Skip to Content
88

4.4 based on 88 customer reviews

50
31
4
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore)

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

90 Customer Reviews

0

Just perfect

ILCE-6500 19 November 2017 by dev84 (USA)

It would take a lot of time for me to explain why this camera is perfect. I had nex-5n, a500, a5100, a6000 and now a6500. With this new model all shortcomings of earlier models are addressed. For example with a6500 you can manually (with one press of customized button) switch from viewfinder to lcd screen and proximity sensor turns on and off the viewfinder when it's selected, this way it's possible to have camera turned on with screen and viewfinder off. This was not possible in a6000, it was possible only to turn off the screen but the back light was always on. There is a lot of small and big modifications in a6500, it's a very high quality professional product - You can't go wrong with it! I use mine with selp18105g which is very nicely balanced with the camera, and a perfect fit to hold in hands while using it. Thx dev

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19 November 2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom)

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great form-factor but disappointing

ILCE-6500 16 November 2017 by wrw627cinti (USA)

Several things exacerbate my dislike for the camera, e.g. 1. Deplorable battery life; just not big enough for all the things requiring juice; start-up lag time is a couple of seconds. 2. Fiddley little controls are ruff for old shakey fingers: the way some function suddenly doesn't work is often an inadvertent button-push that toggles an unwanted function 3. Rear LCD screen is impossible to read in strong sunlight - thereby hindering access to menus and adjustments like exposure comp! 4. Focus points should be accessible by touching rear screen, but that means they are reset to some corner by your cheek unless you lock them to, for instance, the center position. Focus point indicators very hard to see in bright sunlight; focusing via the contrast-detection is slow and fails more than in my Canon...an 8 year old technology! Phase detection focusing is only available IF you use the big A-mount lenses with an adapter!!! 5. Lens zoom ring and focus ring are virtually touching each other...easily mistaken if trying to touch-up focus; also, compared to every other ILC camera I've owned, mounting the lens to body feels "scratchy" and harsh - not precise. 6. Removal of SD card impaired by door only opening 90°: a finger nail buster. 7. In spite of largish APS-C sensor, the noise at even 800 DIN is noticeable. Stuff I've read says the new BSI (backside illuminated) sensors are the way of the future as they greatly reduce noise at high sensitivity. But, of course, that's another drain on the pathetic battery.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Simply the best

Body Only 13 November 2017 by Sonyboy 42 (United Kingdom)

Having had the experience of large dslr’s and struggling with the weight and awkwardness I invested in the original Sony e series cameras and lenses and progressed to the current A6500 and what a pleasure it is to handle and use, not heavy or awkward, quality is excellent and a joy to use, quite simply the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body Only 12 November 2017 by ELam (United Kingdom)

I am happy with all the feature from A6500 and is compatible with all my Sony E-mount lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just keep getting better and better

Body Only 11 November 2017 by Elliott C (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony cameras for a while now and I have recently acquired the a6500 and what can I say another great quality camera. I am still learning about the. Camera but so far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

Body Only 06 November 2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I traded in my A6300 for it and it has lived up to my expectations. A very good camera. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile basis for system

Body Only 05 November 2017 by Mike565 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6500 as an addition to my a6000. There are two main advantages which it has over the a6000, IBIS and the ability to tag photos with GPS data. The in-body image stabilisation means I can get great results from all my old Minolta lenses. I have tried GPS tagging before, with a phone app that needs clock synchronisation between the phone and camera, and then using Lightroom to complete the process. The Sony app works by connecting the phone and camera when you switch on the camera, and the phone sends the GPS data to the camera when you take a photo, all via Bluetooth. Very simple, and works every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Camera in APS-C sensor series

Body Only 04 November 2017 by mitul1112 (India)

I bought 7-8 months ago. The a6500 is Great. Amazing Clarity. Good looking photographs too. Good work in low light too. We Do full wedding only on this camera. such a god gift. The 5-axis gimbal is a best dashing thing in this camera. Now we don't need "mono-pod" for this camera. Superb picture Quality. It is amazing Gadget.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good

ILCE-6500 09 October 2017 by chopin864 (USA)

a very good camera. i wish the touchscreen will be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Near perfect ‘Go Anywhere’ camera!

