Skip to Content
63

4.4 based on 63 customer reviews

35
22
3
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

4k good - IBIS (steadyshot) vibration issue

Body Only 18 April 2017 by MrFrankieP (Singapore)

pros - 4k cons - Steadyshot has vibration issue. A lot of people are complaining, yet they dont take action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XX6G-7_hPco https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spLREugtBzs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDn8GYyuK1U https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3jAq6t3YDM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPrCrJ8rJw4 DONT BUY! WASTE OF MONEY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

104

0

65 Customer Reviews

0

Great but limited features

Body Only 23 July 2017 by DrEk (Thailand)

Great for photo but not that great for video. Cannot use eye-auto focus in video mode, image stabilization is good but cannot walking shooting video, etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very fine body, frustrating interface.

Body Only 23 July 2017  (United Kingdom)

The actual camera is excellent - very high quality captures in all lights, and the actual photo-taking is generally easy to do. Some useful settings including one to take 3 photos in rapid succession, with an f-stop up and down on either side of that set. However the overall interface, like most Sony cameras, is horrendously difficult to negotiate, and the fact that the touch-screen only allows touching to select focus point rather than options within menus is a trick missed. Hopefully some of these criticisms will be addressed in software updates - the hardware is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Slog

Body Only 19 July 2017 by Nonny (Thailand)

Many Thai users have problem with the stablilizer of alpha6500 after VDO shooting. And Sony Thailand even Japan can't fix that problem. - no headphone input

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 17 July 2017 by macman2 (United Kingdom)

As a migrant from the DSLR world, this camera has everything that I moved formats for. Small size, features to compete and beat the best Canon and Nikon have to offer. Truly brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing light weight camera

Body Only 16 July 2017 by a6300 user (United Kingdom)

my 3rd of the a 6000 range, the 6000 was good, the 6300 very good, the 6500 very good just got even better

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Performance

Body Only 08 July 2017 by Abewaffles (Singapore)

The viewfinder could perhaps be designed larger so users could reduce the strain on their eyes when looking through the already viewfinder. With respect to the body frame, perhaps it could be larger, on par to the a7series. The start-up timing was a little slow as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightning fast and feather light. Love it!

Body Only 08 July 2017 by EDO82 (Singapore)

I got this for travel and my back thanks me. I've always used full sized DSLRs before the a6500, but i'm not going back to full sized cameras again. This baby is half the weight, i can now bring double the number of lenses using my same bag, the AF is just as fast and the best part is that i came back from Spain with the most beautiful and vibrant pictures i'd ever taken. I believe this Sony has a lot to do with it. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice Features,is to operate

Body Only 30 June 2017 by rtesh (India)

Good Camera with Great Features, Easy to Handle at an affordable Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I haven't been able to format the SD Card.

Body Only 26 June 2017 by j8castro (USA)

I had Sony Before and they seemed simpler to use. I have yet to take a picture

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great upgrade - at a price!

Body Only 19 June 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade to a Sony A6300. Five axis stabilisation, an improved grip and a much improved menu system are all excellent. The new touch screen is of limited functionality but fulfills it's primary function of focus point selection admirably. This limitation reduced 5 stars to 4. There are improvements in video functionality. It was tough wading through less than adequate manuals (on-line) even as an experienced user of the A6300 but third party tutorials and blogs helped. Overall, as an upgrade, it is expensive, but more comparable with other systems if chosen "stand alone". Sony need to improve the manual in the same way they have improved the menu tree.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

I keep discovering new features

Body Only 18 June 2017 by Roberts12 (USA)

This little camera is amazing. I keep finding new features I didn't know existed and am thoroughly enjoying the camera. Its amazing what you can do with a box, some buttons, a sensor, a lens mount, and most of all, a computer with software! Not like the film cameras of old!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-6500 18 June 2017 by AJames (USA)

Fast focus, light and easy to use. I just mind blowing to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent APS-C Camera!!

