35

4.4 based on 35 customer reviews

22
6
5
2
0
Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Phone!

J9210 SEA/H 09 July 2020 by Aim89 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this phone as a birthday gift and my previous phone, Xperia X was getting outdated. Loved the 21:9 screen and the resolution is just amazing. At the start, you will feel a bit uncomfortable wih the tall design but after a while you willbgetbuse to it. Very fast processor - little to no lags probably a bit after restart. Camera is good. Sound quality is okay.

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Side Scan Screen design

J9210 SEA/L 22 April 2020 by RWong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Xperia 5 a month ago and all features we're great, camera was good too. However, I have to say with the side sense feature, this makes the screen had a curved side that makes it quite fragile. My screen we're cracked due to a simple slip drop. This was 2 weeks I had the phone. I was really sad and yet disappointed. Hence, for my opinion I think this feature could be reviewed as it is extremely fragile. Also for me, a phone is meant to be consumer use. I had never had this with all my previous Sony model phones. This is not a cheap phone either. Also not sure about the speaker and mic features as I always have a very distortion high pitch sound when I am doing video calls.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

37 Customer Reviews

0

Awww

Xperia 5 03 December 2020 by Evi777 (USA)

I use sony mobile for meny years I got the 5 After 3 m the charging port mess up After 1 year the sound quality go bad too

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Pretty bad

Xperia 5 01 December 2020 by MKBHD viewer (USA)

Poor quality front and rear camara. The phone side was gigantic. The Megapixels are very poor.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love Xperia phones as always as I have since 2012!

J9210 SEA/R 26 November 2020 by Ginrai (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought my Red Xperia 5 last month to replace my outgoing Xperia XZ Premium Rosso Red. Wonderful experience as i always have with Sony. Easy to use. However i feel that the swiping up to reveal recent opened apps could be better implemented. Still much prefer the red in the XZ Premium. Hope to see a green Xperia phone soon

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Xperia phone does not disappoint!

J9210 SEA/R 25 November 2020 by Xperia Fan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month as I was unable to power on my last XA1 phone one afternoon. This is my 3rd Xperia phone because I am very familiar with the UI and I think Xperia phones are quite underrated. Being able to fit the phone within one hand is a very fitting size for ladies. The big internal memory size has always been a big draw for me too. The night photos taken with the camera seem a little dark compared to Samsung and I am not sure if this is because I have not yet fully utilized the features or settings for the camera. I hope that I will be able to continue using the data cable to transfer data between my phone and the laptop using the USB preferences, instead of downloading and installing the software on my laptop for data transfer. This was the problem I had with my XA phone after one of the software updates. One other thing that I hope to see an improvement on is to change the adapter to a 3-pin plug instead of the 2-pin one as the 3-pin plug is more user friendly.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

Xperia 5 20 November 2020 by Lina Aman (Malaysia)

I just bought it 9 day ago n it's my 3rd phone from sony. I'm very satisfied with it...glad to have it.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this very much

Xperia 5 18 November 2020 by Luk1508 (USA)

I think Xperia 5 would be more popular if this product has wireless charging & super slow-mo video

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slim, compact and light!

J9210 SEA/R 17 November 2020 by FernandoMalishka (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera and brilliant display! Love the colors and the clarity!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unique phone, stands out from the rest.

J9210 SEA/L 28 October 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This phone delivers superior audio quality, good camera images even in low light. Happy with the purchase.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb device, in a small form factor!

Xperia 5 09 October 2020 by Johnny085 (USA)

As a long time Xperia user and upon seeing the reviews of the Xperia 5, I decided to give it a try. This was something new, original, and reminiscent to Sonys' previous generations of phone's, to which I enjoyed using. Astoundingly, this phone is small in size, comfortable in hand, but, with a large screen. While taking a different approach in terms of aspect ratio, the 21:9 form factor is very convenient under many situations, ones that I'd never thought to be useful. Movie watching, browsing the web, reading emails, text, just to name a few. Battery life is better that I initially expected. I'm able to get through most of the day without a charge. And if, I'm in need of charging, the quick charge will fill up the battery in no time. Did I mention the camera is astounding? Cinema Pro is something else entirely, truly innovating. Overall, I enjoy using this phone, and recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a new mobile device. Sony is heading in the right direction, and I believe it's worth your consideration.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best phone in its price range

J9210 SEA/L 25 September 2020 by Ren28 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two phones two weeks ago, one this Xperia 5 and another of another very popular brand. That's when I realised how beautifully built the Xperia is. The next phone I get will definitely be another Xperia.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but but performance pack

J9210 SEA/B 13 September 2020 by Legionchaos (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was considering this and the bigger cousin range of X1 and X1m2 end up with this little one. Never let me down in terms of performance. Fits nicely in hand

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One Hand is a great feature!

