36

4.9 based on 36 customer reviews

32
3
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

As Good as It Gets

SAL2470Z 04 December 2010 by TheEnthusiast (USA)

First, let's address some complaints from other viewers. (1) It's heavy. Yes, like any essentially 3X, full-frame zoom with built-in motor that maintains f/2.8 across its full zoom range, it's heavy. Weight should not be a surprise; it's right there in the specs in black and white. (2) It's expensive. It's expensive for precisely the same reasons that it's heavy. It's actually cheap for what it is. Check the prices on Zeiss lenses for other cameras. Zeiss has been getting those prices for decades because Zeiss optics, along with Leica, are the absolute best there is. Furthermore, it's a good investment: you can get your money back in 10 years if you want. This particular design is selling so well that they are often out of stock at places like B&H, who sells to the pros. (3) It has barrel distortion. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (4) Vignetting on full-frame shots. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (5) Lens flare. Less than on any other zoom that I’ve owned. _ The fact that Alpha SLRs had these lenses as an option was one of the big reasons I decided to go with Sony DSLRs. I had had Zeiss lenses on my Hasselblad for 20 years. (Check the prices on those!) _ From a practical user's perspective, this is a great lens for everyday use. The f/2.8 over the full zoom range means great performance in low light. It is as sharp as a high-quality prime (non-zoom) lens. Its contrast is also more like a high-end prime lens. It focuses instantaneously. It's dead quiet. It's built like a tank, but to very tight tolerances, which you can literally feel when you compare directly to other lenses.. _ If you carry this lens on your camera, people will ask if you're a pro, which isn't necessarily good. The lens makes your rig look expensive, which also isn't necessarily good. Its weight is enough that you won't carry it unless you plan to use it. It's not a "just-in-case" kind of thing. _ I use the lens on an A850 and an A550. I bought it when I bought my first Sony DSLR, which was the A550. In spite of the fact that there are smaller-lighter-cheaper lenses for an APS-C camera, I never once regretted buying this lens. I took it with me to Europe for three weeks, even though I had a very tight weight budget, had only the A550, and had a smaller and lighter, wider-zoom-range, DT lens. When you see that very special shot opportunity, you know that with this lens, you've got the absolute best going for you. Every time you get home and blow up those shots on a big monitor, you are reminded of what it really is worth. It is capable of making every pixel count on every full-frame shot. It may well be the best performing DSLR zoom lens made. _ If I had an APS-C camera and was sure I would never own a full-frame camera, I might hesitate. This begs the question of how you could know you’d never own a full-frame, especially if you’re the kind of person who would consider this lens. The fact that you’ve read this far means that you’re very serious about your photography, and the fact that you’re at least willing to entertain this cost means you’ll own a full frame camera sooner or later if you don’t already! Good shooting, Tim Naff P.S. If you don't know what is meant by APS-C and DT lenses, please read up before investing heavily in optics. DT lenses are smaller, lighter, and cheaper, and tend to have wider zoom ranges than full-frame lenses like this one. They just don't work effectively with full-frame camera bodies.

59

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

24 -70

SAL2470Z 06 June 2010 by justashooter (USA)

After the incorporation of lens correction by adobe in cs5, and carefully following the procedure I discovered considerable vignetting at 24mm and quite a bit at 70mm on a full frame sensor - the 850. The barrel distortion was considerable at 24 and still noticeable at 70. all in all a good lens, but, I suspect it was designed for an apsc sized sensor and someone just said it would also work on a full frame. I am using it on an 850 and a 700. In the days of 35 transparencies it would be a flop. Fortunately camera raw can correct the problems but you would expect more considering the price. On an apsc it would be OK.

26

14

36 Customer Reviews

0

A greta, quality product

SAL2470Z 05 July 2019 by Coastie (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens on line. Delivery took a little longer than I had hoped but since I got the lens and fitted it to my camera I have been totally satisfied with it. The optical quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SAL2470Z 27 September 2016 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

Unbelievably sharp. Very fast focus. Works brilliantly with the A77 and A77ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of the best.

SAL2470Z 26 February 2016 by Insigniatek (United Kingdom)

Extremely well made this 24-70 f2.8 Zeiss is my first "professional" lens that isn't a Nikon or Canon. It compares very well in terms of build and image quality and in use even feels a little better made. It's early days yet as I've only had it for a month so I can't say if image quality is on an even par with those two main competitors but initial impressions are very good - it focuses quickly (on my a99) and images look very sharp. With Sony's built in sensor shift image stabilisation (which also works fantastically) I have a more compact lens than the Nikon 24-70 f2.8 VR, and Canon have nothing to match it. I am very glad I purchased this lens and can highly recommend it. Value for money? Since the mark 2 version came out this original version is available at a price too good to miss but in general I find Sony's professional lens are more expensive than either Nikon or Canon so I feel Sony should reevaluate their pricing to be more competitive, and thereby encourage more buyers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great optics

SAL2470Z 11 September 2015 by brilock (United Kingdom)

Had this lens for some time now and it was an excellent purchase, I have yet to find a better built lens for this price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

'The' goto lens that never fails to deliver!