Body Only 15 June 2017 by jlozano281 (USA)

This camera is the best mirrorless you can buy!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best speed monster camera

Body Only 09 June 2017 by Photon589 (Thailand)

I'm like it , Best Quality photo , small ,easy used. but APSC lens less choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little pocket rocket

ILCE-6500 08 June 2017 by Muflonizacija (USA)

I am a Nikon user and I wanted something small and compact that delivers a good video. I shoot weddings 95% of my time and I shoot video so I wanted to try something I can travel easy and something that is not super heavy like my Nikon cameras. Guys this camera is beast, built quality is amazing, 4K video crisp, low light amazing, lot better than one on my friends GH5. Autofocus fast and responsive. I am more than happy. I am using it with Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Only downside if you ask me is complicated menu, because I am used to Nikon simplicity and battery life is bad. Other than that it is a pocket rocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

a6500 delivers beyond expecations

ILCE-6500 05 June 2017 by SmileySpencer (USA)

Purchased the a6500 two months ago and cannot be more happy and impressed. I take a lot of sports photography (indoor and outdoor) and need the speed but weight also plays an important role. Moving over from Nikon and having early adopted the RX100 for casual compact needs I'm truly a Sony convert and raving fan. The images are beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It not so good.

Body Only 23 May 2017 by L_Mirror (Thailand)

- It has steady shot problem when shooting video. - It has rolling shutter problem when shooting video. Please fix it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 08 May 2017 by Edbay (United Kingdom)

I only use this camera for filming, the 4K quality is nuts! So so good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 05 May 2017  (United Kingdom)

Love the camera. It's quite easy to use and picture quality is amazing. I'm not an expert, but this camera makes me look like one :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a6500 review

Body Only 05 May 2017  (Thailand)

It works very well for both filming and photography I like the fact that I could connect with my phone and computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Several things you should know

Body Only 01 May 2017 by woodburger100 (USA)

I bought this because of the bad screen protector on my Nex-7. I tried to get it off to replace, but ruined the screen. Shouldn't have been necessary in the first place! WIFI is EXTREMELY cumbersome on the 6500!! Don't like Play Memories, and pics transferred to ipad look blurry (but were not so in camera.) Play Memories is awkward, trying to get shots into Photoshop not easy. Suspect typos in manual/guide.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

More features than I can count.

Body Only 29 April 2017 by wrk17 (USA)

Bought 1 week ago and 1000 pics later. Happy. Very Happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazed myself

Body Only 28 April 2017 by eunice (Singapore)

I was more accustomed with the RX100 Mk3 and Mk4, so getting the a6500 is a quantum leap for me. I went to my fav Sony retailer and said "I want a camera that can take photos of my children's dragon boat races and videos of their stage performances at the Esplanade/Victoria Concert Hall" and I was recommended the a6500. So far, I've been amazed myself with the photos and videos that I was able to take with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ace

Body Only 26 April 2017 by JJDD (United Kingdom)

Winner, lush, ace buy one, it is good, nice one, the best in category. Good camera, nice lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera in a small package

Body Only 24 April 2017 by P3NG (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago, and I am so very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Satisfied with the a6500 camera

Body Only 19 April 2017 by tomzb (Thailand)

I'm extremely satisfied with this product. Although I own several high-end Nikon DSRL cameras I love the colours of pictures taken with Sony cameras. The size of the camera is one of the biggest selling points and the fact that lenses can be changes was an important consideration when I opted for this product. I love both street and portrait photography and this camera enables me to pursuit my hobby. Note that the choice and quality of lens will eventually determine the finished product (the photograph) and with the Sony-Zeiss 24f /1.8 lens I'm able to produce quality pictures. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

4k good - IBIS (steadyshot) vibration issue

Body Only 18 April 2017 by MrFrankieP (Singapore)

pros - 4k cons - Steadyshot has vibration issue. A lot of people are complaining, yet they dont take action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XX6G-7_hPco https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spLREugtBzs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDn8GYyuK1U https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3jAq6t3YDM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPrCrJ8rJw4 DONT BUY! WASTE OF MONEY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

104

0

0

Complex menus but excellent viewfinder

Body Only 15 April 2017 by feelyjordan (United Kingdom)