Xperia 5 09 September 2020 by Kairuz (USA)

So I switched from an Iphone, 7 plus years with apple. My main reason what that I could no longer do things with one hand with Iphone. I am always on the go and this phone fits in one hand, and that is amazing to me.. Also I would like to note the camera on this thing is amazing. And the software that comes with it is too..

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Review Xperia 5

J9210 SEA/H 01 September 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

After I using 3 weeks Xperia 5, the screen of phone was quite good in 21:9. I so much love on it. In the other part, such as camera, speaker, chipset also very nice. One of the part was not enough is the battery capacity, 3140mAh was abit less.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great phone

J9210 SEA/B 27 August 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Here are some short reviews of the phone itself: - Performance is excellent as expected from Sony - Battery life is pretty decent despite having only 3140 mAh capacity in which it is able to last for about 7-8 hours on a continuous usage - Display is absolutely gorgeous and it beats the likes of Samsung - Has amazing stereo speakers that can be further enhanced by Dolby Atmos and the volume is quite loud at its maximum I did not regret buying this phone as this phone offers a great value for money! For those who are looking to buy an Xperia but have doubts, you have my assurance.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Praktický a krásný

Xperia 5 16 August 2020 by Ondra369 (USA)

Telefon užívám rok, jsem neskutečně spokojený s poměrem stran 21:9 a jiný už bych do ruky nevzal, telefon mám rád hlavně kvuli jeho jednoduchosti, nezatěžuje mě přebytečnými aplikacemi všechno funguje jak má a to znamená intuitivně snadno a rychle. Fotograf moc nejsem ale s fotoaparátem pracuju výhradně v manuálním režimu.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Phone!

J9210 SEA/H 09 July 2020 by Aim89 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this phone as a birthday gift and my previous phone, Xperia X was getting outdated. Loved the 21:9 screen and the resolution is just amazing. At the start, you will feel a bit uncomfortable wih the tall design but after a while you willbgetbuse to it. Very fast processor - little to no lags probably a bit after restart. Camera is good. Sound quality is okay.

4

0

0

No band71

Xperia 5 23 June 2020 by Bobby42 (USA)

no band71 support for rural areas in New Hampshire and Maine

Performance

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Quality

Xperia 5 05 June 2020 by Geralt of Rivia (Malaysia)

Thias company make most entertainment known in world. Then they put altogether technology in one phone. They have experience build console like psp ps vita, making popular Walkman, Oled display and maximum the batery. Tq SONY 's Engineer and all expert behind to put this thing in my hand

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tmobile support??

Xperia 5 05 June 2020 by LNes (USA)

Terrible oversight from Sony. No support for Tmobile's band 71(600 mhz spectrum) is a deal breaker. Having band 71 in New York City is the difference between good service and great service.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

2

5

0

GREAT POCKETABLE PHONE

Xperia 5 28 May 2020 by 0684 (USA)

I bought this phone last december, and I´m pretty satisfied with it. Good cameras,and great performance. Im wondering if its going to get the Photo App from X1 mk 2 and nightmode trough updates, since they had impoved the fingerprint sensor, at least in my case.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Great phone but Faulty finger scanner

J8270US/B 13 May 2020 by Armond (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The phone is nice fast and takes great photos which is what I got it for only problem the fingerprint scanner is faulty and unusable based off forums it's a very common issue with the Xperia 5 and Xperia 1. I'm hoping it's just an update fix and not a phone repair issue.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

Super satisfying

Xperia 5 07 May 2020 by KatherineK (USA)

This is my 3rd Xperia. Though the price is super high for me and the less expensive one (Xperia 10) is not available in my country, I had no choice but to buy this one as I totally don't want to use any other brand. Xperia's design and camera has never failed to amaze me. Its durability is another point that keep me stick with the brand.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Side Scan Screen design