SAL2470Z 27 February 2015 by ManicManc Photography (United Kingdom)

Having had this lens for getting on a a couple of years now and owning the entire Zeiss line up i can honestly state that this lens lives on my camera! For a zoom lens, sharpness is truly amazing as is the colour and tonal range. Shooting a lot live bands in terrible lo-light conditions, one cannot fail to be impressed by the light gathering capabilities of it's wide aperture and the SSM makes short work of keeping up with fast action too!!! Build quality is nothing short of what you would expect from the legendary Zeiss specifications, although weather sealing would be a welcomed addition to any future updates - That said, i've used this lens in many torrential downpours at music festivals, and to the lens's credit it has held up to everything thrown at from rain, mud and beer!!!.... Not once has any of this created a problem. This lens should be in every Sony shooters kit bag, despite its high price tag... But as the saying goes - "You get what you pay for"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 24-70mm F2.8 ZA

SAL2470Z 17 January 2015 by SLawrencePhoto (United Kingdom)

This lens has played a huge part in my photography and has spent time on both an A850, A77 and A99. It has never let me down in terms of sharpness, AF, or colour tones. It is a solid lens that is very robust. Si

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Early days with new lens, but very pleased to date

SAL2470Z 10 October 2014 by Nick B (United Kingdom)

Only had lens about 4 weeks, but first impressions are very positive. Image quality and colour excellent, and on Sony A99 the AFD focussing option is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The Bee's Knees

SAL2470Z 02 June 2014 by PongoAlphs (United Kingdom)

Quiet simply the best zoom lens I've ever had, @ .35mm it's as good as most primes at f4 and above, wide open it's still very good. @ 50mm it's not as good as my favourite Minolta f1.7.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A very heavy lens

SAL2470Z 24 May 2014 by SONYholic (USA)

A lens that you can shoot around but kind of heavy.

6

2

0

Awesome lens

SAL2470Z 09 October 2013 by Andradei (USA)

This was my first Carl zeiss lens and it is worth every penny I paid for. It delivery very sharp images from wide angle 24 to 70mm. Its super sonic wave motor is something else. Fast and quite. Highly recommended.

7

1

0

Pro Lens with a sharp edge

SAL2470Z 23 July 2013 by LAfur (USA)

Great lens, works really well with Sony A99 and the Nex7. Lafur Photography

9

1

0

Excellent Pro Zoom Lens

SAL2470Z 12 June 2013 by RedJack (USA)

Yes, it's big and heavy. Yes, it's expensive. But you don't get first quality glass without making a sacrifice. I've used Zeiss lenses for over 40 years and this one hold up well against any of them. This is my normal working lens. It's as good as any top lens from any manufacturer.

18

0

0

Pro quality lens

SAL2470Z 21 December 2012 by Mac44 (USA)

Just fantastic, this lens is extremely impressive. When used with an a65, a77 this lens is king. If you are a pro looking for a good mid zoom lens this is it. I wouldn't recommend it for portrait shots but it is pretty versatile. This is a great choice for a rental lens because it is a little expensive for most of us to buy. renting it is probably a good choice if you know what period of time you might use the lens for. The images I uploaded might help you to see the clearity of this lens. One image is the complete image taken at night at 400 iso with a sony a65, with a long exposure. And the other image is a 1:1 of that shot. So this helps you see the actual quality retained by the lens.

19

0

0

Outstanding workhorse

SAL2470Z 26 August 2012  (USA)

I took the plunge with Sony and the A850 & A900 bodies in 2009/10 after decades with Nikon (D2x). As a full-time pro, with 4 kids and being a single income family the D3x was out of my range (due to the financial crash) and I needed 25mp fast for a ongoing print retail project. This lens, with the A850 and A900 bodies, has fed my family for the past 3+ years without a hiccup. I shoot for mid-level ad agencies and travel North America. Not once has an art director questioned my choice of Sony and the 24-70mm. I also shoot stock for the usual suspects and do very well with my Alphas and this lens in particular. I might need another one soon as my present one has taken a beating - but keeps on ticking. Furthermore after being intimate with Nikon service for years I have yet to need the services of Sony repair - and yes my frame counts are very high. i am not a plant. I am real, an old pro making a living!

