60

4.5 based on 60 customer reviews

40
15
3
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

60 Customer Reviews

0

great sound

DAB/FM 07 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

bought this to be able to play my CDs and radio amongst other sound sources. the quality is great.but one of the main reasons for choosing was to have Multi-room facility but after over a month of trying i still cannot get it to function, also it appears that if i did i will not be able to use CDs with Multi-Room. very disapointed!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average

DAB/FM 28 January 2020 by Maggie S (United Kingdom)

I was expecting much much better sound after reading how brilliant it’s meant to be. For the price we paid I thought it would be much better. Also one small but very irritating thing is that the unit doesn’t have stop button so if you’re listening to a CD you always have to use the remote to turn it off. Lastly the DAB radio programmer is also very poor. Once you programme the stations you can’t change the order unless you perform a master reset. You also can’t change the function from the unit as you’re not able to access this menu option so you always have to use a remote. Useless!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great audio and physically pleasing

FM/AM 23 January 2020 by hakimieaz_80 (Malaysia)

I bought this product and so far the sound quality is superior and I enjoy listening music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and design

FM/AM 20 January 2020 by Chng (Singapore)

The sound and the features are very advance and fantastic. Like every bit of it. Design is also very futuristic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

met nearly all expectations

FM/AM 19 January 2020 by elofox (United Kingdom)

I was able to achieve compatibility with Sony TV and excellent sound with reduction of cables(optical only) and devices-a very neat job!. Radio easy to tune and great sound quality.. Most important, though, I had almost stopped playing CDs through my old system but this player has completely revitalised my enjoyment of this format. Excellent sound quality again with adequate bass-deals with any type of music-classical to popular which I have thrown at it. Discs have to be loaded manually to tray so may have to locate unit at higher level eventually. Can also connect turntable direct via 'line- in'. Early days of ownership but future looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound

FM/AM 13 January 2020 by Honrypot20 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my old so y midi system, it’s fantastic sound just awesome. My only gripe is the remote has no number buttons on because my other system allowed you to select direct tracks. I’ve only had it a day so got lot to read up on !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb and easy to set up

DAB/FM 08 January 2020 by Roy 1960 (United Kingdom)

Sound is great and easy to use. I would Sony to publish a list of speakers that are compatible to enable us to use the multi room feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great audio and physically pleasing

CMT-SX7B 04 January 2020 by hakimieaz_80 (Malaysia)

I bought this yesterday at Suria KLCC store and so far the the audio and features is very good and I enjoy listening to music in Hi-Res

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice little system

FM/AM 31 December 2019 by jackie2718999 (United Kingdom)

Love this. Could be louder... Would prefer not to use an app to access features easily

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact but with good features and sound quality

DAB/FM 11 December 2019 by Paul Ta (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 weeks ago to replace a larger Sony system. Easy to set up and compact size does not compromise sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good purduct

DAB/FM 09 October 2019 by bad luck (United Kingdom)

i got this on monday looked at some others but choose this glad i did good sound and looks good also

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good output options.

FM/AM 07 October 2019 by Nel1000 (United Kingdom)

Just what I wanted, small, good outputs,good sound and good looks

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous hi fi

DAB/FM 30 September 2019 by Brenda50 (United Kingdom)

Love this hi fi. The sound is excellent and it has up to the minute features. I am very pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

UP TO DATE REPLACEMENT

FM/AM 18 August 2019 by steely fan (United Kingdom)

MY OLD SONY COMPACT HI FI DIED AFTER APPROX 30 YEARS. THIS WAS ITS UP TO DATE EQUIVALENT - SMALLER, STYLISH, WI FI, BLUETOOTH - JUST WHAT I WANTED.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CMT-SX7//C SP1

FM/AM 09 August 2019 by Aber1 (Singapore)

Very good sound quality and not very expensive. However no direct push to button to e.g CD function, FM radio etc. Need to press the menu button first, then scroll to function, then press again and then select the function and press again. Not very user friendly especially for older folks who want easy and quick one button press function. However, very good and affordable system for the tech savy because you can use Bluetooth and NFC for connection to handphone to play music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely clear sound