Bought body only to replace a Sony NEX 6 camera and used for stock shooting using manual focus lenses ( The Sony standard zoom isn't great). Appears well built and the excellent EVF appears better than that on the NEX. I like being able to specify the focal length of the fitted lens so as to maximise the effect of the inbuilt image stabilisation, and the fact that auto ISO now comes with an adjustable minimum shutter speed. Negatives, very complex menu system, taking time to adjust from the much more simple NEX set up. I have simple needs, alway shoot raw mainly on aperture priority, sometimes fully manual, so don't need all of these choices.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Reason for purchasing

Body Only 04 April 2017 by David 747 (United Kingdom)

I replaced my Sony a6000 which I have enjoyed using extensively around the world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Leaks like a bucket

Body Only 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom)

At 3 days old a milky coffee was poured over it showing just how leaky it is. Battery compartment, Lens mount, even with a lens mounted, Hot shoe cover! Flash housing all allowed milk in. Just hope the professional clean works. 2nd issue is the tutorials need to be in insular blocks rather than per single menu item. 3rd issue is V1.0 firmware has Dodgy bugs so that after installing V1.2 the video recorded at V1.0 cannot be played back by the camera<Thats truely SAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Easy to use, small and many functions.

Body Only 24 March 2017 by Bancha (Thailand)

It is easy to use for taking photo and video, but for the photo it is too red color skin (not soft skin).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I regret this Purchase... really

Body Only 23 March 2017 by Cjallen (USA)

I must say, all the talk about this camera got me hyped up only to be let down in a big way. I have had this camera nearly two weeks now, and have tested it significantly in that amount of time. I have taken pictures at a recital, various social events, street shots, night time, beach portraits, senior pictures, marine shots, architecture shots, and several other distinct categories. The camera seems to miss focus roughly 20% of the time and will often suggest a completely blurred image is in focus… I have never had a camera do that. This camera seems to have absolutely no weather sealing either. Dust and sand can easily find its way into various parts of this camera which grinds and surely damages the body. For the record I use the Sony 18-105 F4 lens. It is rarely sharp and I am not impressed with this G Master lens. I will say it feels good in the hand and seems to be built well. The digital zoom ring is constantly lagging and frustrating to use. I bump the power zoom button often and that’s frustrating as well. Battery life is horrid… but I am sure everyone knew that already. One battery from my previous DSLR lasted the equivalent of about 4-5 of the 6500’s batteries. The camera strap must be made out of sand paper… but at least it exfoliates your neck when you use it. The camera strap also damages the eye cup…. very poor design when one aspect of the product damages another part. The dial used to set aperture is badly placed and is often hit as well. So as I am taking pictures, the aperture is at various openings. The camera also didn’t come with a stand alone charger for the battery… you have to plug the camera into an included 18 inch cord. How could that be any more annoying? The screen is also totally useless if you’re shooting outside. It is so dim and you will often tap it which will mess with the autofocus. Honestly, I regret buying this camera and I believe its worth less than half of the MSRP. I thought I would learn to love it, but I only find more and more ways that it was poorly designed and falls short of the competition.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

13

11

0

One of the most versatile cameras on the market

Body Only 20 March 2017 by Chetan (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from the A6300 and it definitely has been worth it! 1. The new deeper grip and the little extra weight has significantly enhanced the ergonomics of the camera. 2. The new additional customisable button is proving to be really useful. 3. IBIS is spectacular, a game-changer for photography. I am getting 4.5 stops of compensation with the unstabilised 24/1.8 and 55/1.8. 4. Touch to focus helps a lot when you quickly need to switch your focussing point. I only wish it had a faster write interface. Perhaps UHS-II or even xQD card compatibility.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Excellent features

Body Only 20 March 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an ILCE-6000 last month. The ILCE-6500 is a significant improvement: sensor noise is much reduced and I can easily shoot at ISO3200 without serious image impairment, the viewfinder/screen level is simple but very effective, the extra in-body stability is worthwhile and even though the normal shutter is considerably quieter than the ILCE-6000, having the silent shutter is brilliant for wildlife and for candid shots. The touchscreen is disappointing in use and the menu system is still difficult to use - extra manual dials for things like exposure compensation and drive settings would be better. This is an expensive camera body too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Astonishing Pictures

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Jordi2445 (USA)