Body Only 09 October 2017 by Injun (United Kingdom)

A6500 was bought as a replacement or upgrade to my A6000, particularly for its features: improved sensor, 5-axis ISS, touch screen and better ergonomics. Indeed, A6500 has not disappointed me! Majority of my praises will already have been published .... so I would like to focus on couple ‘mods’ Sony should make via the next Firmware Update: 1. Ability to switch-off ‘Touch Screen’ option or make it a Custom Option. 2. Electronic Level display should larger and brighter. 3. Display short explanation of menu selection/option (see or similar to Panasonic LX100 system). Otherwise, A6500 is an excellent (near perfect) camera and I would highly recommend to any photographer either upgrading or from new.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the camera

Body Only 23 September 2017 by N8ty (USA)

I have very much enjoyed playing around with the camera. It has great colors and even tone. The biggest thing is that I don’t like the light meter as much seems to underexpose, so I had to adjust the metering modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This little buddy have all!

ILCE-6500 22 September 2017 by StoykoLY (USA)

This little buddy have all what I need for video and photo needs. Compact body, in camera stabilization, big sensor with 24MP, full sensor read 6K for 4K movie recording, slow motion, S-Log, Incredible auto focus, amazing low light performance and so many other things! I stop here because is to many things that I like :) p.s. For users who talk of poor battery live: I adapt 5200mAh battery for hot shoe mount and because camera allow usb charge I can shoot all day :) For overheat problem I test camera with 4K plus activated auto focus,WiFi, Bluetooth, External battery plus internal attached and write 32GB SD cart on one file with NO PROBLEM on 30 degrees Celsius.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first & its just wow.!

Body Only 21 September 2017  (India)

I bought it 2 weeks ago. I've done 2 commercial shoots after than. Its giving fabulous work. Its 120fps giving smooth nd superb slow motion. 4k is amazing. Records good sound. Easy to carry. Just loved it..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great little package

Body Only 19 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom)

Excellent AF and IQ. Handy in the pocket and works well with E and FE lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Flagship camera

Body Only 10 September 2017  (India)

The camera is an engineering exposition. In the minimal design is packed extensive hardware. It is the only aps-c camera to have ibis with which Sony OSS lenses receive an extra stabilization. Further there is 3xis stabilization with manual lenses. The sensor has been optimized and as a hybrid camera one of the best in this range. The touch features are useful both for manual focus and autofocus. The only one drawback is the screen going dim while shooting 4k. The other very useful feature is clear zoom which increases the focal range of the lenses. Sony has also updated the firmware and there is an increment in stabilization.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Lots of different features and options.

Body Only 04 September 2017 by Steve_t (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of its size since I was going on holiday to China and didn't want to carry my Sony a77 and lenses because they are too heavy.. The standard selp1650 lens is very good wide open and zoomed out (landscapes and quality holiday snaps) but not particularly good for portraits. More apsc portrait lens options would be appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact with very high quality images

Body Only 27 August 2017 by Hariseldon (United Kingdom)

A recent purchase and overall very good. Compact size with sensor quality very close to full frame. I purchased with 16-70 f4 Zeiss Sony lens and find this to produce high quality images, good low light performance and the lens is compact with an equivalent 24-105mm in full frame terms, focus acquisition is very good, quick and consistent, tracking is pretty good. Previous full frame cameras have been Nikon D4, D810 and Leica M240 and the overall image quality is in the same ball park with a lens camera combination dramatically lighter and more compact. Clearly slower lens and the APS C sensor reduces the out of focus element available but the smaller lens is adequate in this area with attractive broken at the longer end of the focal length range.. Very highly featured camera, easy to ignore these but in fact the anti motion blur trick of combining four frames really does work incredibly well as an example, other features I didn't think I would use are pretty good. Highly customisable which makes for a potentially steep learning curve, fairly complex menu structure but the camera gives great images out of the box and one can take full advantage of the extra features , customisation etc in a slower manner, as you develop experience with the camera. Viewfinder is very good , screen is clear but not 100% in very bright conditions, touch screen for focus works well, even when using the camera at eye level. I previously had an Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40 lens ( equiv 24-80mm) alongside my bigger full frame cameras but it was actually heavier than this combination and the quality was markedly lower than the full frame cameras, relatively poor high ISO and significantly less dynamic range whilst this camera provides great images in the same ball park as the full frame cameras. The free Capture One software is very good and the heavily discounted PRO version is a true bargain , I did not expect it to be so good and I am a convert now from the Lightroom subscription package. Overall very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera with some design flaws

