95

3.6 based on 95 customer reviews

28
32
17
8
10
Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Device let down by small battery

16GB 13 February 2021 by NukeYourNanny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything about this device is stellar from the listening experience and having lots of settings to tweak the music at your fingertips. However for some reason shuffle is hidden in the settings? Which makes no sense as its a feature that i find is used more often than loop track. Also the battery life is less than expected from a device that is designed to be able to connect to the internet. When all battery saving modes are turned on it only lasts about 2 days with small amounts of use. A beefier battery would go really far to make it a better product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Lovely device but could be so much better.

16GB 25 May 2021 by CJB Kent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as it was Android based and I was hoping to exploit some of the Android apps. Positives. Nice design and usability, ability to integrate with Amazon Music HD. Sound quality very good, ease of use very good. Negatives. Batter life is very poor, nowhere near the expected levels even with most non-essential functions disables. Does not support Android Auto (very disappointing). This should be addressed so I can use my car's screen to manage music whilst driving and use the device hands free.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

95 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Good thumpy sound

16GB 10 October 2021 by ojahat (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoying this device. Wanted a better sounding alternative than my phone and this checks the box for the price range. Sounds incredible paired with the XM4. Nice full bass and wider soundstage spectrum. Makes you want to listen more. Also big plus to the physical manual buttons and overall solid build. Now, is it perfect? Nope. Things I wished were better (and hopfully can be developed soon)v: - the residing Sony Music Player is dated and clunky with very little tweaking functionality. Tag reading is also jittery. I switched to MediaMonkey since its an android device.. - by far (far far) the biggest peeve is the battery life. I use BT earbuds and this just sucks the life out of this unit. You can see the battery bar ticking down like a time bomb. So, note that we are talking perhaps 5 hours playing time max from a full charge. In short, it is certainly now a necessity to charge the player regularly throught a single day. No good and l wish this could be addressed and fixed to get at least 12 hour mileage ie for a long flight. SO, its still a nett plus for me for now but admittedly, it is not for everyone.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound Quality, Build Quality, Ease of Set up and U

16GB 08 October 2021 by Fireblade Pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First off, I have to say that I am extremely pleased with my purchase. It has been given a full road test whilst on holiday last week, paired to either a set of Sony WH1000XM4s in both wired and wireless mode, and a set of ultra revealing wired KZ ZS10 Pro ear buds, listening to Downloaded Amazon Music HD format. Across all the criteria, bass, midrange, treble, volume... top marks. Therefore, pleased. That’s why I bought this. Easy set up and feels like a quality bit of kit. Before purchasing, I had read about the poor battery life, and yes, if you are continuously listening to streamed content, using the wifi and Bluetooth options, the battery will deplete, some may say, unsatisfactorily. I bought this for off line listening, while about the house, garage, in the car or whilst in flight or on the beach, so for me 8 hrs of battery is just fine. For streaming through the domestic hi fi, I’ll stick with a dedicated separate hi fi streamer. Recommended, for sure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

16GB 07 October 2021 by Chrisvjoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product - does everything I expected. One small complaint - does not hold anywhere near the number of songs claimed. Had to ad a mini SD card which solved the problem (about £20 for 128Gb).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound. Poor battery.

16GB 02 October 2021 by Rog N (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to go with my new Sony wireless earbuds. Great sound and stable Bluetooth connection. Good Wi Fi connection. Looks and feels solid. Downsides are - incredibly slow to boot up, poor battery life, clunky android. Memory is tiny! At least it's expandable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Poor Battery

16GB 01 October 2021 by Mykle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only problem is that it uses 20% of the battery for a 45 minute walk with the dog using bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great !