I love the pictures, their definition, the great detail, the awesome effects I can make straight out of the camara... The bokeh effect, how I can play with all the focusing spots...incredible... The ease of use, compared to other brands Sony is very user friendly. But to this greatness I have found several disavantages: after a long shooting session, I have to reset the camara by taking the battery out to be able to power it again if it turns off, Sometimes the focusing goes beserk after a long shooting session... It is not compatible with all transreceivers, found out finally its compatible with PocketWizard...I have upgarded the OS, this improved the LEDs touch sensitivity, and some little quirks... overall a great camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

No more bulky APS-C DSLRs

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Kirubakaran (Singapore)

I have always adored the image quality from DSLRs. But the problem with those DSLRs are they are too big and heavy to be carried around. In that aspect i really enjoyed using a6500. Its small and compact even when mounted with a lens and the image quality from the camera is on par with APS-C DSLRs. You can find sufficient number of quality native lens to support all your needs. There are two drawbacks though. One is battery life which drains fast. May not last for a day if you are a heavy user. The next one would be the screen. U can't use it to navigate through menus, the touch function is only for selecting focus points and its visibility is poor when using it outside during daytime. Other than the above two drawbacks this camera meets my expectations when compared with similar APS-C DSLRs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Huge evolution from a6300.

Body Only 13 March 2017 by cryptoandbettablogspot (Singapore)

I traveling Malaysia and Indonesia tropical area with a6300 + SEL90M28G and a6500 + SEL70300G, HX300(for spare camera) All are small and light, satisfied with fine images just nice for nature photos and traveling. Waiting for coming new model Sony a7III ! .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent APS-C Mirrorless Camera

Body Only 12 March 2017 by Dipu (India)

I bought this camera a month ago, due to its small form factor. Currently I am using this camera to take portraits and product photos and I love it. I feel there are a few drawbacks those are compressed RAW file and touch pad responsiveness. Otherwise, I feel very comfortable with this camera size and its features. It would be great to have one additional front dial.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 11 March 2017 by pismo (United Kingdom)

If I could use only one word to describe it, it would be amazing. The only problem is that there is not an adequate user manual available from Sony. You can bypass it by purchasing one of the available third party books.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

Body Only 06 March 2017 by Nippit (United Kingdom)

I've owned and a6000 for a couple of years, so impressed but wished I could use my a mount lenses from my dSLR. The a6500 is a technological leap above the a6000 and the steady shot inside now allows (with the required mount) me to use my non emount lenses and still keep the steady shot proved by the a mount cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Almost a perfect APS-C camera

Body Only 04 March 2017 by Saunwild (India)

I am happy with the camera. 5-axis is amazing, 4k recording is incredible, eye-autofoucs is beautiful, subjecting tracking AF is good. I have only one complaint. There are no sharp aps-c lenses for the camera. There is no 17-50/2.8 fast lens, even in prime lens category, Sigma lenses are sharper. It is so sad to hear from people that they have been waiting for the time when Sigma would launch new e-mount lenses. Sony surely fails here and yet I am Sony boy. Come on, create some sharp lenses for aps-c E mount users.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Camera

Body Only 01 March 2017 by Nardeep (India)

Best Product of Sony Best for video and photos... Quality is the Best of Sony 6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big step up from A6000

Body Only 25 February 2017 by sgkoala (Singapore)

Was already happy with A6000 but wanted even better... the features that attracted me are: 1. IBIS - helps a lot for my unstabilised lenses (24/1.8, Samyang 12/2, and A-mount lenses) 2. Fast AF with A-mount SSM lenses (I already had Sigma 50-150/2.8 and Sony 70-300F and picked up a Sony 16-50/2.8) 3. Silent shutter, I love this feature to avoid disturbing other people. 4. EVF is much higher quality. 5. High ISO is improved especially less greenish hue when boosting shadows. 6. AF in Focus Magnifier is useful for precise focussing 7. Two additional custom buttons is great. On A6000 I assigned Eye AF, AF Area and AF type. I use the additional 2 buttons for Zoom (when in video or JPG) and Focus Mag. 8. 4K video. Stills captured from 4K video are of very high quality too. 9. Better Auto ISO implementation e.g. "Slow", "Slower" options make aperture priority mode more useful. 10. Touch screen for focus point selection. The best part is Sony kept the camera incredible compact, almost exact same size as the A6000, and it fits nicely with 1 lens (such as 16-70/4, 24/1.8 or 10-18/4) in the tiny LCS-BBF bag that I can take everywhere with me. Overall it feels like a polished product. In terms of room for improvement I would say the touch screen may not be the best as these days customers expect smartphone type gestures and responsiveness, but the touch screen can still come in handy at times. Also, it would be nice if the Clear Image Zoom could work with Raw instead of being limited to JPG only, and furthermore when in Clear Image Zoom you cannot specify the focus point and this is a curious limitation considering that AF now works in Focus Magnified view.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Brilliant Camera