ILCE-6500 24 August 2017 by SKiD12 (USA)

I am satisfied with picture quality and autofocus. What bothers me is dimming of the display (camera display is unusable in sunny weather) and lower quality of 1080/50p than on old A6000. I would also appreciate custom menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Video Camera!

ILCE-6500 21 August 2017 by Stef929292 (USA)

The A6500 Is a great all around video camera, your able to use it as a B-Roll camera, a main camera, or anything you need it for. It doesn't over heat when you record for prolonged periods in 4K. I absolutely love this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

Body Only 18 August 2017 by kam6140 (United Kingdom)

very good image quality an the best autofocus camera ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Peeking & zebra tools & EVF

Body Only 11 August 2017 by vhraut (India)

Sony has given classic tool of peeking & zebra, manual focus & exposure are now easier. EVF is fantastic. Whether sealed is good., my wish list, menu choice to keep viewfinder permanent on or atleast a delay.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lots of features, crummy WiFi app

Body Only 10 August 2017 by KJMaui4064 (USA)

Bought to improve the quality of my travel pix - landscapes demand more detailed images than I get from pocketable cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love this camera

Body Only 07 August 2017 by Bird Man (USA)

I upgraded from the a6000 to this a6500. Loved the a6000 but really love this a6500. The focus is faster and tack on most of the time compared to the older version and way better than my old Nikon. I shoot wildlife mostly birds. I purchased the 70/300 G lens for it which to my understanding brings it up to a 450mm on the smaller formate. Have taken some great photos of peregrine falcons flying and diving. Can't get a faster critter than that to photograph and the focus does an amazing job. Would like to see Sony make more long range telephoto lenses that will work with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 27 July 2017 by jh28 (United Kingdom)

I recently took this camera to Kew Gardens in London and it performed very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great but limited features

Body Only 23 July 2017 by DrEk (Thailand)

Great for photo but not that great for video. Cannot use eye-auto focus in video mode, image stabilization is good but cannot walking shooting video, etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very fine body, frustrating interface.

Body Only 23 July 2017  (United Kingdom)

The actual camera is excellent - very high quality captures in all lights, and the actual photo-taking is generally easy to do. Some useful settings including one to take 3 photos in rapid succession, with an f-stop up and down on either side of that set. However the overall interface, like most Sony cameras, is horrendously difficult to negotiate, and the fact that the touch-screen only allows touching to select focus point rather than options within menus is a trick missed. Hopefully some of these criticisms will be addressed in software updates - the hardware is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Slog

Body Only 19 July 2017 by Nonny (Thailand)

Many Thai users have problem with the stablilizer of alpha6500 after VDO shooting. And Sony Thailand even Japan can't fix that problem. - no headphone input

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 17 July 2017 by macman2 (United Kingdom)

As a migrant from the DSLR world, this camera has everything that I moved formats for. Small size, features to compete and beat the best Canon and Nikon have to offer. Truly brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing light weight camera

Body Only 16 July 2017 by a6300 user (United Kingdom)

my 3rd of the a 6000 range, the 6000 was good, the 6300 very good, the 6500 very good just got even better

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Performance

Body Only 08 July 2017 by Abewaffles (Singapore)

The viewfinder could perhaps be designed larger so users could reduce the strain on their eyes when looking through the already viewfinder. With respect to the body frame, perhaps it could be larger, on par to the a7series. The start-up timing was a little slow as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightning fast and feather light. Love it!

Body Only 08 July 2017 by EDO82 (Singapore)

I got this for travel and my back thanks me. I've always used full sized DSLRs before the a6500, but i'm not going back to full sized cameras again. This baby is half the weight, i can now bring double the number of lenses using my same bag, the AF is just as fast and the best part is that i came back from Spain with the most beautiful and vibrant pictures i'd ever taken. I believe this Sony has a lot to do with it. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice Features,is to operate

Body Only 30 June 2017 by rtesh (India)

Good Camera with Great Features, Easy to Handle at an affordable Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I haven't been able to format the SD Card.

