Article ID : S500013328 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

How to enable or disable the System Restore feature?

Enabling or disabling the System Restore feature.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

Please refer to the steps below to enable or disable the System Restore feature in the Windows Vista Operating System.

IMPORTANT: If the System Restore feature is disabled, all existing restore points will be deleted. The computer will not be able to track or undo changes to the computer.

NOTE: To delete all restore points without permanently turning off this feature, follow the procedure to disable System Restore and then repeat the procedure to enable System Restore.

1. Click the Start button, and then click Control Panel.
2. In the Control Panel window, click System and Maintenance.
3. In the System and Maintenance window, click System.
4. In the System window, under Tasks, click System Protection.
NOTE: If the User Account Control window is displayed, click the Continue button.

5. In the System Properties window, on the System Protection tab, in the Automatic restore points section, choose the appropriate option:
    a. To enable System Restore, click to put a check next to any or all disks.
    b. To disable System Restore, click to clear the box next to any or all disks.
NOTE: In the System Protection window, click the Turn System Protection Off button.

6. In the System Properties window, click OK button.
7. In the System Restore window, click the Yes button.