159

4.7 based on 159 customer reviews

129
22
4
1
3
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best macro lens ever I own !

SEL90M28G 19 September 2020 by sjfoto (USA)

The lens is beautiful. If your passion is macro photography this lens your needs. The G line lens of sony is really a top quality lens. From the construction and design, this lens high quality. Made of metal .The focus ring that could be retracted in & out for manual focus is a cleaver design. When doing macro photography and if you don't want to be too close to the subject like butterflies and bees, you can switch your A7 series camera to APC-s capture ON to give you a 135mm focal length and this will give you a minimum focus distance of about 17-18 inches instead of 11 inches. The lens has OSS and moisture resistance. Is not too big (for me)w hen connected to camera body but feels very stable when handling and pricy compare to canon , nikon and fuji . SJfoto

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore)

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

5

0

158 Customer Reviews

0

good lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 30 May 2022 by peng198 (Singapore)

Happy to have this lens to shoot all my flower. In sony we always believe.

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL90M28G 28 May 2022 by JackR10 (United Kingdom)

Super sharp focus, great for everything from portraits and landscapes not just macro

0

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL90M28G 20 May 2022 by T6518 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for several months and I am very pleased with its performance. The lens is extremely sharp and can be used for most scenarios. Coupled with my new A7 IV the results are outstanding

0

0

0

Lens broke after 4 months.

SEL90M28G 27 April 2022 by C2022 (USA)

The mount part of the lens came off after very little use and camera in proper bag. Sony agreed to give an exchange lens for three hundred some dollars. However, I feel that is not my fault that the lens broke.

2

0

0

Amazingly sharp for food photography

SEL90M28G//QSYX 26 April 2022 by Shermanjw (Singapore)

Love the different focal lengths. You can use it primarily for macro and also shoot further out. If I had to bring one lens for a food photoshoot this would be it. Great build, very sharp and versatile.

0

0

0

Sharp ... but

SEL90M28G 19 April 2022 by snappysteve (United Kingdom)

I have only had this a week but my experience so far is as follows :- It is no doubt very sharp but as you would expect with macro photography, you need to stop down to say f8 upwards to get a reasonable depth of field. I am not that impressed with auto focus, even with the distance limiter it hunts a fair bit and is much noisier than my 24-105 lens. Also for me the lens ring which you push/pull to change between the 2 is right where I normally hold a lens so I keep inadvertently changing the focus mode. I should be able to adjust my hold with practise to overcome this. Overall it doesn't significantly improve on images taken with my 24-105mm with a screw in magnifier . This is quite an old lens and would probably benefit from an update as the 70-200 has just had.

1

0

0

Sharpness and Bokeh are Very Impressive

SEL90M28G//QSYX 17 March 2022 by Catherine CWF (Malaysia)

I bought this lens a month ago and very happy with the quality of photos that captured especially when i pair with A7R3. The auto focus function was fast and accurately focus on the subject. It is totally hassle-free. Thanks to Sony technology, with built-in 9 bladed diaphragm this lens produces a beautiful and soft Bokeh which enhance the image quality.

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL90M28G//QSYX 09 March 2022 by MCR Photog (Singapore)

I just bought this lens and it is incredible. The bokeh is gorgeous and the image is insanely sharp! Value for money

0

0

0

Amazing sharpness, great value for the price

SEL90M28G//QSYX 22 January 2022 by rahul131 (Singapore)

The sharpness of this lens is absolutely amazing, comes close to some of my GM lenses at half the price. Great for portraits too, but stellar for macro over other choices in the e mount lineup.

1

0

0

My first G master dedicated lens

SEL90M28G 12 January 2022 by Orpheusunderworld (United Kingdom)

Coupled with my five year dream camera the constantly updated A7 series body I now have the camera that should see out my days. The world getting smaller I decided that my portrait history was needing my smaller challenged world to come to the fore. Updated my computer two years ago to cope with the memory to cope with 42Mega pixels and the result has in just 24 shots been astounding. The speed of the focus has no lag which the A6 did along with the first A7 and my wait is well served in cost and quality. I bought a wide telephoto Sigma as a stopgap butthe weight alone will have me saving for another G Master compatibles. You get what you pay for in life and this lens does not disappoint except the people who are surprised at the minutae and ask me to delete their false vanity. Exceptional............