32GB with headphone 23 September 2021 by Bean Walking (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Suggest also supply a protective rubber/silicon cover to protect from accidental drops.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent DAP, but a bit expensive for what it offers

16GB 21 September 2021 by neilbaner (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Battery life when playing local files is excellent. Very compact and portable. Physical buttons are very convenient. Build quality is outstanding. Display is high quality (though not as good as Xperia phones of course). Cons: No Bluetooth receiver mode or FM Radio like the A55. Moderate amount of hiss when using sensitive IEMs. Hardware not powerful enough to run apps like Spotify smoothly, takes long time to open/search/download etc. Default Music app has trouble with cover artwork and doesn't always display correctly. Powers on whenever connected to charger. Output power is very low and insufficient for demanding headphones.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just brilliant in every respect I am so glad I did

16GB 20 September 2021 by dabbs (United Kingdom)

so quick to get used to but find that it gets very hot in the hand after a while so place it on a unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality music performer

16GB 12 September 2021 by Stephen BP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a ‘cheap’ music player and found that it’s Bluetooth simply wouldn’t drive my Bose speaker. I sent it back and got this. The menus are intuitive and I soon got to grips with it. It took me a minute to realise that I needed to download software to copy my music from my PC but once I’d done this it was easy. The keyboard is a little tiny and it’s easy to miss key but I soon got used to it. The other player was determined to shuffle my tracks. This is annoying when you want to play an album. No problem with this. Connection to my Bluetooth speaker was simple and the quality of the reproduction is immaculate. All together worth the extra money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

wanted more memory for music

16GB 09 September 2021 by meoryou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have been really pleased with my 3 previous walkman devices and as previously only bought this because i needed more memory but what do i get....a device with internet+ apps+ radio+ videos+photos+ amything else that is on a smartphone when all i want is music to play all night and in my cr. not onlt that but unlike previous versions it will not access my music and plsaylists on microsoft player so had to download an unwanted sony music centre and transfer music over then wade through my many artists and albums to recreate the playlists i use when all previous walkman devices have done the job in minutes.. as and when or if i ever get finished i might give a review on the performance

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Poor battery life

16GB 05 September 2021 by Rogart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased this mp3 player from Sony. Disappointed with having to charge battery after a few hours of listening.. Also needed to purchase a micro card as 9gb of memory used up by the built in systems. ( this player only has 16 gb) so very little left to download music. It carries too many features that are also on your phone. I only need it to play music. Should have purchased something else, so for £199.00 too much to just listen to music. Cannot really recommend this item

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

A Great Digital Audio Player with MQA Support

16GB 21 August 2021 by Davids XYZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had wanted a digital audio player for a while and spent many hours doing research. One criterion was the ability to play MQA from Tidal. Anyhow, I settled on the Sony NW-A105. The device is excellent, and the sound is far better than my £1,000 smartphone—I expected nothing else. Any buyer should note that you will need a storage card as the system uses up a lot of memory. And the battery is not great. However, you can extend the battery life by turning off most Android apps. Also, download music onto the device when plugged in—rather than streaming. And switching to aeroplane mode. Some may think, why are you giving it five stars if the storage and battery life are not optimal. There is a short, simple answer. The output is excellent. If you want a little more output, you can connect it to a DAC, which will open up the music further. I have speakers by Vifa and Bose that were a little disappointing, and I almost gave them away. However, when I played music via the Sony NW-A105—with and without a DAC—the speakers improved beyond my imagination. I am now keeping them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony A100

16GB 21 August 2021 by whyl (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product , was able to find replacement for my old ipod.. Just a little heavy and thick, other than this .....I like it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

True to its purpose.

