57

4.2 based on 57 customer reviews

36
13
1
0
7
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 22 December 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with this radio, the sound is superb, makes our other two DAB radios of similar dimensions sound pathetic. The Sony was easy to set up,have recommended this product to others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very disappointed

XDR-P1DBP 21 July 2018 by ird999 (United Kingdom)

Spent a reasonable amount on a brand that I trusted. However very disappointed that the on-off switch has broken, rendering the radio useless, although all other features (other buttons, display, battery etc) are fine. Surprised to see this is a common problem with this model, but its still being sold.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

58 Customer Reviews

0

Very good product, let down by the power switch.

XDR-P1DBP 26 October 2021 by migros8 (United Kingdom)

Received no support from Sony whatsoever when the power switch broke - rendering the radio useless. This has now happened to me twice and there are reports by other people online as well. Please, Sony, at least make the switch available as a spare part so it can be fixed. We all have a responsibility to not create even more waste. Please get in touch with me, Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

A little treasure

XDR-P1DBP 20 July 2021 by NevW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For those of us who remember growing up with a little transistor radio, this is pure nostalgia. But of course it's better: rechargeable battery, better sound, clever electronics. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact with great sound

XDR-P1DBP 07 January 2021 by Nom54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas gift for my husband from our daughter - easy to tune and great sound - ideal for the garden and indoors as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket Radio

XDR-P1DBP 27 July 2020 by Twincam99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased so far but have only had it a week. My only concern is the much talked about weak on off switch so I am being very careful with it. The build is not as solid as a larger Sony DAB Radio that I have or a Roberts Pocket radio and for the price I think this is something Sony need to address.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Compact radio with great sound.

XDR-P1DBP 10 June 2020 by Shirley J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent little radio, although I did have a couple of issues. I found that without picking up the radio and looking at the band change buttons on the top, I could not locate them by feel (which I wanted to do if listening in bed at night) I combatted this by sticking some small planner board dots on them. Also, I purchased it as it said it could be run on the mains as well as battery; however, the plug for doing so does not come with it. That said, I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact

XDR-P1DBP 08 May 2020 by Yungman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up, useful features and good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Compact and Portable

XDR-P1DBP 28 March 2020 by Ian B64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this radio for my 75yr old mother and she is very satisfied with it. It is simple to use and a very compact size. Would have got 5 stars if reception was always 100%.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Didn't work

XDR-P1DBP 16 January 2020 by Waggy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this from Sony as I trusted the brand. The speaker didn't work so can't rate the ease of use and quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

2

1

0

Nice and stable

XDR-P1DBP 23 December 2019 by Gargantua (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set up is easy and can be refreshed when you move to a different town or country. The radio has a flip down stand at the back which stops it falling over. The rechargeable battery works well from any USB source. Nice piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good size

XDR-P1DBP 11 November 2019 by Missym (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sized radio works well.................. ....................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy as a dandy and great sound for the size.

XDR-P1DBP 29 October 2019 by Shaft69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily to use with headphones and because of the size and lack of wi-fi coverage in my bedroom for the radio on my phone. Has lived up to my expectations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy set up.

XDR-P1DBP 10 August 2019 by ozzy66 (United Kingdom)

Only bought today but really easy to set up presets, volume level seems adequate, really neat little unit. Time will tell if as good as it at first seems.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great radio but poorly made.

XDR-P1DBP 10 July 2019 by Birdsunlimited (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these radios and both had a faulty on/off switch.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

4

0

Amazingly compact, functional high quality radio

XDR-P1DBP 19 May 2019 by IanCharlesB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Surprised at how well it is designed and manufactured and the sound is great too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super handy!

XDR-P1DBP 15 May 2019 by Fengyi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Handy, easy to carry, I was quite satisfied until the on/ off switch broke down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love my tiny radio

XDR-P1DBP 29 December 2018 by Ginger555 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Sony pocket radio back in June it packs a really good powerful sound and is easy to use ,but unfortunately the on off button which I consider to be quite flimsy broke and I could not turn my new radio on or off So I returned it to lovely John Lewis who gave me a new one . I’m praying this one will last more than 6mths .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Compact and impressive but ...

