Skip to Content
35

4.5 based on 35 customer reviews

21
12
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore)

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

35 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use, small and many functions.

Body Only 24 March 2017 by Bancha (Thailand)

It is easy to use for taking photo and video, but for the photo it is too red color skin (not soft skin).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I regret this Purchase... really

Body Only 23 March 2017 by Cjallen (USA)

I must say, all the talk about this camera got me hyped up only to be let down in a big way. I have had this camera nearly two weeks now, and have tested it significantly in that amount of time. I have taken pictures at a recital, various social events, street shots, night time, beach portraits, senior pictures, marine shots, architecture shots, and several other distinct categories. The camera seems to miss focus roughly 20% of the time and will often suggest a completely blurred image is in focus… I have never had a camera do that. This camera seems to have absolutely no weather sealing either. Dust and sand can easily find its way into various parts of this camera which grinds and surely damages the body. For the record I use the Sony 18-105 F4 lens. It is rarely sharp and I am not impressed with this G Master lens. I will say it feels good in the hand and seems to be built well. The digital zoom ring is constantly lagging and frustrating to use. I bump the power zoom button often and that’s frustrating as well. Battery life is horrid… but I am sure everyone knew that already. One battery from my previous DSLR lasted the equivalent of about 4-5 of the 6500’s batteries. The camera strap must be made out of sand paper… but at least it exfoliates your neck when you use it. The camera strap also damages the eye cup…. very poor design when one aspect of the product damages another part. The dial used to set aperture is badly placed and is often hit as well. So as I am taking pictures, the aperture is at various openings. The camera also didn’t come with a stand alone charger for the battery… you have to plug the camera into an included 18 inch cord. How could that be any more annoying? The screen is also totally useless if you’re shooting outside. It is so dim and you will often tap it which will mess with the autofocus. Honestly, I regret buying this camera and I believe its worth less than half of the MSRP. I thought I would learn to love it, but I only find more and more ways that it was poorly designed and falls short of the competition.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

One of the most versatile cameras on the market

Body Only 20 March 2017 by Chetan (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from the A6300 and it definitely has been worth it! 1. The new deeper grip and the little extra weight has significantly enhanced the ergonomics of the camera. 2. The new additional customisable button is proving to be really useful. 3. IBIS is spectacular, a game-changer for photography. I am getting 4.5 stops of compensation with the unstabilised 24/1.8 and 55/1.8. 4. Touch to focus helps a lot when you quickly need to switch your focussing point. I only wish it had a faster write interface. Perhaps UHS-II or even xQD card compatibility.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features

Body Only 20 March 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an ILCE-6000 last month. The ILCE-6500 is a significant improvement: sensor noise is much reduced and I can easily shoot at ISO3200 without serious image impairment, the viewfinder/screen level is simple but very effective, the extra in-body stability is worthwhile and even though the normal shutter is considerably quieter than the ILCE-6000, having the silent shutter is brilliant for wildlife and for candid shots. The touchscreen is disappointing in use and the menu system is still difficult to use - extra manual dials for things like exposure compensation and drive settings would be better. This is an expensive camera body too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Astonishing Pictures

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Jordi2445 (USA)

I love the pictures, their definition, the great detail, the awesome effects I can make straight out of the camara... The bokeh effect, how I can play with all the focusing spots...incredible... The ease of use, compared to other brands Sony is very user friendly. But to this greatness I have found several disavantages: after a long shooting session, I have to reset the camara by taking the battery out to be able to power it again if it turns off, Sometimes the focusing goes beserk after a long shooting session... It is not compatible with all transreceivers, found out finally its compatible with PocketWizard...I have upgarded the OS, this improved the LEDs touch sensitivity, and some little quirks... overall a great camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No more bulky APS-C DSLRs

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Kirubakaran (Singapore)

I have always adored the image quality from DSLRs. But the problem with those DSLRs are they are too big and heavy to be carried around. In that aspect i really enjoyed using a6500. Its small and compact even when mounted with a lens and the image quality from the camera is on par with APS-C DSLRs. You can find sufficient number of quality native lens to support all your needs. There are two drawbacks though. One is battery life which drains fast. May not last for a day if you are a heavy user. The next one would be the screen. U can't use it to navigate through menus, the touch function is only for selecting focus points and its visibility is poor when using it outside during daytime. Other than the above two drawbacks this camera meets my expectations when compared with similar APS-C DSLRs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Huge evolution from a6300.