16GB 19 August 2021 by anubis81 (United Kingdom)

Had this for nearly a year, and I love it. Plays music at a very good quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Music Quality Player

16GB 18 July 2021 by Hannah Wye (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m bought this a month ago. Use this listen Tidal and Hires music everyday. It gives me surprises on every song in everyday. Battery last a day if turn on battery save mode, consider very short. I have to charge it every night so the next day i can use it while traveling. Cannot adjust the Clear Bass when using wired earphones. Can only adjust it while using bluetooth LDAC. Hard to transfer music from Mac and Windows. Now i just upload my musics into Google Drive from My Mac, download them into my walkman and and store into microSD. It makes my life in travel not so bored yet get good quality listen experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Hoping only to be let down

16GB 05 July 2021 by richard4939 (United Kingdom)

Bought this as I'm not a great apple fan (think there overated but), Sony Walkman both good names and my initial thoughts after the first few days is wish I paid the extra for a iPod touch sorry. On my laptop with 2x usb 2 and 1 usb 3 it will only work on one of them. Plugged into my vehicle nva usb, plug it into a 2019 ford and keeps telling me it needs to be unlocked? And the Walkman itself is telling me to download android auto which it can't support it says. Very Very disappointed down £170.00 wish I paid a extra £100 for the iPod sorry Sony you are not playing with the big boys you are way behind.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

My Review for NW-A106HN

32GB with headphone 23 June 2021 by MK359 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small in size. Light weight. Very portable with Great Performance. However I recommend to upgrade the earphone to XBA-N3AP for higher base. Fantastic experience for music lovers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman NW A-105

16GB 09 June 2021 by mancdeadhead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 weeks agoThe only problem is the battery time is only lasting about 10 hours instead of up to.26.Everything else spot on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

MP3 player

16GB 31 May 2021 by Mike RC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago. I have 47GB of music, so I bought an SD card to expand the memory and put the music all on that. The blue-tooth works well. I am still trying to find how I connect it via wi-fi to my Marantz player. Instructions that come with it could be clearer. I eventually found information on the internet, but by that time I had added my Google account to the player, which of course comes with all the other Google add-ons which I didn't want on m player. There is now not much memory left on the internal memory, due to Google. Just as well I downloaded all my music to the SD card. I am also trying to work out how to put all my albums into artist alphabetical order. I thought I had done that in the settings, and whilst some are in alphabetical artist order, not all are. I would also like to see the player slightly larger so a larger battery can be fitted to extend the battery life . It would also be nice to swipe left and right through my albums, like get on an apple ipod. Having said all that, appears still to be a good player and I am sure I will get used to it, and am still pleased I bought it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Lovely device but could be so much better.

16GB 25 May 2021 by CJB Kent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as it was Android based and I was hoping to exploit some of the Android apps. Positives. Nice design and usability, ability to integrate with Amazon Music HD. Sound quality very good, ease of use very good. Negatives. Batter life is very poor, nowhere near the expected levels even with most non-essential functions disables. Does not support Android Auto (very disappointing). This should be addressed so I can use my car's screen to manage music whilst driving and use the device hands free.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great sound

32GB with headphone 21 May 2021 by Darren W (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never expected music to sound this great. Difficult to go back to playing music from the phone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Operating Instruction

16 GB 19 May 2021 by CHMsc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Operating instructions that came with the Walkman are not worth the paper they are written on.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Very neat and compact.

16GB 10 May 2021 by Ynot36 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the NW A105 for 2 weeks. The Sony PC software isn't the most user friendly but once I copied the 168Gb of FLAC files, the player is a perfect CD jukebox the size of a credit card. Played through wired Sennheiser 280 HD Pros the sound is excellent. Volume is set high but not max, plenty loud enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product but schooling battery life

16GB 09 May 2021 by Archiefifty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the nw-a105 a few weeks ago to replace the I pod I was using, the nw-a105 is a perfect replacement but the battery life is shocking even after following Sony’s advice on battery life. Fix the battery issues and it will be a must have MP3 player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good functions but bad battery life and Walkman

16GB 08 May 2021 by FSMax (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good idea to implement android system but the sacrifice on its battery life just doesn't worth it, the walkman app is great except on creating playlist, if these 2 issues are fixable on future updates then it would be a 5/5 product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous piece of kit with one exception

16GB 01 May 2021 by whads354 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's superb, great sound quality and easy to use for both streaming services and downloading your music collection from a pc. The one downfall is it's battery life, as many mention. If you're both streaming and using bluetooth the battery % drops quickly. If that's not a problem for you this is an excellent product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mrs

