switched on. As instructed I held the power button for 10 seconds. In case the "hold" button had shifted, I moved it and repeated. In case it was a PC issue, I connected it to a basic charger, using its own power lead. Same results. To say I am disappointed is a complete understatement.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

22