Body Only 13 March 2017 by cryptoandbettablogspot (Singapore)

I traveling Malaysia and Indonesia tropical area with a6300 + SEL90M28G and a6500 + SEL70300G, HX300(for spare camera) All are small and light, satisfied with fine images just nice for nature photos and traveling. Waiting for coming new model Sony a7III ! .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent APS-C Mirrorless Camera

Body Only 12 March 2017 by Dipu (India)

I bought this camera a month ago, due to its small form factor. Currently I am using this camera to take portraits and product photos and I love it. I feel there are a few drawbacks those are compressed RAW file and touch pad responsiveness. Otherwise, I feel very comfortable with this camera size and its features. It would be great to have one additional front dial.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 11 March 2017 by pismo (United Kingdom)

If I could use only one word to describe it, it would be amazing. The only problem is that there is not an adequate user manual available from Sony. You can bypass it by purchasing one of the available third party books.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

Body Only 06 March 2017 by Nippit (United Kingdom)

I've owned and a6000 for a couple of years, so impressed but wished I could use my a mount lenses from my dSLR. The a6500 is a technological leap above the a6000 and the steady shot inside now allows (with the required mount) me to use my non emount lenses and still keep the steady shot proved by the a mount cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Almost a perfect APS-C camera

Body Only 04 March 2017 by Saunwild (India)

I am happy with the camera. 5-axis is amazing, 4k recording is incredible, eye-autofoucs is beautiful, subjecting tracking AF is good. I have only one complaint. There are no sharp aps-c lenses for the camera. There is no 17-50/2.8 fast lens, even in prime lens category, Sigma lenses are sharper. It is so sad to hear from people that they have been waiting for the time when Sigma would launch new e-mount lenses. Sony surely fails here and yet I am Sony boy. Come on, create some sharp lenses for aps-c E mount users.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Camera

Body Only 01 March 2017 by Nardeep (India)

Best Product of Sony Best for video and photos... Quality is the Best of Sony 6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big step up from A6000

Body Only 25 February 2017 by sgkoala (Singapore)

Was already happy with A6000 but wanted even better... the features that attracted me are: 1. IBIS - helps a lot for my unstabilised lenses (24/1.8, Samyang 12/2, and A-mount lenses) 2. Fast AF with A-mount SSM lenses (I already had Sigma 50-150/2.8 and Sony 70-300F and picked up a Sony 16-50/2.8) 3. Silent shutter, I love this feature to avoid disturbing other people. 4. EVF is much higher quality. 5. High ISO is improved especially less greenish hue when boosting shadows. 6. AF in Focus Magnifier is useful for precise focussing 7. Two additional custom buttons is great. On A6000 I assigned Eye AF, AF Area and AF type. I use the additional 2 buttons for Zoom (when in video or JPG) and Focus Mag. 8. 4K video. Stills captured from 4K video are of very high quality too. 9. Better Auto ISO implementation e.g. "Slow", "Slower" options make aperture priority mode more useful. 10. Touch screen for focus point selection. The best part is Sony kept the camera incredible compact, almost exact same size as the A6000, and it fits nicely with 1 lens (such as 16-70/4, 24/1.8 or 10-18/4) in the tiny LCS-BBF bag that I can take everywhere with me. Overall it feels like a polished product. In terms of room for improvement I would say the touch screen may not be the best as these days customers expect smartphone type gestures and responsiveness, but the touch screen can still come in handy at times. Also, it would be nice if the Clear Image Zoom could work with Raw instead of being limited to JPG only, and furthermore when in Clear Image Zoom you cannot specify the focus point and this is a curious limitation considering that AF now works in Focus Magnified view.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Brilliant Camera