Body Only 26 June 2017 by j8castro (USA)

I had Sony Before and they seemed simpler to use. I have yet to take a picture

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great upgrade - at a price!

Body Only 19 June 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade to a Sony A6300. Five axis stabilisation, an improved grip and a much improved menu system are all excellent. The new touch screen is of limited functionality but fulfills it's primary function of focus point selection admirably. This limitation reduced 5 stars to 4. There are improvements in video functionality. It was tough wading through less than adequate manuals (on-line) even as an experienced user of the A6300 but third party tutorials and blogs helped. Overall, as an upgrade, it is expensive, but more comparable with other systems if chosen "stand alone". Sony need to improve the manual in the same way they have improved the menu tree.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

I keep discovering new features

Body Only 18 June 2017 by Roberts12 (USA)

This little camera is amazing. I keep finding new features I didn't know existed and am thoroughly enjoying the camera. Its amazing what you can do with a box, some buttons, a sensor, a lens mount, and most of all, a computer with software! Not like the film cameras of old!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-6500 18 June 2017 by AJames (USA)

Fast focus, light and easy to use. I just mind blowing to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent APS-C Camera!!

Body Only 15 June 2017 by jlozano281 (USA)

This camera is the best mirrorless you can buy!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best speed monster camera

Body Only 09 June 2017 by Photon589 (Thailand)

I'm like it , Best Quality photo , small ,easy used. but APSC lens less choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little pocket rocket

ILCE-6500 08 June 2017 by Muflonizacija (USA)

I am a Nikon user and I wanted something small and compact that delivers a good video. I shoot weddings 95% of my time and I shoot video so I wanted to try something I can travel easy and something that is not super heavy like my Nikon cameras. Guys this camera is beast, built quality is amazing, 4K video crisp, low light amazing, lot better than one on my friends GH5. Autofocus fast and responsive. I am more than happy. I am using it with Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Only downside if you ask me is complicated menu, because I am used to Nikon simplicity and battery life is bad. Other than that it is a pocket rocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

a6500 delivers beyond expecations

ILCE-6500 05 June 2017 by SmileySpencer (USA)

Purchased the a6500 two months ago and cannot be more happy and impressed. I take a lot of sports photography (indoor and outdoor) and need the speed but weight also plays an important role. Moving over from Nikon and having early adopted the RX100 for casual compact needs I'm truly a Sony convert and raving fan. The images are beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It not so good.

Body Only 23 May 2017 by L_Mirror (Thailand)

- It has steady shot problem when shooting video. - It has rolling shutter problem when shooting video. Please fix it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 08 May 2017 by Edbay (United Kingdom)

I only use this camera for filming, the 4K quality is nuts! So so good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 05 May 2017  (United Kingdom)

Love the camera. It's quite easy to use and picture quality is amazing. I'm not an expert, but this camera makes me look like one :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a6500 review

Body Only 05 May 2017  (Thailand)

It works very well for both filming and photography I like the fact that I could connect with my phone and computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Several things you should know

Body Only 01 May 2017 by woodburger100 (USA)

I bought this because of the bad screen protector on my Nex-7. I tried to get it off to replace, but ruined the screen. Shouldn't have been necessary in the first place! WIFI is EXTREMELY cumbersome on the 6500!! Don't like Play Memories, and pics transferred to ipad look blurry (but were not so in camera.) Play Memories is awkward, trying to get shots into Photoshop not easy. Suspect typos in manual/guide.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

More features than I can count.