43

4

0

Solid build, fast AF, beautiful images

SAL2470Z 13 June 2012 by KNewman (USA)

This is the finest AF zoom lens that I've ever owned. It's heavy, but I use it as my primary lens due to the versatility and quality. I would purchase it again without hesitation. You won't be sorry if you buy this, except if you're climbing Mount Everest and need to carry as light a pack as possible! This lens is heavy!

15

0

0

Love it!

SAL2470Z 30 April 2012 by Wahoops (USA)

Wow! I don't regret purchasing this "beast" at all. Worth the money!!!

13

6

0

Amazing

SAL2470Z 14 February 2012 by Sabs (USA)

I have used this lens for over five months and it rarely leaves my camera. This is a great lens to walk around and take your picture perfect photo. Although this is a zoom lens, the quality of photos is breath taking. The only down side to this lens is the weight; however, the weight is worth the pictures that it takes. The lens is great at taken pictures at night and indoors. I have many friends and family members that choose the pictures I take with this lens to print. I know this lens is expensive, but the old saying is very true, you get what you pay for and this is worth it.

16

0

0

Great Quality but Costly

SAL2470Z 26 January 2012 by ElGueroMasLoco (USA)

I bought this lens as an upgrade from the SAL-1680Z, which I gave to my wife. Compared to the 16-80, this lens is slightly sharper, with slightly better color, slightly better flare control, no vignetting, and no distortion (although it's not as wide as the other Zeiss' 16mm). The SSM focus is faster and quieter, and the build quality is better overall. How do I know this? Because sand got kicked into the 16-80 and it pretty much ruined it (Sony wanted $550 to repair it, our local guy is doing it for $170). Meanwhile, the 24-70 just got back from a very sandy trip to the desert, as seen in my attached pictures, and still works great. Sand was everywhere; on the lens, in the camera bag, in the air -- the camera and lens even took a tumble off the tripod and survived just fine. That tells me the tolerances are tighter. As far as image quality goes, the difference between the two lenses is only marginal. I do like the faster 2.8, which came in very handy in a no-flash situation at a dark concert. Another significant advantage for the 24-70 is the rich bokeh, which rivals any prime lens. However, for landscapes and in bright settings, the cheaper lens will perform almost as well. The downsides to this lens are of course its very high cost, its weight (a sacrifice for quality) and its sheer size. I don't look forward to hauling this baby on my next trek in the mountains. The 16-80 is a great travel lens because it's relatively lightweight and small, with a great range. The 24-70 is less versatile, heavier and much larger. Yes, you will get the best pictures possible on a Sony camera with this lens, and that's why I bought it, but for the money, the 16-80 is just as good, if not better (just buy the insurance).

29

0

0

Exceptional results

SAL2470Z 31 May 2011 by Karlthereviewer (USA)

I have had these lenses for almost two years now and let me tell you that they are the best for portraits. The results are sharp and detailed pictures with tons of clarity. At 2.8 you cannot go wrong. The only change I would do on the outside to make it cooler, just look at the other lenses Sony. Of course, this is minimum compared to the amazing results you can get. No wonder why this was a hot seller. Great results.

9

6

0

Must have

SAL2470Z 08 April 2011 by Ocular (USA)

I've had this lens for 1.5 years and love it. This lens is perfectly balanced with my A900 and provides quick, quiet and accurate performance making it a pleasure to use. I've used this lens along the rocky coasts of Okinawa, the humid swamps of Florida, the icy cold of winter in the Utah canyons and other extremes of environment and it performed flawlessly. I thought the weight would be an issue, then I saw my pictures and decided the weight was a minuscule issue compared to the quality of the images I bring home. If you're serious about photography then this is a must have lens.

23

1

0

Exceptional Lens!

SAL2470Z 11 January 2011 by jadeeast69 (USA)

I have been reading the current reviews for this lense, and agree with just about everything... I may be one of the first to hook this lens to a NEX-5 with the Sony E to A adaptor... With the Sony firmware download to activate the auto-focus, the operation is flawless... I do a lot of International travel in my art business, and this new camera lens combo is just the perfect item. The lens photo ability, reminds me of the best Pentex Super-Tokamar lenses I used on my 35mm camera 45 years ago.