4

0

0

Very sharp lens.

SEL90M28G 09 January 2022 by Stargazer5 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a very sharp macro lens for competition photography and the FE90 has certainly not disappointed. It's early days yet but I am extremely impressed with the results so far. Fast auto focus and the option to switch to manual. Exceptional value with the Jan sales and Sony cashback.

2

0

0

Pin sharp every time

SEL90M28G 02 January 2022 by JohnieC75 (United Kingdom)

I got this lens for portraits and messing about with Macro. So impressed. The level of detail and edge to edge sharpness is out of this world.

1

0

0

Love this lens!

SEL90M28G 25 December 2021 by luckyphotograph_r (United Kingdom)

Relatively new to photography and currently using the a6000 as my start-up camera. This macro G lens was a highly-recommended lens from the LondonCameraExchange guys in Nottingham when I was contemplating whether to go down the telephoto or macro photography route. Have to say, the versality of this lens was exactly what was showcased to me - amazing for macro photography, impressive too for portraits yet somewhat still surprisingly good to use for long-range landscape shots as well. Was thinking of trying out the ‘cheaper’ 2 macro lenses simply for price-sake but really glad I opted for this in the end.

1

0

0

Solid built

SEL90M28G//QSYX 25 December 2021 by Aliff_Hakim (Malaysia)

Great addition to my lens collection. If only the focusing speed is a bit faster.

0

0

0

Sharp!

SEL90M28G 15 December 2021 by ICEFE07 (United Kingdom)

I changed my kit about a week ago and I purchased this to replace my outgoing 100mm macro. This is my first Sony lens and I'm seriously impressed with the sharpness of this lens and the image quality.

0

0

0

Extremely sharp lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 13 December 2021 by Ash176 (Singapore)

Was on the fence between the 50mm and the 90mm but decided on the 90mm due to its internal focussing. This lens is extremely sharp. Great for portrait but can't really expect it to focus as fast as normal lens. And the bokeh... It's bokelicious!

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL90M28G 10 December 2021 by Fed 25 (United Kingdom)

The quality and sharpness is outstanding, and I just love how it’s built, such a pleasure to use! The only down side is the autofocus, not really quick and sometimes uncertain but for the type of lens it didn’t cause me any issue. Love it.

0

0

0

Impressive!

SEL90M28G 09 December 2021 by Dobe (United Kingdom)

Still learning my way around, however, so far absolutely love the quality of images. It is amazing what wonderful macro shots this lens can produce!

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL90M28G 31 October 2021 by wjlacey3090 (United Kingdom)

absolutely incredible. the best lens ive ever used in my life. I am so chuffed with it.

0

0

0

My love

SEL90M28G//QSYX 26 October 2021 by Nada T (Malaysia)

This lens is my love. I took wonderful photos with and still I'm learning.

6

0

0

Right sharp

SEL90M28G 14 October 2021 by conols (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens to strat macro photography and it didn't disappoint. Easy to use lens and very sharp images produced. Also very good portrait lens, just what it said on the tin:)

1

0

0

Great optical performance

SEL90M28G 14 October 2021 by LO_photography (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as a macro/portrait lens. So far it has delivered superb results on both counts

0

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by Alsads (United Kingdom)

I bought this for butterflies and other insects and have been delighted by the quality of pictures I’ve captured. Can be used hand held easily but on a small tripod it’s fantastic. The only let down is it’s a bit plasticy.

0

0

0

Sharp Macro

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

This lens is sharp and a pleasure to use when taking insects and macro work of all kinds. Probably one of the sharpest macro lenses out there for certain.

0

1

0

Easy to use

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by IC01P (United Kingdom)

Solid. Lovelly detail in the images taken with this lens. Took a while to remember the AF/MF is a push/pull affair at the end of the lens rather than a switch on the side.

