Article ID : 00060154 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

How to restore the computer to an earlier time using the System Restore feature in Windows 8 and 8.1.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

The System Restore feature allows you to revert your computer back to the way it was at a previous point in time. This is an excellent way to fix various computer problems or undo any system changes that may have occurred since that point. Follow these steps to perform a System Restore.

IMPORTANT:

  • In order to perform a System Restore procedure, the System Restore feature must have been previously set up  and a Restore Point established.
  • This procedure must be performed while logged in as Administrator or to an account with Administrator rights.
  • The System Restore procedure will restore the Registry and other settings back to the date and time selected. No data will be lost. Saved documents and e-mail will not be affected by performing a System Restore.
  • Any hardware or software that has been installed after the date of the restore point may need to be reinstalled.
  • If the mouse, touchpad or touch screen is not available or does not work, use the Tab key or ARROW keys to highlight options or buttons, and the Enter key to make selections.
  • 200MB of free hard drive space is required to perform a system restore.
  1. Point to (but do not click) the lower-right or top-right corner of the screen, and then click to select the Search charm.
    Image

    NOTE: The Windows Logo + W key combination will also take you to the Search screen.

  2. In the Search screen, type System Protection and then press the Enter key.
  3. In the System Properties window, click the System Restore button.
    Image
  4. In the System Restore window, click the Next button.
    Image
  5. At the Restore your computer to the state it was in before the selected event screen, click to select the desired Restore Point, and then click the Next button.
    Image
  6. At the Confirm your restore point screen, click the Finish button.
    Image

NOTE: Once the Finish button is clicked, the computer will revert to the state it was in at the point selected and will then restart to apply those changes. This process could take several minutes, depending on the date of the restore point selected.