Skip to Content
66

4.4 based on 66 customer reviews

35
27
1
3
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen (Singapore)

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

74 Customer Reviews

0

Good skin colour everytime

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 November 2017 by Limkh (Singapore)

Bought on 19Oct, used thrice. I find the selfie mode nice with the flip up monitor. Facial size is not distorted. Skin tones are much better than cell phone quality (do not have dark shadows).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ultimate pocket camera, most probably!

DSC-RX100M5 02 November 2017 by Injun (United Kingdom)

I bought the Mark V (M5) as a replacement to the my ‘aging’ M2. However, the M2 is till ca very capable camera - but I now needed to upgrade to a better design Zeiss lens (equivalent to my Canon 24-70 mm f2.8L II lens for Sony A7rII). The results so far from the M5 are outstanding and I am very satisfied - and certainly of high quality and able to produce A2 prints if required. The technical upgrades since the M2 are most welcome, however, in my current area of photography 4K video capability is secondary, but delivering high quality images is my primary reason for purchasing the M5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

King of point and shoot ?

DSC-RX100M5 E32 25 October 2017 by Alex05187 (Malaysia)

Heats up easily in tropical country with high definition setting. No external mic is troublesome. 4k limited to 5 mins.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great

DSC-RX100M5 E32 21 October 2017 by HAO1991 (Malaysia)

I bought this camera a month ago. It was great....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony RX100 V

DSC-RX100M5 17 October 2017 by paul_ie (United Kingdom)

I purchased the RX100V to support my USA photo trip. It was to be my record shot camera backing up the DSLR but I found myself reaching for this camera before the DSLR. The handling and fast AF and 4K video meant good sharp shots and true exposure reproduction. Feature packed, retractable view-finder and flash, adjustable LCD screen, good long-lasting battery. All-in an excellent camera for every-day shooting or special trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A truly awesome camera. The best point and shoot.

DSC-RX100M5 09 October 2017 by PheasantPluker (United Kingdom)

This camera blows me away with its ability to take stunning images and video. I’m an amateur videographer and I have fallen in love with this camera. It’s so versatile and the ability to take amazing images and video in low light is the icing on the cake for me. The only con for me is the price. A very expensive point & shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small But Trustworthy

DSC-RX100M5 E32 02 October 2017  (Thailand)

small but quietly reliably and powerful. fast focus and fast zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Size/Compact! Perfect!! Weight! Perfect!!!

DSCRX100M5/B 01 October 2017 by Quetal1 (USA)

I will use it today for the 1st time, so I can't say much yet.And fulling around with it this morning, it is EASY...I gave my Sony AX plus 2 lenses to my grandson because I just didn't want to carry weight anymore. Will review after my trip to Nevada City

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-RX100M5 18 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, great pictures and can go anywhere in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good quality video recording

DSC-RX100M5 11 September 2017 by Johnnnn (United Kingdom)

I have upgraded from the RX 100 3 because I wanted the improved video quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superior Quality For A Compact Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04 September 2017  (USA)

I searched a lot for a compact camera before I settled on this one. The 1.0-type sensor was the selling point for me. I've had it for over a month now, and I can safely say that I'm pretty happy with it. Pros (what comes to mind) - Surprisingly good in low light - Responsive - Lengthy battery life - Video stabilisation - Ergonomic - Easy to use - Electronic view finder Cons - Disappointing quality in HFR (High Frame Rate mode) - Electronic zoom slower than expected Feature Request (Below are things that I already knew about before purchasing, so they're not disappointing. Nevertheless, it would be nice to see them added in future generations.) - Mechanical zoom - Bigger zoom range - Touchscreen - GPS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M5 04 September 2017 by Sbradec (United Kingdom)

I have owned the two previous models of the RX100, it is a great camera, the Mk5 makes a good camera, a great camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Studio quality on the go!

dscrx100m5 29 August 2017 by BRealz81 (USA)

I've had these for about a year.5 now and I use them everyday during my travel to work. I high recommend ... hands down one of the best wireless headphones I've ever tried and owned. The Bass Boost button is what makes the ultimate difference in my opinion (it's what separates it from the rest - it deep rich bass). The only one negative would be the size (they're quite bulky).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

RX100M5 is a great compact camera. Best for travel

DSCRX100M5/B 17 August 2017  (USA)

I bought this 3 days ago and took quite a few photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

DSCRX100M5/B 15 August 2017 by onsunset (USA)