0

0

0

As sharp as a tack

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by I Ron man (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens at the beginning of the summer with close-ups of plants and use on my copy stand. ninety milometers is a little long for the close up stand but this lens is pin-sharp and proved excellent for flowers and portraiture both formal and informal. It is a joy to use.

0

0

0

Excellent macro lens

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by dontaskme (United Kingdom)

The manual focus is easy to use and very accurate. Probably a better lens for stills rather than video

0

0

0

Not sure

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by Zozzachops (United Kingdom)

I bought this earlier this year thinking it would be so much better than my extension tubes, but I seem to get better results with the tubes…… maybe I just need to persevere. There is also a little bit of movement where it connects to the camera which possibly doesn’t help with getting sharp focus. I will take it back to LCE to check.

0

0

0

90 macro G Master

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by Quamy (United Kingdom)

Great lens for Macro photography. Probably the best I’ve ever used for this style. Also it is a good all rounder for Portrait and Landscape photography.

0

0

0

Auto focus problems

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021 by Reggie75 (United Kingdom)

I probably would be great if the autofocus worked which it never has. If I’d understood how it was supposed to work in time maybe I could have got a refund.

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL90M28G 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

Great for details and also for portrets. Very sharp photos.

0

0

0

Top Class Lens

SEL90M28G 19 August 2021 by Davebevrach (United Kingdom)

This lens is so right on so many levels. It produces great images, it is compact for a full frame lens, it is optically stabilised, it has a great way of moving from autofocus to manual focus and it has focus limiter switches. I have used several other macro lenses (Sigma and Tamron included) and, although they were very good, they did not match the class of this lens. (Note - I use this FE lens on E mount (C sensor) Sony cameras.

0

0

0

Superb quality

SEL90M28G 01 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom)

Having purchased a this 90mm macro lens I have been very happy with the results achieved using it hand held in conjunction with my Sony a7riv.

2

0

0

Impressive Steady Shot Ability

SEL90M28G 11 July 2021 by aljo26577845455577557 (United Kingdom)

I am impressed by the lenses ability to eliminate camera shake, with no help from the camera. I can hand-hold exposures of 0.7 seconds with no trace of camera shake when viewed on a computer screen, or even when magnified. The optical quality is excellent.

0

0

0

Good decision

SEL90M28G 01 July 2021 by pat99 (United Kingdom)

Excellent macro option for A6500 upgrade for 30mm macro

0

0

0

Fun lens

SEL90M28G 25 June 2021 by Blackfishrain (USA)

The macro allows me to see worlds I never imagined. I love it!

0

0

0

Excellent quality images

SEL90M28G 22 June 2021 by shipwatcher (United Kingdom)

I have jumped ship from Canon to Sony. Used the 100 mm Canon macro on a regular basis. The Sony 90mm Macro outperforms the Canon macro in my opinion.

1

0

0

Great macro lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 21 June 2021 by RichardCK (Singapore)

Bought this lens to replace other 3rd party 90mm macro for different camera brand (have been using with converter mount). Sony 90mm lens fast response, focuses quickly/ accurately. Great results in shorter time!

0

0

0

Value for the price

SEL90M28G//QSYX 29 May 2021 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore)

Its certainly adds another dimension my Sony journey

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 May 2021 by Harkiran (Malaysia)

This is an excellent lens. The pictures are super sharp. Though the magnification is 1:1, but the picture remains super clear when you enlarge it. I have taken various macro shots using this lens and I and very happy with the outcome.

0

0

0

Really sharp lens

SEL90M28G 23 April 2021 by BaldinEagle (United Kingdom)

Had this lens for copying my slide film collection. Using the lens on a copy stand gives incredible sharp results. This lens is not cheap compared to third party units, but I think it’s well worth the extra money as it works super great with my a7R3.

0

0

0

great build quality

SEL90M28G 13 April 2021 by geejay52 (United Kingdom)

brought this lens for copying and scanning my old back catalogue of film stock, which it achieves very well.