Body Only 23 February 2017 by DAGPAG (United Kingdom)

I sold my Canon and bought this and what a difference it has made to my photography. I was always an "auto" photographer, but this camera has given me the confidence to go fully manual and it's so easy to do. Love the autofocus and face recognition. I also do a lot of video work and had to carry two cameras around, but not anymore. The $K images are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

2

0

Lightweight and great features

Body Only 23 February 2017 by wannaBphotographer (USA)

Going from a Canon Rebel xTI to this is going to take some getting used to. This is so lightweight and compact and the pictures are amazing. It's an all around camera due to the video ability which my old Canon did not have. I'm so used to having my iPhone I stopped carrying a camera, now with the a6500, it will be my new companion. A tad bit too pricey in my opinion because I am not sure it can honestly compete with a true professional camera that has better quality features in the same price range. Having a feature for just "My Customizable's" or something to that would be great under the function, which needs some organization. I purchased the a6000 model the day before and it stopped working after reading reviews, I decided when I returned the camera I would might upgrade to the 6300, I wanted the a6300 but was told it was being pulled completely and the store I purchased my camera from no longer was stocking them, that's when I actually made the decision to 'dig deeper' and get the a6500. The weather 'resistance' and upgraded features over the 6000 & 6300 was a seller but the cost was not. I also purchased Sony's E mount E30mm/F3.5 Macro lens and Sony's Handicam Cyber-Shot flash along with a UV filter and Polarized filter. Forgot the stupid spare battery! Haven't figured out how to change the camera from 60fps to 120fps - just read that on a review but they did not explain how do it. Purchased on 2/22/17 .. going to do my first actual pictures today 2/23 of my grandson...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great complement to A7R2

Body Only 21 February 2017 by Photoguy525 (USA)

Sony's mirrorless line is fantastic! Very pleased with the lenses and functionality of the mirrorless line.

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera! Great feature!

Body Only 21 February 2017  (Singapore)

power full APSC mirrorless camera! Great feature for my videography job! you won't regret to bought it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera, complex menus

Body Only 15 February 2017 by Stewart62 (United Kingdom)

This was an upgrade to my Sony NEX 5, and was a great choice. The camera gives good results, although the menu is quite complex and I am still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Consume too much battery. Nevertheless, it's great

Body Only 14 February 2017 by FreitagSG (Singapore)

The camera is quick, allows me to take sharp action shots. Works well in the night too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Choice

Body Only 08 February 2017 by Suga (Singapore)

I would like to work in a unique way. So, I just planned to buy a Sony a 6500. For that result really Amazing. Speechless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

amazing camera terrible battery life.

Body Only 02 February 2017 by jsv598 (USA)

This camera is amazing! the features and design are best in class but the only reason i couldn't give it 5 stars in the terrible battery life. Sony should have included another battery instead of making you buy another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best crop cam out there....needs some fixes 88/100

Body Only 25 January 2017 by Jimmy7777 (USA)

great pictures....amazing 4k vid. dial wheel on rear needs improvement and firming up but its a great cam for the price....next.....A7rii ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

So far so good

Body Only 25 January 2017 by soulforsoup (Singapore)

Love the camera and it's features. Coming from a Canon 600D, the a6500 has been a blast using it and my clients have really enjoyed the clarity that comes from the downsampled 6k footage. However, I am still quite bothered by the overheating issue as this camera tends to get hot when shooting 4K video. It hasn't shut down on me so far, but the fear is still there. Also the menus are really convoluted and takes a bit of getting used to. Overall a good product if you can get over the menu and 4K overheating. If you're not using this camera for 4K, you'll find it an almost perfect mirror less system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore)

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

My best camera ever

Body Only 20 January 2017 by Anhow (United Kingdom)