My only problem is the lack of long range capability; hope a lens can be added in the future. Realize this might offset the benefits of it fitting in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY FAST

DSCRX100M5/B 30 July 2017 by Badbob (USA)

Bought this a couple weeks ago. While it is extremely fast shooting and the AF is great, it is limited in some ways, i.e., AF Lock is disabled is you zoom and other issues. It is a great little camera, but limited in use if you are a semi-pro or pro. Will be great for vacations and a quick backup camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24 July 2017 by Blue Baron (USA)

I bought this camera in May 2017 because I did not want to take my DSLR on a European tour. When I got home I was very impressed at the quality of the pictures it took. I don't do video, so I can't comment on that, but the stills were very good. I did some comparison shots between it and my full frame DSLR and was amazed at how close the RX100 V came to the DSLR. I am used to using menus on my other cameras, so it does not bother me that the RX100 V does not have a touch screen. In fact I really prefer not to have one. The fold out monitor on the back was very useful. I just wish it would fold down more than 45 degrees. Sometimes when I needed to take overhead shots, I would fold the monitor up 90 degrees and turn the camera upside down. I really like the video viewfinder since I take most of my pictures outdoors and the sun on the monitor can be a problem. Five things I don’t like about the camera: the lens is soft at the edges. In wide angle there is noticeable distortion at the edges. The lens could use more reach, the material used for the monitor scratches very easily. I wish Sony used something as durable as my smart phone. The camera goes through batteries quite fast. I took a lot of pictures each day and would go through three batteries each day. Overall, though, this is a great little pocket camera that takes very good pictures and has pretty much any capability you could want in a camera with a fixed lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought todo great slow-mo Videos

DSC-RX100M5 21 July 2017 by Stewthebrew (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of the good reviews and the fact it does great slow-mo videos as well as having a great 24fps and also a good low light lens of f1.8. I have a Canon G7X MkII which I think is a better overall point and shoot/Vlogging camera especially as its half the price. The Sony does not even have a Touch screen, which is really useful on my Canon camera's and would have been the icing on the cake for this Sony camera especially useful because of the size of these cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera for all occasions

DSC-RX100M5 18 July 2017 by Johnts (United Kingdom)

I was initially sceptical about picking a compact camera to replace my somewhat cumbersome DSLR whilst loosing some of the features from this type of camera. After a couple of weeks use the RX100 V5 is a revelation and has surpassed all my expectations. It may be compact on the outside but everything else is immense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSCRX100M5/B 17 July 2017 by Eme253 (USA)

Bought this two days ago and I'm overall satisfied took me a couple hours to get used to its not to user friendly but nothing to stress over

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 12 July 2017 by siongvia (Singapore)

The camera is great in terms of photography and videography. However, it would be even better if there's no overheat issue while taking 4K video. And "Steady shot" is not available while shooting in 4K video, what a let down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but fragile

dscrx100m5 10 July 2017 by dennismv (USA)

Amazing camera, but gosh darn it, it is easy to break. Seriously consider wearing a body-cord attached to your body and the camera to prevent accidentally dropping the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pocket sized punch

DSC-RX100M5 10 July 2017 by Probus5002 (United Kingdom)

A serious pocket size compact with reasonable image quality. I used a Leica MP240 and a Fuji X-Pro 2 for my main photography but there are times when I need a decent camera and the smartphone is simply not good enough. A relatively short range zoom lens will produce better image quality than a highly compromised 10x zoom lens. That's important as far as I am concerned. The start up for the camera is quick and auto mode will give you a high probability of a decent snap. I like the outer ring in the mode where I can zoom back and forth; although in P mode that ring gives easy access to setting aperture and shutter speed. Battery longevity is better than I expected. The tilt screen is a major plus. I am not yet comfortable with the wifi transfer of JPEGS. This may be a question of getting used to the app which seems much more cumbersome than Fuji's X Pro2 app. I do have a major issue with not being able to view JPEGs in camera after transferring JPEGS to my iPhone using the app. I can view Raw files but not JPEGS. A grey screen with "unable to display file" appears on the screen when I try to view JPEGs. The only way round this seems to be to swap memory cards and format the card after all files have been downloaded. A serious issue in my view. I am sure this can be overcome by a firmware update but I am not sure Sony will recognise the issue. I had no luck on the Cybershot Forum.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 09 July 2017 by winpat1 (United Kingdom)

Really like this camera, focus is quick, easy to use and great photos and videos, one slight niggle, should come with grip on camera, slippy sometimes in use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Dissapointed

DSC-RX100M5 06 July 2017 by Howardartist (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera from excellent reviews... features and results vety good. Battery life terrible. Fully charged battery and didn't use it... totally flat within 48hrs.. taking it back.