16GB 22 April 2021 by Purplesoul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the end of March and after spending a few hours working around it l sent it back, always bought Sony but was extremely disappointed with this product

1

4

0

one of the nicest audio player

NW-A100 SERIES 16 April 2021 by Biggy66 (USA)

THE SONY PLAYER IS ONE OF THE NICEST YOU MUST BUY THIS IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great player

16GB 16 April 2021 by skindog (United Kingdom)

Sony : great company name for audio products and design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Not so good for the cost

16GB 11 April 2021 by grumpy54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought being Sony would be simple to use. However, my PC won't allow me to transfer anything to this device so am facing yet more expenses so I am very angry about this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Walkman A105

16GB 29 March 2021 by Bonka (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The battery was faulty, lasted only 1 hr on airplane mode. Sent in for serving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5 Star Sound Quality

16GB 28 March 2021 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

I have owned a Sony NWZ-X1060 for many years and have not found another MP3 player that matches the sound quality.... Until now. The NW-A105 is brilliant. The sound clarity is amazing. Yes, it's more expensive than an A35/45 etc, but worth every penny for the sound. The battery life is an issue, but if you use this as music player and not for looking at cats doing funny things on YouTube then it's okay. The update has helped and with the WiFi disabled you'll get some extra playback time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Small and compact

16GB 19 March 2021 by Ynos4vr (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this to replace the A45 walkman. Better sound control connecting via bluetooth. Only problem is the very short battery life being an Android device. Simply cannot compare to the older walkmans.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not for Apple MAC Users - A100 Walkman® A Series

16GB 03 March 2021 by warneshall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not user-friendly for Apple MAC users. Overall not a bad piece of kit if you are working via MS Windows. Somewhat less functional on the Apple MAC. On windows, the software is available that will effectively manage the Walkman interface. No such software available for the MAC OS, other than a 3rd party widget that allows you to transfer audio - and that's about it. The player lacks some fundamental features, for example, you can not create playlists on the device. In fact, the only way to create a playlist is via the Windows Walkman app. No feature yet available for Mac users, so, no playlists!!!. Other niggles include: Systems menu is well hidden unless your eyesight is keen and spot the cog-wheel, watch out for the voice interface feature - the pop up blocks access to key configuration options and you are unable to select or changee them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Great Product

16GB 25 February 2021 by kevdel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only faults with this product very poor battery life takes a long time to charge 4hrs android side should have had a better processor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

A mixed bag

16GB 19 February 2021 by Uncle Monty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

2 stars for the great sound and 1 star for the wonderful tape cassette graphics but stars deducted for the pointless Android OS - it's not necessary to have phone apps on a music player, keep it simple! - and, worst of all, the annoyance that half my files are listed as 'unknown' with no artist, album or artwork - my Astell & Kern player has no problem with this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

Great!!!!!!!

NW-A100 SERIES 16 February 2021 by Serg666 (USA)

this is bomb !!! I recommend, really cool player !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Device let down by small battery

16GB 13 February 2021 by NukeYourNanny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything about this device is stellar from the listening experience and having lots of settings to tweak the music at your fingertips. However for some reason shuffle is hidden in the settings? Which makes no sense as its a feature that i find is used more often than loop track. Also the battery life is less than expected from a device that is designed to be able to connect to the internet. When all battery saving modes are turned on it only lasts about 2 days with small amounts of use. A beefier battery would go really far to make it a better product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Features so so. Battery very short. No cover art

16GB 06 February 2021 by leongsm (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this month because of Sony brand name. But after using for 1 week, the battery hours is very short. When not is use the battery still drains and have to recharge after about 3 days. Player cannot totally switched off. Cannot attach CD cover art for WAV format. Hope these can be improved. Also good to have coaxial output connection to audio amplifier for home use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor battery

16GB 05 February 2021 by Mike192325 (United Kingdom)

The biggest problem i have with is the battery life it could be better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good MP3 Player

16GB 26 January 2021 by MadHactch (United Kingdom)

Good all round MP3 player and Audio device. Great for music and audio books.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice sound and compact

32GB with headphone 25 January 2021 by Ravi555 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product compact and sound is very nice. Slow when using WiFi.Apps update slow.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony NW105A

16GB 25 January 2021 by michek0143 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall, good entry level DAP. Basically it meets the expectation for the price paid. A few improvements to be considered i.e. additional output (currently only 3.5mm), lag in response, problem with album artwork, internal storage etc.