XDR-P1DBP 13 December 2018 by Segdirb (United Kingdom)

I am baffled by the instructions which seem to me to be wholly inadequate. Even information on how to switch the radio off is lacking much less how to manage presets, time for the alarm function etc., etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Very Impressed Overall

XDR-P1DBP 02 November 2018 by sexy bear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in preparation for living off the grid. Particularly useful to me is the light weight and the USB charging which I shall be using off my solar panel / hydro turbine systems. Only disappointment is that the telescopic aerial weighs so much compared with how light the radio is, that when it's extended the radio can tip over unless the leg is extended. Could maybe the aerial be made of titanium in order to reduce this problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what was wanted

XDR-P1DBP 19 August 2018 by Rosiemg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a gift for my husband. Now uses it to while away sleepless nights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Software has bugs

XDR-P1DBP 28 July 2018 by Ar Kane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Casting is impaired. TV sees blackberry and vice versa but registration fails for mirroring.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Very disappointed

XDR-P1DBP 21 July 2018 by ird999 (United Kingdom)

Spent a reasonable amount on a brand that I trusted. However very disappointed that the on-off switch has broken, rendering the radio useless, although all other features (other buttons, display, battery etc) are fine. Surprised to see this is a common problem with this model, but its still being sold.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

0

A good product made bad by poorly designed switch

XDR-P1DBP 09 May 2018 by Markx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound and reception for a small radio. Built in rechargeable battery is very good.It is let down by an on/off switch that is not durable enough. This is the second of these radios I have purchased and the switch has broken on both. The design is clearly flawed, and I am not the only customer to have experienced this. Sony continue to insist all is well....it is a pity as I would certainly have bought another one if this was not the case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Don’t be put off by the size

XDR-P1DBP 21 April 2018 by Mo7777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A brilliant little radio with good quality sound and pleasing to the eye and touch.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 23 March 2018 by Dabbler998 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy and got a good price at John Lewis although still quite expensive. Surprised DAB hasn’t been more popular so much more reliable sound quality. I hear FM has been given a reprieve?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 22 January 2018 by Captain Bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this as a Christmas present and really pleased with it. Very compact with excellent sound quality. Perfect for listening to the Test Matches whilst on the move

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Radio

XDR-P1DBP 18 January 2018 by meldab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony radio is great on features and handy to take with you. Has FM DAB and DAB+ . It’s as I expected from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

As close to a perfect small radio as you can get

XDR-P1DBP 07 January 2018 by PaulTheOnlyOne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the radio a few weeks now. It picks up DAB in parts of my house where no other radio has worked. Volume is amazing for such a small speaker. Perfect for me to keep in touch with my favourite BBC Radio 4. For the next version Sony please add streaming then it will be completely perfect!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very useful radio

XDR-P1DBP 12 October 2017 by JJS50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent radio which I have been using for a year now. Only disappointment is low volume when used with (Sonly) in-ear phones whereas volume from speaker is very good..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best small DAB Radio

XDR-P1DBP 16 April 2017 by How silly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this Radio a couple of months now and can confirm other reviewers remarks. Excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Tiny radio - massive sound!

XDR-P1DBP 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant bit of kit. Fits in the palm of your hand but sounds like a machine much bigger in size. Quickly populates a large rang of DAB channels and is really easy to use. Can't wait for the start of the cricket season!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing pocket radio

XDR-P1DBP 13 February 2017 by Anthony g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't believe the quality of the sound from such a compact device. It's robust, with a long life battery, DAB & FM. Three stations on each band. I just wish it would accept a memory card, to play my music. Really good value for money, and amazing quality. It attracts comments from everyone who hears it. Big speaker sound from such a compact device. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Flimsy, awful power button simply doesn't work !