11

0

0

As Good as It Gets

SAL2470Z 04 December 2010 by TheEnthusiast (USA)

First, let's address some complaints from other viewers. (1) It's heavy. Yes, like any essentially 3X, full-frame zoom with built-in motor that maintains f/2.8 across its full zoom range, it's heavy. Weight should not be a surprise; it's right there in the specs in black and white. (2) It's expensive. It's expensive for precisely the same reasons that it's heavy. It's actually cheap for what it is. Check the prices on Zeiss lenses for other cameras. Zeiss has been getting those prices for decades because Zeiss optics, along with Leica, are the absolute best there is. Furthermore, it's a good investment: you can get your money back in 10 years if you want. This particular design is selling so well that they are often out of stock at places like B&H, who sells to the pros. (3) It has barrel distortion. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (4) Vignetting on full-frame shots. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (5) Lens flare. Less than on any other zoom that I’ve owned. _ The fact that Alpha SLRs had these lenses as an option was one of the big reasons I decided to go with Sony DSLRs. I had had Zeiss lenses on my Hasselblad for 20 years. (Check the prices on those!) _ From a practical user's perspective, this is a great lens for everyday use. The f/2.8 over the full zoom range means great performance in low light. It is as sharp as a high-quality prime (non-zoom) lens. Its contrast is also more like a high-end prime lens. It focuses instantaneously. It's dead quiet. It's built like a tank, but to very tight tolerances, which you can literally feel when you compare directly to other lenses.. _ If you carry this lens on your camera, people will ask if you're a pro, which isn't necessarily good. The lens makes your rig look expensive, which also isn't necessarily good. Its weight is enough that you won't carry it unless you plan to use it. It's not a "just-in-case" kind of thing. _ I use the lens on an A850 and an A550. I bought it when I bought my first Sony DSLR, which was the A550. In spite of the fact that there are smaller-lighter-cheaper lenses for an APS-C camera, I never once regretted buying this lens. I took it with me to Europe for three weeks, even though I had a very tight weight budget, had only the A550, and had a smaller and lighter, wider-zoom-range, DT lens. When you see that very special shot opportunity, you know that with this lens, you've got the absolute best going for you. Every time you get home and blow up those shots on a big monitor, you are reminded of what it really is worth. It is capable of making every pixel count on every full-frame shot. It may well be the best performing DSLR zoom lens made. _ If I had an APS-C camera and was sure I would never own a full-frame camera, I might hesitate. This begs the question of how you could know you’d never own a full-frame, especially if you’re the kind of person who would consider this lens. The fact that you’ve read this far means that you’re very serious about your photography, and the fact that you’re at least willing to entertain this cost means you’ll own a full frame camera sooner or later if you don’t already! Good shooting, Tim Naff P.S. If you don't know what is meant by APS-C and DT lenses, please read up before investing heavily in optics. DT lenses are smaller, lighter, and cheaper, and tend to have wider zoom ranges than full-frame lenses like this one. They just don't work effectively with full-frame camera bodies.

59

0

0

24 -70

SAL2470Z 06 June 2010 by justashooter (USA)

After the incorporation of lens correction by adobe in cs5, and carefully following the procedure I discovered considerable vignetting at 24mm and quite a bit at 70mm on a full frame sensor - the 850. The barrel distortion was considerable at 24 and still noticeable at 70. all in all a good lens, but, I suspect it was designed for an apsc sized sensor and someone just said it would also work on a full frame. I am using it on an 850 and a 700. In the days of 35 transparencies it would be a flop. Fortunately camera raw can correct the problems but you would expect more considering the price. On an apsc it would be OK.

26

14

0

I like it

SAL2470Z 02 June 2010 by Muzics (USA)

After owning this lens for close to 3 mos the CZ 24-70 has its rightful place in the CZ lens line up. It takes great pictures and the auto focus motor is amazingly super silent, you can't hear it at all. I was on the fence between the CZ 16-24 and this lens, but decided on the CZ 24-70 as I needed a lens in this range for the A900. I would strongly us it with the battery pack as this lens is sure to challenge a single battery setup. It will be well worth it once you see your photo results as it seems comparable to the CZ 16-80 but smoother, and sharper. Its weight is really not that much of an issue if you are used to other CZ lenses, but it is heavy and be prepared if you plan to lug this around with battery pack which you will need. I have run into slight vignetting at times when using this lens, not to mention its price which is going to pinch your wallet. Overall it is a very well constructed and it will serve you well in bringing your creative vision to life.

13

1

0

Lens Hood a minor annoyance

SAL2470Z 02 December 2009 by Waldhaus (USA)

I have owned the lens for over a year now, and enjoy it a lot. However I am becoming increasingly frustrated with the hood. Over time it has gotten out of round, and being metal it is stiff enough that it is hard to take on and off. I worry about damaging the internals of the lens. The cost to replace is $129 which seems a lot for a lens hood. I am glad I own the lens - just wish the hood was cheaper to replace or less sturdy.