Body Only 29 April 2017 by wrk17 (USA)

Bought 1 week ago and 1000 pics later. Happy. Very Happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazed myself

Body Only 28 April 2017 by eunice (Singapore)

I was more accustomed with the RX100 Mk3 and Mk4, so getting the a6500 is a quantum leap for me. I went to my fav Sony retailer and said "I want a camera that can take photos of my children's dragon boat races and videos of their stage performances at the Esplanade/Victoria Concert Hall" and I was recommended the a6500. So far, I've been amazed myself with the photos and videos that I was able to take with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ace

Body Only 26 April 2017 by JJDD (United Kingdom)

Winner, lush, ace buy one, it is good, nice one, the best in category. Good camera, nice lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera in a small package

Body Only 24 April 2017 by P3NG (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago, and I am so very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Satisfied with the a6500 camera

Body Only 19 April 2017 by tomzb (Thailand)

I'm extremely satisfied with this product. Although I own several high-end Nikon DSRL cameras I love the colours of pictures taken with Sony cameras. The size of the camera is one of the biggest selling points and the fact that lenses can be changes was an important consideration when I opted for this product. I love both street and portrait photography and this camera enables me to pursuit my hobby. Note that the choice and quality of lens will eventually determine the finished product (the photograph) and with the Sony-Zeiss 24f /1.8 lens I'm able to produce quality pictures. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

4k good - IBIS (steadyshot) vibration issue

Body Only 18 April 2017 by MrFrankieP (Singapore)

pros - 4k cons - Steadyshot has vibration issue. A lot of people are complaining, yet they dont take action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XX6G-7_hPco https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spLREugtBzs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDn8GYyuK1U https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3jAq6t3YDM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPrCrJ8rJw4 DONT BUY! WASTE OF MONEY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

105

1

0

Complex menus but excellent viewfinder

Body Only 15 April 2017 by feelyjordan (United Kingdom)

Bought body only to replace a Sony NEX 6 camera and used for stock shooting using manual focus lenses ( The Sony standard zoom isn't great). Appears well built and the excellent EVF appears better than that on the NEX. I like being able to specify the focal length of the fitted lens so as to maximise the effect of the inbuilt image stabilisation, and the fact that auto ISO now comes with an adjustable minimum shutter speed. Negatives, very complex menu system, taking time to adjust from the much more simple NEX set up. I have simple needs, alway shoot raw mainly on aperture priority, sometimes fully manual, so don't need all of these choices.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Reason for purchasing

Body Only 04 April 2017 by David 747 (United Kingdom)

I replaced my Sony a6000 which I have enjoyed using extensively around the world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Leaks like a bucket

Body Only 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom)

At 3 days old a milky coffee was poured over it showing just how leaky it is. Battery compartment, Lens mount, even with a lens mounted, Hot shoe cover! Flash housing all allowed milk in. Just hope the professional clean works. 2nd issue is the tutorials need to be in insular blocks rather than per single menu item. 3rd issue is V1.0 firmware has Dodgy bugs so that after installing V1.2 the video recorded at V1.0 cannot be played back by the camera<Thats truely SAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Easy to use, small and many functions.

Body Only 24 March 2017 by Bancha (Thailand)

It is easy to use for taking photo and video, but for the photo it is too red color skin (not soft skin).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I regret this Purchase... really

Body Only 23 March 2017 by Cjallen (USA)

I must say, all the talk about this camera got me hyped up only to be let down in a big way. I have had this camera nearly two weeks now, and have tested it significantly in that amount of time. I have taken pictures at a recital, various social events, street shots, night time, beach portraits, senior pictures, marine shots, architecture shots, and several other distinct categories. The camera seems to miss focus roughly 20% of the time and will often suggest a completely blurred image is in focus… I have never had a camera do that. This camera seems to have absolutely no weather sealing either. Dust and sand can easily find its way into various parts of this camera which grinds and surely damages the body. For the record I use the Sony 18-105 F4 lens. It is rarely sharp and I am not impressed with this G Master lens. I will say it feels good in the hand and seems to be built well. The digital zoom ring is constantly lagging and frustrating to use. I bump the power zoom button often and that’s frustrating as well. Battery life is horrid… but I am sure everyone knew that already. One battery from my previous DSLR lasted the equivalent of about 4-5 of the 6500’s batteries. The camera strap must be made out of sand paper… but at least it exfoliates your neck when you use it. The camera strap also damages the eye cup…. very poor design when one aspect of the product damages another part. The dial used to set aperture is badly placed and is often hit as well. So as I am taking pictures, the aperture is at various openings. The camera also didn’t come with a stand alone charger for the battery… you have to plug the camera into an included 18 inch cord. How could that be any more annoying? The screen is also totally useless if you’re shooting outside. It is so dim and you will often tap it which will mess with the autofocus. Honestly, I regret buying this camera and I believe its worth less than half of the MSRP. I thought I would learn to love it, but I only find more and more ways that it was poorly designed and falls short of the competition.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

