Skip to Content
8

4.6 based on 8 customer reviews

5
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

9 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

awesome for beginners like me

Body Only 13 January 2017 by Ameenoasid (Singapore)

Bought the camera for 2 weeks already and i can tell im gonna use this camera alot! The features are so intense and the quality (for me) is already good enough to take professional looking photos and videos. The features need some time to get use to but with online tutorial which can found on youtube, you can easily learn by yourself on the different settings for the camera. Although, some might not agree with me that this is the best camera for them but hey, nothing is perfect. So far there has been nothing but positive reviews that I have seen online, be it on youtube or facebook or any sort of that. The best thing that you need to know also is that the over-heating problem has been solved (i think). And I know this because there has been a few video test of the a6500 on youtube about this. Truthfully, I prefer that sony has made the camera's monitor to flip out to the side or upwards, so that at least if you are doing a vlog or capturing a video of yourself from the front, you know that you are in focus and in correct exposure. Also, Im not sure why but this sony camera doesnt come with a kit lens bundle. At least for me in my country. When I enquire to the sony staff, they said that sony doesnt have the kit lens sold seperately for the A6500. Due to this 2 issues, this is why I rate 4 stars instead of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Lightweight APS-C Flagship Camera

Body Only 10 January 2017 by Yew99 (Singapore)

Excellent image quality and very fast autofocus but lack of 1/8000 mechanical shutter speed which other competitors are offering right now. Physical built is good to handle, will be perfect if the camera is weight centered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

Body Only 02 January 2017 by tondhoosh (USA)

great 4k quality and good stabilizer and also sensitive iso

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

5

0

Great camera that could have been perfect

Body Only 02 January 2017 by Sonder Creative (United Kingdom)

This camera is definitely something I'm quite pleased with. The image quality and video quality is noticeably better than my A7RII in terms of sheer detail and sharpness. The built-in stabilisation is a very welcome addition and such a useful feature. The focusing with native lenses is incredible and the fact that you can attach pretty much any lens to it and have it stabilised is amazing. Lastly 11 frames per second with the new huge buffer, one could argue this put it's on the level of a 1DX in terms of performance. The menu systems have been improved although they still require work and it's disappointing to see this from a company that has a whole division dedicated to mobile products. Canon and Nikon have an excuse to have bad software but not Sony. The touch screen implementation is haphazard and seems like an after-thought. The camera is still really sluggish and switching on and off and doing everything seems slow. When the buffer fills up it takes an absolute age for things to return to normality and allow you to shoot again. The viewfinder keeps getting activated by mistake due to its inaccurately high sensitivity. The lack of a second card slot is just inexcusable and something Sony really need to reconsider. No Sony one card slot is NOT enough. The Apps available are lacking in many areas and opening this up to the market would make Sony a camera system from the future. Battery life is still not great although I personally don't mind that. The tilting screen is good but an articulating screen would have been much better. Having the timelapse feature output video in 4k would have been amazing. This is a 4k camera and having it output only in 1080p is a bit of a letdown and makes it a little useless. Sony are releasing some amazing camera with possibly some of the best image and video. The problem is if they just addressed some of the other issues instead of having a great camera Sony would be producing the ABSOLUTE best cameras available. No other camera manufacturer would have a chance to compete and Sony could corner the market. I feel like they're being too cautious in their approach. Sony you're doing some amazing things, please just do that little bit more to make your products relatively perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

4

0

A real step up

Body Only 01 January 2017 by Boatman83 (Singapore)

I've been using the a6000 series for 2 years, from a6000 to a6300 and now the a6500. This is in addition to the previous full frame dslr that I've used. Let me tell you, this a6500 really feels like a solid workhorse. You can read the specs for yourself but in addition to that, I am confident that people can make money or win awards using this cam. From its handling to its usability and to its image quality (that's on par with full frame pics), you basically have a pro camera for a reasonable price. Yes, no cam is perfect and people may point out that it's apsc and looks small etc. But that's the beauty, you cannot find any other interchangeable lens camera that can beat it's power/results to weight/size ratio. What I'm paying for here is the ability to easily bring along with me a compact pro-level cam and photograph everyday. Literally everyday. And that's simply just remarkable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A very worthwhile upgrade.

Body Only 28 December 2016 by SteveL1 (United Kingdom)

As an owner of previous Sony cameras and lenses, some non stabilised, some 'A' mount, I've been looking forward to the stabilisation feature and the touch screen focusing. They work very well and make this a camera I expect to last me for some years. Well done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Sony did us proud again

Body Only 22 December 2016 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Although the same sensor, the Image quality vastly improved from the 6300, because of LSI, imfo takes  a short cut and uses copper wire. 5 axis works well down to a 15th sec.  Buffer will hold over 100 RAW images in continuous burst cannot be viewed instantly but they are in the camera. AF covers almost entire screen 425 focus points. Tracker and focus quicker than the 6300. I can not see any black out at high shutter speeds. When Eye focus will not work with Some animals, the touch screen is fantastic. I have tested it at different ISO settings, as with all cameras low ISO is worth trying to achieve. High Iso, eg 3200 is still usable.   My thought on video, it is better than the A7R MK2. The sensor size and megapixels are not relevant. But in the 18months between cameras the technology has moved on. eg LSI etc

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

4

0

great pics it takes

Body Only 02 December 2016 by trebie2 (USA)

it is a great camera ibis works and the low light pics are good

19

35