12

0

0

Lifer

SAL2470Z 28 November 2009 by ByTheWayside (USA)

Yes the lens is a little heavy, and yes it costs a few thousand coin. If I were buying a vintage Jaguar it would be the same, I bet. But these are extremely minor points. This lens finally gives me photos I can compare with pro shots, the bokeh is butterly wonderful, and the focusing is just phenomenal ... the SSM motor is so silent you can't even hear it in normal conditions (virtually silent) and QUICK oh dear. The focusing rings are so nice, especially how they are independent of each other ... this hunk of pure glass and metal will make your bicep bigger and your pictures just pop. Thank you Sony, thank you thank you.

10

0

0

Shizznit

SAL2470Z 18 September 2009 by skylar237 (USA)

Carl Zeiss optics are the shizznit! i just made the transition over to digital. i own a few contax 35mm bodies and a few Carl Zeiss lenses for them. the SSM is really fast! the zoom barrel will not walk on you and the f2.8 speaks for itself. yes its not cheap but worth it!!

11

1

0

GET ONE

SAL2470Z 31 July 2009 by 1SONYNUT (USA)

GREAT ALL AROUND LENS FOR MOST NEEDS SHOOTING GENERAL PICS.. SUPER QUIET AND FAST

7

3

0

SAL2470Z 28 June 2009 by manxtt (USA)

0

0

0

Great general photography lens

SAL2470Z 31 May 2009 by SLUF1354 (USA)

I've had this lens only a short while, but it has been proving its utility and flexability since day one. I was fortunate enough to be able to use a friend's lens for some time before I bought my own. Fast, silent focus is a very nice feature in addition to the other attributes of this lens. A great walkabout lens indeed. The price pinches a bit I know, but look at what you've gotten for your money!

12

1

0

Too Over price

SAL2470Z 28 April 2009 by peter138 (USA)

The lens is very good for indoor and outdoor photo,and has F2.8 The image quality is similar than the Zeiss 16-80mm which is almost half the price.Sony has to keep this price down

8

35

0

Versatile with Beautiful results!

SAL2470Z 14 February 2009 by camerrill (USA)

I'm really enjoying this lens. It works very well in low light conditions, general outdoor photography, and everything I have photographed with it. And you can't beat the sharpness of the Zeiss optics. I highly recommend this lens!

10

1

0

SAL2470Z 07 December 2008 by Jiim (USA)

0

0

0

Great general purpose lens

SAL2470Z 04 December 2008  (USA)

This is a wonderful lens. It causes minor vignetting on A900 camera, however this only happens at certain aperture settings. After all, all lenses, no matter what quality will cause some level of vignetting at certain apertures. Most pictures I've taken have no vignetting. So this really brings up a question whether this lens is for APS-C cameras or full frame cameras. I think it works fine with the full frame.

15

8

0

A very nice lens, A Joy to Use

SAL2470Z 01 December 2008 by tcboxer (USA)

This Zeiss Lens is a great 24-70mm lens. It's as good as the Nikon, or Canon 24-70mm f/2.8. It produces sharp, contrasty images at every focal lengths - even wide open. The SSM is super fast & quiet. Better than Nikon or Canon. A nice heavy lens that's well balanced on my A700 - with the grip on Every lens has drawbacks, especially zooms.. So too does this one. It's not weather or dust sealed. For almost $1,800.00 it should be. The front end pertrudes when zooming. I hate that. For one thing it allows dust to get inside, especially when there are no rubber "weather" seals. Brokeh, wide open is good, but not great. I was hoping for that legendary "buttery" Zeiss brokeh at 70mm f/2.8. Well, it isn't there. But, you do get a super sharp primary subject, with good brokeh. It could be better, but it could be a lot worse. I highly recommend this lens. You get great photos. It's not the best portrait lens I've ever owned. But. it does take good usable portraits. It won't be good for really wide shots, Especially on a ap-s size sensor (A100-A700 cameras,)because the images are cropped to a 35mm equivialent of 36mm. Still very usable for most landscape shots. But for that 36-105mm (35mm equivalent on a ap-s size sensor). Iit's better than any other lens on the market today. If you recognize the limitations of this exceptional zoom, you will wonder how you ever lived without it

28

9

0

New A700 & SAL2470Z Combination

SAL2470Z 21 November 2008  (USA)

Incredible clarity, and ease of use well balanced and truley a single lens to do multiple tasks. Will use this lens almost exclusively. I will wait to see if I need to buy the newest Zeiss lens 16-35mm when it becomes available. I may not need it. I am a 64 year young Masters student in Photography.I had been using a Minolta 7000, which I had several lens for that were interchangeable with the new camera.

8

3