15

13

0

One of the most versatile cameras on the market

Body Only 20 March 2017 by Chetan (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from the A6300 and it definitely has been worth it! 1. The new deeper grip and the little extra weight has significantly enhanced the ergonomics of the camera. 2. The new additional customisable button is proving to be really useful. 3. IBIS is spectacular, a game-changer for photography. I am getting 4.5 stops of compensation with the unstabilised 24/1.8 and 55/1.8. 4. Touch to focus helps a lot when you quickly need to switch your focussing point. I only wish it had a faster write interface. Perhaps UHS-II or even xQD card compatibility.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Excellent features

Body Only 20 March 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an ILCE-6000 last month. The ILCE-6500 is a significant improvement: sensor noise is much reduced and I can easily shoot at ISO3200 without serious image impairment, the viewfinder/screen level is simple but very effective, the extra in-body stability is worthwhile and even though the normal shutter is considerably quieter than the ILCE-6000, having the silent shutter is brilliant for wildlife and for candid shots. The touchscreen is disappointing in use and the menu system is still difficult to use - extra manual dials for things like exposure compensation and drive settings would be better. This is an expensive camera body too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Astonishing Pictures

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Jordi2445 (USA)

I love the pictures, their definition, the great detail, the awesome effects I can make straight out of the camara... The bokeh effect, how I can play with all the focusing spots...incredible... The ease of use, compared to other brands Sony is very user friendly. But to this greatness I have found several disavantages: after a long shooting session, I have to reset the camara by taking the battery out to be able to power it again if it turns off, Sometimes the focusing goes beserk after a long shooting session... It is not compatible with all transreceivers, found out finally its compatible with PocketWizard...I have upgarded the OS, this improved the LEDs touch sensitivity, and some little quirks... overall a great camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

No more bulky APS-C DSLRs

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Kirubakaran (Singapore)

I have always adored the image quality from DSLRs. But the problem with those DSLRs are they are too big and heavy to be carried around. In that aspect i really enjoyed using a6500. Its small and compact even when mounted with a lens and the image quality from the camera is on par with APS-C DSLRs. You can find sufficient number of quality native lens to support all your needs. There are two drawbacks though. One is battery life which drains fast. May not last for a day if you are a heavy user. The next one would be the screen. U can't use it to navigate through menus, the touch function is only for selecting focus points and its visibility is poor when using it outside during daytime. Other than the above two drawbacks this camera meets my expectations when compared with similar APS-C DSLRs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Huge evolution from a6300.

Body Only 13 March 2017 by cryptoandbettablogspot (Singapore)

I traveling Malaysia and Indonesia tropical area with a6300 + SEL90M28G and a6500 + SEL70300G, HX300(for spare camera) All are small and light, satisfied with fine images just nice for nature photos and traveling. Waiting for coming new model Sony a7III ! .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent APS-C Mirrorless Camera

Body Only 12 March 2017 by Dipu (India)

I bought this camera a month ago, due to its small form factor. Currently I am using this camera to take portraits and product photos and I love it. I feel there are a few drawbacks those are compressed RAW file and touch pad responsiveness. Otherwise, I feel very comfortable with this camera size and its features. It would be great to have one additional front dial.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 11 March 2017 by pismo (United Kingdom)

If I could use only one word to describe it, it would be amazing. The only problem is that there is not an adequate user manual available from Sony. You can bypass it by purchasing one of the available third party books.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent product

Body Only 06 March 2017 by Nippit (United Kingdom)

I've owned and a6000 for a couple of years, so impressed but wished I could use my a mount lenses from my dSLR. The a6500 is a technological leap above the a6000 and the steady shot inside now allows (with the required mount) me to use my non emount lenses and still keep the steady shot proved by the a mount cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Almost a perfect APS-C camera

Body Only 04 March 2017 by Saunwild (India)