This camera is a pleasure to use, it's given my photography a new lease of life, I can take it anywhere in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very good general purpose camera

Body Only 17 January 2017 by Scot38 (United Kingdom)

After limited use I can say that this is a very good camera. I use it as camera for carrying around and only use it with the f4 16 70 mm lens. This makes a very good combination that will produce excellent images in most situations. A f2.8 16 50mm lens would be a useful addition to the range of legal ses available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

awesome for beginners like me

Body Only 13 January 2017 by Ameenoasid (Singapore)

Bought the camera for 2 weeks already and i can tell im gonna use this camera alot! The features are so intense and the quality (for me) is already good enough to take professional looking photos and videos. The features need some time to get use to but with online tutorial which can found on youtube, you can easily learn by yourself on the different settings for the camera. Although, some might not agree with me that this is the best camera for them but hey, nothing is perfect. So far there has been nothing but positive reviews that I have seen online, be it on youtube or facebook or any sort of that. The best thing that you need to know also is that the over-heating problem has been solved (i think). And I know this because there has been a few video test of the a6500 on youtube about this. Truthfully, I prefer that sony has made the camera's monitor to flip out to the side or upwards, so that at least if you are doing a vlog or capturing a video of yourself from the front, you know that you are in focus and in correct exposure. Also, Im not sure why but this sony camera doesnt come with a kit lens bundle. At least for me in my country. When I enquire to the sony staff, they said that sony doesnt have the kit lens sold seperately for the A6500. Due to this 2 issues, this is why I rate 4 stars instead of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Lightweight APS-C Flagship Camera

Body Only 10 January 2017 by Yew99 (Singapore)

Excellent image quality and very fast autofocus but lack of 1/8000 mechanical shutter speed which other competitors are offering right now. Physical built is good to handle, will be perfect if the camera is weight centered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

Body Only 02 January 2017 by tondhoosh (USA)

great 4k quality and good stabilizer and also sensitive iso

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

6

0

A real step up

Body Only 01 January 2017 by Boatman83 (Singapore)

I've been using the a6000 series for 2 years, from a6000 to a6300 and now the a6500. This is in addition to the previous full frame dslr that I've used. Let me tell you, this a6500 really feels like a solid workhorse. You can read the specs for yourself but in addition to that, I am confident that people can make money or win awards using this cam. From its handling to its usability and to its image quality (that's on par with full frame pics), you basically have a pro camera for a reasonable price. Yes, no cam is perfect and people may point out that it's apsc and looks small etc. But that's the beauty, you cannot find any other interchangeable lens camera that can beat it's power/results to weight/size ratio. What I'm paying for here is the ability to easily bring along with me a compact pro-level cam and photograph everyday. Literally everyday. And that's simply just remarkable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A very worthwhile upgrade.

Body Only 28 December 2016 by SteveL1 (United Kingdom)

As an owner of previous Sony cameras and lenses, some non stabilised, some 'A' mount, I've been looking forward to the stabilisation feature and the touch screen focusing. They work very well and make this a camera I expect to last me for some years. Well done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Sony did us proud again

Body Only 22 December 2016 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Although the same sensor, the Image quality vastly improved from the 6300, because of LSI, imfo takes  a short cut and uses copper wire. 5 axis works well down to a 15th sec.  Buffer will hold over 100 RAW images in continuous burst cannot be viewed instantly but they are in the camera. AF covers almost entire screen 425 focus points. Tracker and focus quicker than the 6300. I can not see any black out at high shutter speeds. When Eye focus will not work with Some animals, the touch screen is fantastic. I have tested it at different ISO settings, as with all cameras low ISO is worth trying to achieve. High Iso, eg 3200 is still usable.   My thought on video, it is better than the A7R MK2. The sensor size and megapixels are not relevant. But in the 18months between cameras the technology has moved on. eg LSI etc

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

6

0

great pics it takes

Body Only 02 December 2016 by trebie2 (USA)

it is a great camera ibis works and the low light pics are good

20

40