1

0

0

Lovely sharp lens.

SEL90M28G 28 March 2021 by Gary S (United Kingdom)

The lens is sharp, easy to use and a nice weight. The ease of sliding the barrel between MF and AF is so simple.

2

0

0

Tack sharp, but focus breathing during macro

SEL90M28G//QSYX 25 March 2021  (Malaysia)

Incredibly sharp, with enough light auto focus is very fast as a portrait lens. As a macro lens it is tack sharp, though it tends to do a bit of focus breathing before getting it right. Once locked on though, it remains in focus very well.

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL90M28G 24 March 2021 by ShotsByDaz (United Kingdom)

One of my favourite lenses, very sharp and great for macro photography. Feels very well made also

1

0

0

Difficult to take sharp pic

SEL90M28G//QSYX 22 March 2021 by Timetom (Singapore)

I wanted to take sharp pics but could not do so. Not sure why.

0

0

0

Manual focus

SEL90M28G 24 February 2021 by Mosis (United Kingdom)

Excellent piece of kit good picture quality good value for money

1

0

0

Phenomenal Lens

SEL90M28G 15 January 2021 by Mitesh (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens just before Christmas and have used it on a number of occasions. Its fast to focus when using autofocus and very crisp. I can't wait to try it as a portrait lens either. Wonderful product.

6

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G//QSYX 09 December 2020 by kenwashere (Singapore)

Focus peaking a game changer for hand held macro photography.

0

0

0

Stunning Detail and Sharpness

SEL90M28G 02 December 2020 by Trystang (United Kingdom)

I have wanted to buy this lens for a while, not least following the glowing reviews. The sharpness and clarity is exceptional and the overall build quality is excellent. I also love the click back autofocus ring. Cannot recommend it enough for macro photography or portraits.

3

0

0

Great fast focus.

SEL90M28G//QSYX 05 November 2020  (Singapore)

I bought this months ago, I use this to practice home work from PSS, very helpful for macro shooting.

0

0

0

Best 90mm Macro for any Sony Mirrorless camera.

SEL90M28G 23 October 2020 by cnaray123 (USA)

I had one I purchased a long time ago when I first bought a Sony E mount camera and it started to developed dust inside. Had the pro support and sent it in for repair, but could not fix it in a timely manner. So I was offered a new one for $700 and took it.

2

0

0

Best macro lens ever I own !

SEL90M28G 19 September 2020 by sjfoto (USA)

The lens is beautiful. If your passion is macro photography this lens your needs. The G line lens of sony is really a top quality lens. From the construction and design, this lens high quality. Made of metal .The focus ring that could be retracted in & out for manual focus is a cleaver design. When doing macro photography and if you don't want to be too close to the subject like butterflies and bees, you can switch your A7 series camera to APC-s capture ON to give you a 135mm focal length and this will give you a minimum focus distance of about 17-18 inches instead of 11 inches. The lens has OSS and moisture resistance. Is not too big (for me)w hen connected to camera body but feels very stable when handling and pricy compare to canon , nikon and fuji . SJfoto

12

0

0

wonderful lens

SEL90M28G 10 September 2020 by Profdsm (United Kingdom)

There is a lot of hype about this lens, and it really is as good as the hype. I am really happy with it, the one thing which I had read about which could be a criticism if you were not aware of it is the the autofcous can be quite slow. But better to use manual focus and move yourself. When you get the focus right the end result is amazing - the bokeh is so beautiful too. It is expensive, but I managed to get a cachback deal on a reasonable price (worth hunting around) so ended up reasonable price in my opinion, especially for the quality- I just hope it lasts! :-)

5

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL90M28G 04 September 2020 by Marque_Images (United Kingdom)

Coming over from Canon I was looking to replace my 100mm macro which I thought would be a difficult task. Oh no! The Sony 90mm blows all competition out of the water. It's so so sharp, beautifully made and just a must have lens if your a Sony shooter. This is more than just a macro lens.