DAB/FM 20 June 2019 by ARHo (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up and good quality product.i bought it to replace a 30 year old Sony Hi-Fi

Sound Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It works well

DAB/FM 15 May 2019 by Bryan 1 (United Kingdom)

It take a lot of time to learn, still learning all the control, the display could be brighter. seem to spent a lot of time going round and round the menu to find what you want, would be helpful if you could also go backward around the menu

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Simply the best

DAB/FM 28 April 2019 by H C B (United Kingdom)

Hi l bought my Sony Hi Fi System on the 18 4 19 very impressed with sound and quality of this product and would recommend to anyone thinking of buying a Hi Fi .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Product with good sound reproduction

DAB/FM 20 April 2019 by W J M (United Kingdom)

Purchased approx 1 month ago and am more than pleased with the product performance. Confirmed what the Sony Shop assistant had demonstrated to me. Only drawback/negative is the display panel which can be difficult to read.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

IN HOUSE SOUND

FM/AM 05 March 2019 by Arthur 67 (United Kingdom)

SO FAR SO GOOD, SOUND AMAZING CLARITY.EASY TO USE.VERY GOOD PRICE FOR PRODUCT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony CMT - SX7B

DAB/FM 12 January 2019 by Anathan (United Kingdom)

Very good quality sound and smart looking, would buy another one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sounds great

DAB/FM 19 December 2018 by audrey1936 (United Kingdom)

only a couple of weeks old very happy ease of use very good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very dissappointing, I will not be replacing this.

FM/AM 17 December 2018 by trusted customer (United Kingdom)

The first product had a faulty remote control. I exchanged for a replacement, This too had a faulty remote. I have returned the product for a refund. I will not be buying again.

0

1

0

Excellent sound

DAB/FM 08 December 2018 by Davenray (United Kingdom)

Bought this as a downsize from old separates hifi Sound is suburb Connections incredible Easy to use Minimal distortion at high volume Excellent all round system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pity about DAB presets

FM/AM 08 September 2018 by Pedro1 (United Kingdom)

Like a previous reviewer says there is a problem trying to store presets for the DAB tuner. Ended up buying a Denon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great quality, poor info

FM/AM 12 July 2018 by Efrain (United Kingdom)

Pros: Very good quality of sound, easy to use, amazing smart functions. Cons: Poor technical information available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Connected and Powerfull

DAB/FM 02 May 2018 by Bassmadman (United Kingdom)

Compact, succinct, powerful and very useable. Easy to use, good to listen to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality sound and good functionality

DAB/FM 02 April 2018 by Arbee (United Kingdom)

I bought this product for its quality sound, small size and functionality. I have wirelessly connected it to my NAS where I have my music these days accessible using ITunes. It works well albeit it takes some effort to get it to connect to the network and to stay connected. I use it to cast Spotify (free), IPlayer Radio and connect the TV via optical cable. It works well for each of these. I haven't yet connected further remote speakers. They are rather expensive and do I really need them? As stated elsewhere, the LED display is rather too faint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Wonderful sound

FM/AM 14 February 2018 by Notnecessary (United Kingdom)

I treated myself to this HiFi system recently and now all my music sounds new! The reproduction is amazing, even at high volume. It is a neat compact system, designed beautifully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect package

DAB/FM 07 February 2018 by GOLDM (United Kingdom)

I bought this product after searching everywhere for a particular combination of DAB radio, CD player, the ability to link via DNLA to my server, and to have the ability to provide multi room speakers either linked to the main Hi-Fi or stream music independently. The system was pretty simple to set up as long as the instructions are carefully followed, and everything from the use and sound of the Hi -Fi to the Wi-Fi links have been just what I wanted. Only slight issue is lack of bass at low volume, although the bass levels are adjustable, which does help. Otherwise couldn't be more pleased!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great audio, bags in reserve