0

0

0

It was an ok purchase, if not cos of bad batt life

16GB 18 January 2021 by LHuss (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is good, but battery life is not great at all. The only reason I chose this model is for its Tidal offline capabilities and its fair price, comparing to the other brand/model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound and All the Benefits of Streaming

16GB 16 January 2021 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

I am really pleased with my Walkman. The sound quality is excellent, particularly now that I have bought Sony WH-H910N headphones. The sound quality on this device is significantly better than my mobile phone, with a much better soundstage and loads of extra detail. As often happens with good hi-fi products, you end up enjoying music you know well afresh and notice many new elements to it. I don't buy that much music now and mainly use Spotify, so the ability to stream music is wonderful. I have downloaded dozens of albums to the device so I have plenty to listen to when not connected to Wi-Fi. (When this product was first released, the sound quality of streamed services was restricted, but this was corrected in one of the updates.) Two small criticisms. First, the battery life. This player is half the size of a mobile phone so the battery must be tiny. I expect to get several hours playback from a full charge, but I need to keep a regular eye on the battery levels and recharge whenever I get the chance. Second, Android updates. It runs Android 9 which is OK, but it desperately needs the battery usage improvements that came with versions 10 and 11. Sony would do well to update this device as soon as possible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best MP3 player on the planet

16GB 15 January 2021 by raymikid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was apprehensive about buying this walkman as there were a lot of negative reviews regarding the battery life. I will not lie, most of these are right, the battery life is relatively poor. However, the sound from this player is amazing! OK, at most you can expect around 9 hours playtime with airport mode on, but do not underestimate the sound of this little dynamo, it is fantastic. Even with its failing, I thoroughly recommend it 100%. The extra expense is definitely worth it. Trust me it's brilliant!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Brilliant piece of electronics with a fatal flaw

16GB 09 January 2021 by mfpeters (United Kingdom)

I have had my walkman for a year. It's almost brilliant - the sound quality (I use it with wired Sennheiser headphones) is outstanding. I use it for listening to Qobuz and even though I have heard that it is downsampling the hi-res if you use it for anything that isn't played with the walkman app itself, it's still gorgeous sound. However, it has a flaw. The European and South Korean models have a volume limiter. On a regular basis it drops the volume to 50 (out of 120) which is too low for my headphones. And if you try to set it up again, it presents a message telling you to click on a dialog screen that isn't there. The only way to clear it is to reboot the machine. Sometimes I have to do that twice in 20 minutes. It's completely unacceptable. I have reported it to Sony support but they have been useless - I supply everything they ask for but I get the feeling they are just not even reading what I am sending them. Their level of technical support is on the level of "did you try turning it off and on again". It's a software issue which they just don't seem to be clued up to fix. So I love it when it's working and hate it when it does the volume drop thing. I can't recommend buying one and would not buy one from Sony again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Not so great

16GB 01 January 2021 by Jennifer1959 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's not that user friendly . The touch screen is not sensitive to the touch . too small.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Perfect companion for jogging

16GB 31 December 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for jogging, comfortable size and it is android!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

16GB 27 December 2020 by dantman48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son loves this, packed full of features..Battery when connected to WiFi isn’t great but that doesn’t take away from everything else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome

16GB 24 December 2020 by pubicko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best technological gadget in the last decade. I am very pleased and I absolutely love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My take A105