4

0

0

Great sharpness

SEL90M28G//QSYX 31 August 2020 by Skyvows (Singapore)

Bought a month ago and the sharpness is phenomenal

0

0

0

Optically good but autofocus hunts ++

SEL90M28G 21 August 2020 by 205DH (United Kingdom)

Sharp and can get better depth of field than I had expected but have only been able to use manual focus as in autofocus mode it hunts and is unusable even when it has a huge target to focus on. Will only be used for macro and not used as portrait prime lens due to focus issues (the other Sony lenses I have snap to focus, so the difference is shocking - it performs worse than my Canon lens with an adapter) - the next question in the review is "would I recommend this product" - well the answer is "it depends" - if you would be happy with a manual focus lens then "yes"

4

8

0

Easy to use

SEL90M28G 17 August 2020 by Angie k (United Kingdom)

Only had one opportunity to use it so far, but very pleased with the results.

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL90M28G 08 August 2020 by MartnA (United Kingdom)

The lens is well made and the auto / manual selected is very well thought. Optically it is great, very sharp with smooth bokeh.

2

0

0

Crazy sharp

SEL90M28G 05 August 2020 by neilvn (USA)

This lens is razor-sharp -- just what I need for product photography and portraits in the studio. Minimal optical distortion also helps with the image quality.

0

0

0

Glass - Amazing, macro results - 1:1 perfection

SEL90M28G 04 August 2020 by Benbenshow (United Kingdom)

Ive had it for a while and this is the lens i use the most. It is so versatile; i can take portraits and then, oh look a bumblebee and straight in fill the frame with the lil guy. Frankly i cant fault the lens in any way... I dont know what i can say about it thats bad... I wish it was cheaper???

1

0

0

Sony 90mm G Macro

SEL90M28G//QSYX 17 July 2020 by WSSoh (Malaysia)

Superbly sharp. Well built. Not too heavy. Fast focus.

0

1

0

Magnificent pics but heavy for petite size person

SEL90M28G 11 July 2020 by Nenezica (USA)

It was a gift from my husband, I love the picks and quality, but since I am petite the lent is really heavy and I cant hold for so long the camera hanging on my nec, It will be great if Sony could minimize the weight of the Lents without lose quality, another point is, traveling abroad and with all the restrictions it is hard to carry on board without pay extra because of the size and weight of personal item.

0

4

0

A highly recommended lense.

SEL90M28G//QSYX 05 July 2020 by RonGobilee (Malaysia)

A very sharp and versatile lense. Can be used not only for macro but also potrait. I'm glad that I bought it.

0

0

0

Best ever macro lens sharpest lens there is

SEL90M28G 03 July 2020 by PeteKLS (United Kingdom)

Awesome after lots of reviews. This was the best ever.

2

0

0

Great optics, superb design

SEL90M28G 27 June 2020 by Magnetar (United Kingdom)

I love this lens! It’s brilliantly designed, with a sleeve on the lens body that slides fractionally back for manual, forward for auto focus. It’s so easy to use and the optics are awesome for macro work. Great for landscapes too! Highly recommend.

2

0

0

Excellent Sharpness, Real Macro Lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 27 May 2020 by Sundaram (India)

I promarily use it as a Portrait and Macro Lens. Excellent Sharpness in all modes and very versatile lens. Designed with exclusive features custom designed to handle Macro requirements.

0

0

0

Superior lens to most i have owned

SEL90M28G 07 May 2020 by jax1447 (United Kingdom)

I would love to do an extended review of the lens, but this is a Covid-19 lockdown version. I love it, that would in itself be a fine testament, I have never done much in the way of macro but aim to do more as the results are so much better than with other macro lenses I have had. It's also an outstanding lens for portraits if anything it's too sharp I would have no hesitation to recommend the FE90 macro to anyone.

1

0

0

Excellent Optics

SEL90M28G 25 April 2020 by TerryW64 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens without trying it and am very pleased. I need to look carefully at how I light subjects in full macro. After two weeks I am getting used to settings I need to get the DOF I want. I really like the AF/MF switching by movement of focus barrel back/forward. Much easier than the switch on other lenses.

0

0