I am happy with the camera. 5-axis is amazing, 4k recording is incredible, eye-autofoucs is beautiful, subjecting tracking AF is good. I have only one complaint. There are no sharp aps-c lenses for the camera. There is no 17-50/2.8 fast lens, even in prime lens category, Sigma lenses are sharper. It is so sad to hear from people that they have been waiting for the time when Sigma would launch new e-mount lenses. Sony surely fails here and yet I am Sony boy. Come on, create some sharp lenses for aps-c E mount users.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Camera

Body Only 01 March 2017 by Nardeep (India)

Best Product of Sony Best for video and photos... Quality is the Best of Sony 6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big step up from A6000

Body Only 25 February 2017 by sgkoala (Singapore)

Was already happy with A6000 but wanted even better... the features that attracted me are: 1. IBIS - helps a lot for my unstabilised lenses (24/1.8, Samyang 12/2, and A-mount lenses) 2. Fast AF with A-mount SSM lenses (I already had Sigma 50-150/2.8 and Sony 70-300F and picked up a Sony 16-50/2.8) 3. Silent shutter, I love this feature to avoid disturbing other people. 4. EVF is much higher quality. 5. High ISO is improved especially less greenish hue when boosting shadows. 6. AF in Focus Magnifier is useful for precise focussing 7. Two additional custom buttons is great. On A6000 I assigned Eye AF, AF Area and AF type. I use the additional 2 buttons for Zoom (when in video or JPG) and Focus Mag. 8. 4K video. Stills captured from 4K video are of very high quality too. 9. Better Auto ISO implementation e.g. "Slow", "Slower" options make aperture priority mode more useful. 10. Touch screen for focus point selection. The best part is Sony kept the camera incredible compact, almost exact same size as the A6000, and it fits nicely with 1 lens (such as 16-70/4, 24/1.8 or 10-18/4) in the tiny LCS-BBF bag that I can take everywhere with me. Overall it feels like a polished product. In terms of room for improvement I would say the touch screen may not be the best as these days customers expect smartphone type gestures and responsiveness, but the touch screen can still come in handy at times. Also, it would be nice if the Clear Image Zoom could work with Raw instead of being limited to JPG only, and furthermore when in Clear Image Zoom you cannot specify the focus point and this is a curious limitation considering that AF now works in Focus Magnified view.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Brilliant Camera

Body Only 23 February 2017 by DAGPAG (United Kingdom)

I sold my Canon and bought this and what a difference it has made to my photography. I was always an "auto" photographer, but this camera has given me the confidence to go fully manual and it's so easy to do. Love the autofocus and face recognition. I also do a lot of video work and had to carry two cameras around, but not anymore. The $K images are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Lightweight and great features

Body Only 23 February 2017 by wannaBphotographer (USA)

Going from a Canon Rebel xTI to this is going to take some getting used to. This is so lightweight and compact and the pictures are amazing. It's an all around camera due to the video ability which my old Canon did not have. I'm so used to having my iPhone I stopped carrying a camera, now with the a6500, it will be my new companion. A tad bit too pricey in my opinion because I am not sure it can honestly compete with a true professional camera that has better quality features in the same price range. Having a feature for just "My Customizable's" or something to that would be great under the function, which needs some organization. I purchased the a6000 model the day before and it stopped working after reading reviews, I decided when I returned the camera I would might upgrade to the 6300, I wanted the a6300 but was told it was being pulled completely and the store I purchased my camera from no longer was stocking them, that's when I actually made the decision to 'dig deeper' and get the a6500. The weather 'resistance' and upgraded features over the 6000 & 6300 was a seller but the cost was not. I also purchased Sony's E mount E30mm/F3.5 Macro lens and Sony's Handicam Cyber-Shot flash along with a UV filter and Polarized filter. Forgot the stupid spare battery! Haven't figured out how to change the camera from 60fps to 120fps - just read that on a review but they did not explain how do it. Purchased on 2/22/17 .. going to do my first actual pictures today 2/23 of my grandson...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great complement to A7R2

Body Only 21 February 2017 by Photoguy525 (USA)

Sony's mirrorless line is fantastic! Very pleased with the lenses and functionality of the mirrorless line.

Design

Excellent

2

0