Body Only 23 February 2017 by DAGPAG (United Kingdom)

I sold my Canon and bought this and what a difference it has made to my photography. I was always an "auto" photographer, but this camera has given me the confidence to go fully manual and it's so easy to do. Love the autofocus and face recognition. I also do a lot of video work and had to carry two cameras around, but not anymore. The $K images are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Lightweight and great features

Body Only 23 February 2017 by wannaBphotographer (USA)

Going from a Canon Rebel xTI to this is going to take some getting used to. This is so lightweight and compact and the pictures are amazing. It's an all around camera due to the video ability which my old Canon did not have. I'm so used to having my iPhone I stopped carrying a camera, now with the a6500, it will be my new companion. A tad bit too pricey in my opinion because I am not sure it can honestly compete with a true professional camera that has better quality features in the same price range. Having a feature for just "My Customizable's" or something to that would be great under the function, which needs some organization. I purchased the a6000 model the day before and it stopped working after reading reviews, I decided when I returned the camera I would might upgrade to the 6300, I wanted the a6300 but was told it was being pulled completely and the store I purchased my camera from no longer was stocking them, that's when I actually made the decision to 'dig deeper' and get the a6500. The weather 'resistance' and upgraded features over the 6000 & 6300 was a seller but the cost was not. I also purchased Sony's E mount E30mm/F3.5 Macro lens and Sony's Handicam Cyber-Shot flash along with a UV filter and Polarized filter. Forgot the stupid spare battery! Haven't figured out how to change the camera from 60fps to 120fps - just read that on a review but they did not explain how do it. Purchased on 2/22/17 .. going to do my first actual pictures today 2/23 of my grandson...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great complement to A7R2

Body Only 21 February 2017 by Photoguy525 (USA)

Sony's mirrorless line is fantastic! Very pleased with the lenses and functionality of the mirrorless line.

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera! Great feature!

Body Only 21 February 2017  (Singapore)

power full APSC mirrorless camera! Great feature for my videography job! you won't regret to bought it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera, complex menus

Body Only 15 February 2017 by Stewart62 (United Kingdom)

This was an upgrade to my Sony NEX 5, and was a great choice. The camera gives good results, although the menu is quite complex and I am still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Consume too much battery. Nevertheless, it's great

Body Only 14 February 2017 by FreitagSG (Singapore)

The camera is quick, allows me to take sharp action shots. Works well in the night too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Choice

Body Only 08 February 2017 by Suga (Singapore)

I would like to work in a unique way. So, I just planned to buy a Sony a 6500. For that result really Amazing. Speechless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

amazing camera terrible battery life.

Body Only 02 February 2017 by jsv598 (USA)

This camera is amazing! the features and design are best in class but the only reason i couldn't give it 5 stars in the terrible battery life. Sony should have included another battery instead of making you buy another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best crop cam out there....needs some fixes 88/100

Body Only 25 January 2017 by Jimmy7777 (USA)

great pictures....amazing 4k vid. dial wheel on rear needs improvement and firming up but its a great cam for the price....next.....A7rii ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

2

0

So far so good

Body Only 25 January 2017 by soulforsoup (Singapore)

Love the camera and it's features. Coming from a Canon 600D, the a6500 has been a blast using it and my clients have really enjoyed the clarity that comes from the downsampled 6k footage. However, I am still quite bothered by the overheating issue as this camera tends to get hot when shooting 4K video. It hasn't shut down on me so far, but the fear is still there. Also the menus are really convoluted and takes a bit of getting used to. Overall a good product if you can get over the menu and 4K overheating. If you're not using this camera for 4K, you'll find it an almost perfect mirror less system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore)