XDR-P1DBP 12 February 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have purchased 2 (two) of these digital radios and neither of them work due to the flimsy start button which is very poor quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

11

0

Superb Quality

XDR-P1DBP 29 January 2017 by jc11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had bought a cheapo brand of similar size four days earlier. It lacked sensitivity and then froze completely within 2 days. I returned it and bought the Sony. Definitely get what you pay for. This radio picks up DAB signals where others fail. It has really good sound quality - not the tinny sound one would expect from a radio this. The design is excellent as is the build quality. Controls are intuitive and I find having the '3 favourites' buttons on top of the radio, in addition to the presets, very useful. Really pleased with this radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Small but Perfectly Formed

XDR-P1DBP 11 January 2017 by Pooh1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This a tiny radio with astonishingly good sound and good sensitivity. Included is a high quality charging cable but no plug. Personally I would have liked the aerial to emerge a bit further so that it could be upright when the radio is lying on it's back. I am so glad to have found this lovely little radio when my old travelling Sony had nearly died after nearly 50 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Predominantly good.

XDR-P1DBP 10 January 2017 by Doddski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is basically an extremely good pocket DAB radio, the only disappointment for me is that the earphone volume is somewhat low for those with less than perfect hearing. Sound quality is very good considering the size of the device, build quality is what one would hope for from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing tiny radio

XDR-P1DBP 09 January 2017 by CasperDel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this radio to use when traveling in the UK. It has very good reception and works well on the train (as good as FM but with more stations)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great buy

XDR-P1DBP 05 January 2017 by Captain94 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a Christmas gift and am very pleased with it. It is compact, easy to operate and has very good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!!!

XDR-P1DBP 05 January 2017 by June30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely thrilled with this radio, can't believe the sound quality that comes from such a tiny device!!! Wonderful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great little radio

XDR-P1DBP 26 November 2016 by Waterfall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The radio is well built and very powerful. It managed a return journey from Yorkshire to London by train with almost no loss of reception. Good sound quality from speaker at home and in hotel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Radio

XDR-P1DBP 24 October 2016 by JohnXRadiofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a powepacked little DAB radio....I love it. Small yet a very good sound...easy to use with simple buttons for the varous actions required.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sooooooo neat!

XDR-P1DBP 07 August 2016 by vjbr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this about 6 weeks. It's small, simple and it works. I'm using it at home and camping, where FM is poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

excellent pocket radio

XDR-P1DBP 01 August 2016 by foff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is not easy to distinguish between competitive products online but the Sony turned out to be a first class choice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Small, crispy clear sound. Highly recommended

XDR-P1DBP 14 July 2016 by KCKhor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's small and therefore extremely portable. Sound Is crisp and clear. Tuning is fast . And the battery lasts and lasts Simple to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Nothing compact can sound as good as this. YES

XDR-P1DBP 14 June 2016 by Grandadp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought the radio for travelling holiday. It's so small and cute but performs like a full size radio. Brilliant buy!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Compact and Easy to Use

XDR-P1DBP 31 May 2016 by JonP248 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this radio which replaced a much older but similar sized Sony product. As I expect most people use this for travel it would have been useful if it had an alarm function.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

The Best

XDR-P1DBP 10 May 2016 by DemioDavid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my radio's, being a plumber with never the same 4 walls to work in but the same radio. I have tried many radio's in my time but this is the best ever. It sounds better than a lot of larger ones I have owned. Most importantly it is DAB+ that we have just started to use here in England along with most of the rest of Europe. A Battery charge lasts me 2 to 3 days with easy charge via a USB. So small just sits in a little pocket in my tool bag. The only thing that could make it better is Internet radio. But I never short of choice with DAB. I love the scroll selection display. You can see a lot of thought has gone into the design. Well Done Sony. Simply the best

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Compact, amazing sound

XDR-P1DBP 27 April 2016 by Buck61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony compact radio is easy to use, truly portable and has incredible sound and volume for its size. Very pleased with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small and powerful

XDR-P1DBP 18 April 2016 by Me20161948 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased just over a week ago for my second home and the occasional trips out, this little radio pack real punch with excellent battery life and really good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great wee radio.

XDR-P1DBP 12 February 2016 by Glentana (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little radio. Only downside is, sometimes when switching on, if can'take find the station signal, it locks; requiring a reset operation with a paper clip.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0