16GB 16 December 2020 by Fchan2020 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchase A105 a month back. Product is small and slim with good features. Sound quality is also good. However battery life is generally short probably due to android apps access. Left to sit after fully charged, battery totally drained off after a week or so.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Shouldn't have been marketed

16GB 14 December 2020 by Coriolan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know how this product passed Sony's in-house testing. Battery life laughable, volume insufficient; my Galaxy Note 8 smartphone sounds better. Very disappointed with brand, Sony standards seem to be falling.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

13

0

Good to have android apps

16GB 08 December 2020 by LexG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with this new device especaiily I am able to play spotify and youtube. The only problem with me is that it is difficult to handle with its small screen size.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent little media player.

16GB 10 November 2020 by Retro_Rabbit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using my A105 for about 6months as I write this review, it's an excellent little media player. I bought an Android player because I wanted the ability to stream and d/load new music, rather than just transfer music from my collection, so the ability to install streaming apps was an essential feature. I find the player very easy to use and with the streaming capability, I'm also finding new tunes to play, so all good. The player connects easily with my car, headphones, buds and speakers using Bluetooth or I can also use USB C or a stereo jack cable. Charging via USB C is fast. I'd definitely recommend this player, bung in a decent memory card and take your tunes wherever you want to listen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

nice colour

16GB 04 November 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a bit pricey and a bit laggy. But overall, i think it's a good buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound.

16GB 27 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well built. Would have given 5 stars but for the short battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

everything is fine but BATTERY LIFE

NW-A100 SERIES 21 October 2020  (Malaysia)

Battery life is too short, even if I turn on the airplane mode, Love the Kimetsu no Yaiba (Demon Slayer) design/logo on the back, will get a better Headphone/IEM for listening, currently using the MDR-XB75AP and a Edifier R1700BT Bookshelf Speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

An Unfortunate Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 16 October 2020 by CoD WaW (USA)

I recently purchased this device to use for music and podcast listening on-the-go, which I do frequently. As in, I need a device that I can use each and every day and rely on to be there for me wherever I go. The Sony A100 Walkman totally disappointed me. I had heard of this device's reputation for poor battery life but it actually turned out even worse than I'd heard. I've done everything I can to conserve the battery, but this thing just won't stay alive long enough to satisfy my needs. I have an 8+ year old iPod that lasts LITERALLY 3-4 times the duration of the Sony A100. I am actually shocked at how this could be possible. Even if all I do is listen to podcasts and music OFFLINE the battery isn't sufficient to last a full day (using the device at the gym and at work). I don't mind having to charge a device each day since I would do that anyway, but it's just incredible that this wasn't designed to last a full day of someone who has a lot of listening time. Totally baffled by this. And as every other person in the world has said, if you enable Wi-Fi and do any sort of streaming this device will drain even faster. If you only listen to one or two hours of music/other media each day this device will suit you. I found the interface a bit laggy/unresponsive but not too much so, just not as good as my smartphone. But anyway as I said, this was a total disappointment to me and I'm sorry that an otherwise pretty neat product is nearly utterly ruined by a single flaw.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Battery life

16GB 15 October 2020 by Very Unhappy User (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the worst electronic handheld product that I've come across in terms of battery life. When I fully charged this device and leave it without using it, the battery goes flat after 3 days even when I turn off the blue tooth connection. And when I feedback this problem to the local Sony shop, they told me to switch off the device which I don't need to for my other handheld device suceh as my mobile phone and even my very old Sony MP3 player. Wonder whether this is a faulty device or inherent in the type of battery used or the device itself.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Sony - A105

16GB 14 September 2020 by chwaitang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1 month ago. User interface very intuitive and responsive. Very easy to navigate menus. Cons: Poor battery life. Last about 3 days with heavy usage. Need SD card storage as remaining space left is 3.9GB for 16GB version (Android OS occupy 8GB)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow process speed

16GB 11 September 2020 by Michael Lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Software open apps was slow , need to speed up the processor.Other that that is a good audio player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

No regrets

16GB 30 August 2020 by Kenkiong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am generally happy to decided to purchase the A105 to replace my old unit. Sound is great n it ran on android. Connectivity is a bliss but due to this the battery suffered. Maybe a better battery mgmt or a bugger batter can offset this for future models.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery problems.