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

My best camera ever

Body Only 20 January 2017 by Anhow (United Kingdom)

This camera is a pleasure to use, it's given my photography a new lease of life, I can take it anywhere in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Very good general purpose camera

Body Only 17 January 2017 by Scot38 (United Kingdom)

After limited use I can say that this is a very good camera. I use it as camera for carrying around and only use it with the f4 16 70 mm lens. This makes a very good combination that will produce excellent images in most situations. A f2.8 16 50mm lens would be a useful addition to the range of legal ses available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

awesome for beginners like me

Body Only 13 January 2017 by Ameenoasid (Singapore)

Bought the camera for 2 weeks already and i can tell im gonna use this camera alot! The features are so intense and the quality (for me) is already good enough to take professional looking photos and videos. The features need some time to get use to but with online tutorial which can found on youtube, you can easily learn by yourself on the different settings for the camera. Although, some might not agree with me that this is the best camera for them but hey, nothing is perfect. So far there has been nothing but positive reviews that I have seen online, be it on youtube or facebook or any sort of that. The best thing that you need to know also is that the over-heating problem has been solved (i think). And I know this because there has been a few video test of the a6500 on youtube about this. Truthfully, I prefer that sony has made the camera's monitor to flip out to the side or upwards, so that at least if you are doing a vlog or capturing a video of yourself from the front, you know that you are in focus and in correct exposure. Also, Im not sure why but this sony camera doesnt come with a kit lens bundle. At least for me in my country. When I enquire to the sony staff, they said that sony doesnt have the kit lens sold seperately for the A6500. Due to this 2 issues, this is why I rate 4 stars instead of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Lightweight APS-C Flagship Camera

Body Only 10 January 2017 by Yew99 (Singapore)

Excellent image quality and very fast autofocus but lack of 1/8000 mechanical shutter speed which other competitors are offering right now. Physical built is good to handle, will be perfect if the camera is weight centered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

Body Only 02 January 2017 by tondhoosh (USA)

great 4k quality and good stabilizer and also sensitive iso

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

6

0

A real step up

Body Only 01 January 2017 by Boatman83 (Singapore)

I've been using the a6000 series for 2 years, from a6000 to a6300 and now the a6500. This is in addition to the previous full frame dslr that I've used. Let me tell you, this a6500 really feels like a solid workhorse. You can read the specs for yourself but in addition to that, I am confident that people can make money or win awards using this cam. From its handling to its usability and to its image quality (that's on par with full frame pics), you basically have a pro camera for a reasonable price. Yes, no cam is perfect and people may point out that it's apsc and looks small etc. But that's the beauty, you cannot find any other interchangeable lens camera that can beat it's power/results to weight/size ratio. What I'm paying for here is the ability to easily bring along with me a compact pro-level cam and photograph everyday. Literally everyday. And that's simply just remarkable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A very worthwhile upgrade.

Body Only 28 December 2016 by SteveL1 (United Kingdom)

As an owner of previous Sony cameras and lenses, some non stabilised, some 'A' mount, I've been looking forward to the stabilisation feature and the touch screen focusing. They work very well and make this a camera I expect to last me for some years. Well done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Sony did us proud again

Body Only 22 December 2016 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Although the same sensor, the Image quality vastly improved from the 6300, because of LSI, imfo takes  a short cut and uses copper wire. 5 axis works well down to a 15th sec.  Buffer will hold over 100 RAW images in continuous burst cannot be viewed instantly but they are in the camera. AF covers almost entire screen 425 focus points. Tracker and focus quicker than the 6300. I can not see any black out at high shutter speeds. When Eye focus will not work with Some animals, the touch screen is fantastic. I have tested it at different ISO settings, as with all cameras low ISO is worth trying to achieve. High Iso, eg 3200 is still usable.   My thought on video, it is better than the A7R MK2. The sensor size and megapixels are not relevant. But in the 18months between cameras the technology has moved on. eg LSI etc

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

6

0

great pics it takes

Body Only 02 December 2016 by trebie2 (USA)

it is a great camera ibis works and the low light pics are good

20

41