J9210 SEA/L 22 April 2020 by RWong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Xperia 5 a month ago and all features we're great, camera was good too. However, I have to say with the side sense feature, this makes the screen had a curved side that makes it quite fragile. My screen we're cracked due to a simple slip drop. This was 2 weeks I had the phone. I was really sad and yet disappointed. Hence, for my opinion I think this feature could be reviewed as it is extremely fragile. Also for me, a phone is meant to be consumer use. I had never had this with all my previous Sony model phones. This is not a cheap phone either. Also not sure about the speaker and mic features as I always have a very distortion high pitch sound when I am doing video calls.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good to see Sony retained the pros in design

J9210 SEA/B 19 April 2020 by sunset1230 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using Sony phones for quite some time, always love the value for money for Sony flagship phones. While the Xperia 5 is a bit pricey, it manage to retain the pro of Sony phones while scraping away the cons from XZ2 and XZ3. Love the side fingerprint sensor where the thumb fits comfortably, which is one thing that is unique to Sony's design. The battery care function helps to prolong battery life when charging overnight. The SD card slot allows easy migration to a new phone.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Xperia 5

Xperia 5 12 April 2020 by Claire56857 (USA)

There's no headphone jack and the dongle doesn't work. Other than that it's a very fast phone with a good battery.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

10

0

My 4th Sony phone in a raw...

J9210 SEA/L 05 April 2020 by RaufC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was very happy with the previous ones too, and Experia 5 seems to be very good so far.. U cant go bad with a Sony...

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Xperia 5 does not disappoint

J9210 SEA/L 01 April 2020 by EDCetera27 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been an ardent user of Sony mobile phones since the SE days and the Xperia 5 does not disappoint. It is an amazing phone which I use together with my Xperia 1. I love the 3-lens camera, the wide screen, the vibrant color display, the sound and esp. the vibes. I also liked how Sony kept the finger scanner to where it is.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Inconsistent camera

J9210 SEA/B 22 March 2020 by Sing0320 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera app seems to freeze, eg. launching from WhatsApp. Not sure is this due to app or camera software. Error message - restart phone ? Video mode seems to hunt for focus, although phone is held in place and object is not moving too much? Maybe an update for the camera app is due?

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

too thin

J9210 SEA/L 20 March 2020 by jonezzx (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

i hope sony can produce more wide phone again. 76-80 mm

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Beauty, Neat, Fast and Slim

J9210 SEA/L 15 March 2020 by Beer142 (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

The phone is beautiful and built with good quality. - Camera is good but not great comparing to competitors. - Camera Launch error a few times. No Xperia Assistant (Focus Mode and Good Night), which is very bad.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera and music play back.

J9210 SEA/L 10 March 2020 by Jazzlouve (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Listening to music is great not to mention taking great picture!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product but price?

J9210 SEA/L 10 March 2020 by SDX5 (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent desin good camera, but price is too exoensive

Performance

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great for one handled use

J9210 SEA/L 10 March 2020 by Aaronkross (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: - awesome one handled UI especially the edge slide as back function. - accurate and natural screen color - 3 focal length camera Cons: - no wireless charging - sluggish camera app - 21:9 screen size not widely used - non-symmetry of top and bottom bezels - unbalanced sound between top and bottom speakers - no headphone jack - slow software updates - poor screen resolution

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Quick response to pictures taking

J9210 SEA/L 10 March 2020 by relishes (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My last Sony phone was with me almost 5 years. In between was not able to get new Sony phone as the News saying they are moving out of Sg. Thanks to the Sony Management for moving back again. If not, I won't be able to get this lady's handy size phone. The size is so nice fit into little wrist holder pouch, and the light weight with the slim size make this phone more comfortable to use with its one hand operations. Tried a challenge before, with another competitor phone, on the wide snap shots. Sony never fails as its captured were more clearer than the other.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Phone which is Under Rated

J9210 SEA/L 02 March 2020 by sam4u1983 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good slim phone. fun to use. Some bugs in android 9.0 and no update of 10.0 in south east asia yet. Best display in class. 21:9 ratio is great for watching videos and sound is superb. Just feel like watching in theaters. Overall an excellent product by Sony. Not launched in India so bought from Singapore and very happy for my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not Compact Enough

J9210 SEA/L 29 February 2020 by Asche (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great over-all phone. Good battery life that can last the entire day, very good camera, very smooth skin, everything I need is here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Colour

J9210 SEA/R 29 February 2020 by frostsheng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the red i want. All other colors are too common

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0