DAB/FM 21 December 2017 by Sony shines out (United Kingdom)

We bought this about 18 months ago and it produces great quality sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A good replacement for my old Kenwood system

DAB/FM 16 September 2017 by xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzz (United Kingdom)

I bought this based on reviews which praised the sound quality; I do agree, it is superb. I needed to replace a 25 year old Kenwood system and was dubious I could find somethign with the same beautiful sound, but I have. My only remaining question mark is over the compatability of the Sony turntable I have ordered to go with it - even Sony don't seem to know!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does what it says

DAB/FM 08 June 2017 by Member42 (United Kingdom)

Looks good and sound quality is great through my Monument speakers. Set up was easy but had to use the APP for wireless. DAB works well. I do a green that the panel is difficult to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The BEST money can buy today!

FM/AM 08 June 2017 by Ahappy (Singapore)

The sound is so clear and bassy and functions very simple and intuitive to use. Great price. A masterpiece!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound and ease of use with Music Center App

DAB/FM 01 June 2017 by Bobajob2009 (United Kingdom)

Bought 10 days ago and am delighted with the sound reproduction for the size of speakers. The design of the controls on the box could be better with Fuction Button but otherwise easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great features

DAB/FM 24 May 2017 by Pam 9 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago to replace a Sony decking system which I have had for the last 20 years. Unfortunately the lazer went in the CD player and could not be replaced. I am still getting used to my new music system so far so good. When you are 80yrs old this new technology takes a bit of getting used to. Guess what the wife is quite good at this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony products is the best

DAB/FM 21 May 2017 by Nnenwa (United Kingdom)

Am happy with Sony sound products. Keep up the best work!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound, ease of use, featurefull

FM/AM 25 March 2017 by leonPaul (Singapore)

Bought it more than a month now, it's surprising good sound for a small system. Disable the clear audio and turn up the bass and the system will sound like any big audio hi-fi. And Yes, it is easy to use if you are techy enough. The chromecast works wonder, Tunein, radio.net allows cast from app, unlike spotify/Deezer still requires a premium act. But if u have a premium account on Spotify, u can play direct from Sony with your remote control. Clearly a briliant design with all the techy features, yet still allows the old school cd/fm/am radio. Nutshell, u dun need to shell out a bomb :)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Very Versatile

DAB/FM 06 March 2017  (United Kingdom)

Very good sound quality. Bluetooth connections and MP3 files are amazingly enhanced and it does pick up TVs and tablets, computers etc very well. My main complaint about the system is that the display is difficult to see when daylight conditions are bright in the room. Never had this problem with other systems ie, radios with display etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

It's a good system

DAB/FM 04 March 2017 by Simon W (United Kingdom)

I'm very pleased with my new replacement Sony system. But I have now been told the Sony shop where I bought it has closed this means there are nowhere local to go get advice on buying the add on for it the vinyl player to buy so very very disappointed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb hi fi system

DAB/FM 24 January 2017 by Dave 123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago and my music sounds so much better.The radio CD player and Bluetooth options are fantastic.I can also control it with my smart phone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful!

DAB/FM 17 January 2017 by Kirkton (United Kingdom)

I finally downsized from my 1991 vintage Sony stacked-separates system with the Sony CMT-SX7B. I could not believe the sound quality that came out of this compact set.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than hoped for!

DAB/FM 11 December 2016 by Klonjon (United Kingdom)

I'm sure a lot more could be paid for this quality of sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb Build and Sound quality

DAB/FM 23 November 2016 by summerisle 1974 (United Kingdom)

Sound and build quality comparable with much more expensive specialist audio brands. This system is reasonably future proof, with the ability to stream via network, bluetooth and casting, and support for legacy audio, i.e. CD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent hifi

DAB/FM 09 November 2016 by Al100 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic sound quality and very easy to set up and use. Songpal app a must as you can stream your iTunes music, I have even signed up for Spotify! Can't wait to add additional speakers in different rooms.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Hi Fi quality

DAB/FM 28 September 2016 by Len o (United Kingdom)