16GB 28 August 2020 by Paul Gian (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this less a month ago. First problem encounter battery unable to charge. Was replace a brand new and still find that the battery only can last less than 2 hours of continues play on mp3.Blue tooth unable to pair with my Germany blue tooth hearing aid.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony mp3 user experience.

16GB 23 August 2020 by Amyint (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good mp3 but battery life around 10 hours and time for full battery last 5.5 hours with connection to power source with provided sony usb c cable and one adapter but with connection to computer may last longer. Another point is mp3 become hot on charging and also listening to music slightly longer I feel heat. I also buy one sony headphone WH H910 h.ear on from viva city mall Kuching Malaysia at 20.8.2020 3:00 pm but one point I dissatisfied is they give me open box headphone I suspect may be already used one or demo unit. The staff who sold it to me is dishonest.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

It works but it is a disappointment.

16GB 04 August 2020 by Glen Urbina (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

While it does what's supposed to do there's a few things that you lose over the earlier A Walkman devices, basically a downgrade over it's siblings and earlier siblings: -USB DAC mode -Inability to create or modify playlists (books marks is the alternative and they cannot be exported/backed up) -Lose tons of sound effects/optimization options that are present on the earlier A series and even other new A series. -Native player is a letdown, too basic. -No bit perfect support Other complaints: -Battery life is the same or below a phone, so who's this for? I can get a phone with a decent DAC for the same or less amount of money, I'd just miss out on the playback hardware controls. -THIS thing is SO underpowered, software freezes or slowns down a lot. It can barely drive small headphones. You'll need a external DAC to drive anything audiophile grade. -They internal DAC is not supported by any third party apps. Software wise EVERYTHING says it's being converted to 16bit 48khz, hardware wise allegedly everything is upscaled to 32bit 192khz. What kind of implementation is this? You'll barely notice the sound difference but downscaling and upscaling music is just terrible. It takes resources, it downgrades and alters the music, it's unwanted overhead. Overall it is a good music player but at this price point the alternatives are so much better. This would be better priced at 150-200USD but at nearly 300USD I regret my purchase. Poor support, other DAP manufacturers blown this thing away in battery, software support, speed and POWER.

0

0

0

Very complicated to use and low volume

16GB 30 July 2020 by Peperami66 (United Kingdom)

I am trying to play my Tidal music on a HiDef device, I was advised that this was the one, but it was a waste of money. Way too hard to work out the storage etc, the lock doesn’t work, so tracks keep jumping, and the volume is very low

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

6

15

0

GREAT ENTRY PRODUCT

16GB 29 July 2020 by Shizir (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a Digital Audio Player that can support my Tidal subscription with offline mode. I was excited that Sony was offering this all in this device and at an entry level. Features for this device at the price is all that I could ask for. Although the slide drawback is the battery. The battery life on this device is subpar. Couldn't last me the whole day of listening. I wish it could last longer at about 10hours plus of constant play especially when I'm in a flight.

0

0

0

Awesome audiophile player with android build in.

16GB 28 July 2020 by fraga85 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great to listen music in all formats. Convenient to download and share music because of the built-in android. But a slightly disappointing it about the battery life. Cannot continuously streams media because it will drain the battery. Play in off line recommended to save the battery

1

0

0

Considerable Walkman player.

16GB 24 July 2020 by LYX6 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cons: Battery life is short. Volume adjustment range for Bluetooth devices is small. Screen brightness is too bright even adjusted to lowest level, which is not comfortable while using. Hopefully the volume adjustment range and brightness range can be improved through firmware upgrade. Pros: All besides the above mentioned cons are very well in this price.

0

0