Had the equipment about a month does all the tasks that are I require.So far so good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Cmt-sx7

FM/AM 27 September 2016  (Singapore)

Bought at comex at an amazing price. For this price, its totally worth every cent. Crystal Clear crisp music. For me is good enough, no need to spend thousands on expensive hifi. Would prefer a shortcut button for sleep timer function though... Auto switch off... Rather than scrolling through the function menu and search for sleep menu.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Good product

FM/AM 21 September 2016 by Maruchan (Thailand)

I love SONY products, this product also expected performance.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value

DAB/FM 26 July 2016  (United Kingdom)

Very please with product but I wish I'd spent more

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very Pleased!

DAB/FM 14 July 2016 by Kymmy13 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my WiFi which had died after many years of faithful service. I wanted a unit which I could play my CD's on as well as all the mod con's such as Bluetooth. This piece of kit fits the bill perfectly. It looks very classy and has a great sound. I also chose it for its compact size. I am not technically minded however I have been able to set this up so farfollowing the very detailed instructions. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound producer, tidily packaged

DAB/FM 13 June 2016 by Geoff1207 (United Kingdom)

Bought this product a few weeks ago to replace my ageing (16 years) Sony separate system as CD player had an intermittent fault. Very pleased with sound quality and ease of use and it takes up much less space and is easier to move.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb sound quality

DAB/FM 27 May 2016 by Jamsue (United Kingdom)

I brought this unit a couple of weeks ago and I am very impressed with its features and sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and plenty of great features

DAB/FM 19 May 2016 by Neil O (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with the stereo. Great sound, with plenty of great feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Impressive sound

DAB/FM 02 April 2016 by Opera86 (United Kingdom)

I can now play CDs of organ music hearing detail I had never heard before. Having adjusted the bass and treble to suit my hearing problems orchestral music has come alive again. Even remastered tape recordings have a new vitality. An excellent choice and well worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good little system

DAB/FM 11 February 2016 by Laptop74 (United Kingdom)

Wi fi and Bluetooth very good. Speakers are small so I'm going to by some bigger speakers for a bit more bass. But my main problem is the led display...in the day time you can't see it at all you have to get really close and cup your have over the display to see anything, I can't find any way of increasing the brightness, hey ho

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great little music player

DAB/FM 03 February 2016 by Jim4212 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my wife, who is a bit of a technophobe, so she can play her CDs while I can stream my music to my hearts content. It is easy to use and sounds fantastic, highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

DAB/FM 24 January 2016 by GPO999 (United Kingdom)

EASY CONNECTION TO HOME WIFI NETWORK.UPDATED TO LATEST S/W IMMEDIATELY BY ITSELF.DAB FOUND MOST STATIONS OK.THE ONLY PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD IS CONNECTING TO MUSIC ON MY PC (WINDOWS 7) I HAD TO FIND AN OLD ANDROID PHONE AND DOWNLOAD SONGPLAY,NOT AVAILABLE FOR WINDOWS PHONE, THEN DOWNLOAD MEDIA GO TO MY PC.COULD NOT GET SONGPLAY TO CONNECT OVER DLNA.THIS CAN HANG SOMETIMES BUT COULD BE BECAUSE OF OLD ANDROID PHONE.EXCELLENT SOUND QUALITY ON ALL FUNCTIONS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Compact and great sound

DAB/FM 29 December 2015 by Michael15 (United Kingdom)

I think the only problem will be adding a record deck at some point in the future. Otherwise an excellent piece of kit and surprisingly simple to set up.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Update feature but miss convenient normal features

FM/AM 25 December 2015  (United Kingdom)

Sony electronic equipments used to be leader as well as user friendly. Not with this model. E.g. setting radio pre set station is tedious and illogical, CD insert serface id not smooth (!), sequence or order of features to select is non user friendly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

10

0

Fantastic Product

DAB/FM 19 October 2015 by Ginksy (United Kingdom)

Excellent product for listening to my digital music from an external hard drive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0