2

2

0

Love the RX100V!

dscrx100m5 27 June 2017 by StugotsGolf (USA)

After reading, hearing from a friend and watching a number of UTube videos I got the RX100V. I've not been disappointed in the least, it's a great small SLR that captures great photos. I have an A600 and using the same interface made it very easy to adapt to this smaller feature loaded camera. The videos are excellent. I highly recommend for anyone who wants the best photos from a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

RX100v - A Truly Superb Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24 June 2017 by Jerr (United Kingdom)

Had this camera about a month and it is nothing short of outstanding!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super Speed and Picturs

DSC-RX100M5 22 June 2017 by Dogloverx4 (USA)

I bought this camera in February specifically to take to concerts. I have used it twice so far and it is way beyond my expectations. I have some high end cameras but you can't take those into a concert. This fits in a pocket but really handles concert lighting well. Pics are crystal clear! It's not an inexpensive camera but if you want really clear pics AND speed AND compact, spend the money on this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Camera Performance

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 June 2017 by Fat Man (Singapore)

The image quality is good. Perhaps due to its small size, the camera could easily shake during full pressing the shot button.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Performance for such a small camera but....

DSC-RX100M5 19 June 2017 by RobFJ (United Kingdom)

I've been using the camera for a couple of weeks now and, with one exception, it outperforms my previous high end compact digital significantly in many areas. Very strong points are lens quality, size/weight, menu system (for the most part),speed to lock onto focus and fps. It's /huge/ drawback is its optical viewfinder. It is a two stage process to use it. Release a pop up catch which locks the viewfinder in the raised position (fine); then slide the viewfinder housing back towards your eye. Unfortunately that does not lock so if you wear spectacles like me, your spec lens pushes the viewfinder back making it pretty unusable. (According to the camera shop I bought the camera from, that is the way the v/f is designed so the best solution they came up with was for me to stop the viewfinder from sliding back by my putting a finger on it.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Quality Compact

DSC-RX100M5 17 June 2017 by hmy7k (United Kingdom)

I have had my RX100 M5 for a couple of weeks now. I am enjoying the compact size, just slips in my pocket. I use it mainly for stills but the slow motion video is amazing. I have an A7r2 also so the user interface is similar which makes for an easy transition between the two cameras. Picture quality is very good too and you have access to the same apps as the A7 which is handy. Definitely recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best Point and Shoot Camera Out There

DSC-RX100M5 E32 14 June 2017 by stripedshirt (Singapore)

Best thing since touch screen phones! The RX100M5 is a pleasure to shoot with and because of its size, it's always with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony really need to sort out SteadyShot @ 4k, but:

DSC-RX100M5 11 June 2017 by Dr_Jon (United Kingdom)

Sub-title: There are a lot of very cool features. Particularly to like are: Fast AF Crazy-fast burst mode Size Viewfinder (as I upgraded from a mk 1) 10x slow motion at good resolution SLog2 (but over-expose 1 or 2 stops or it'll be noisy, and it loves extra light, well until the histogram says it doesn't) Good performance up to ISO800 (it's a small sensor), doesn't collapse above that either, just less good Negatives: I've had two and the stabilisation in 4k is just a problem shooting hand-held as it likes to throw in little jumps. (I assume a firmware fix is a possibility. BTW, I'm on v2.0 so if you read this and a newer version is available check the release notes.) Nearly infinite number of menu entries which are badly organised. (I am getting to grips with them though.) The scaling of the just-under-FHD 250fps mode (up to FHD) really loses too much considering how little it scales it (sharpness falls and aliasing appears). It's great fun though. There's no full manual available, you just have to hunt in the help guide or, as I did, buy a book (I went with Gary Friedman's and it's excellent, if I'm allowed to give him a plug - don't know him and paid full price). I'm not putting the battery life in as a negative as it's a tiny powerhouse, but buy a spare if you buy the camera. Also note you can run (as well as charge) it from a USB PowerPack (like you use to charge phones). I'd also say the lens gets to be pretty good by f4.5, so consider using that if you don't need another aperture for a specific reason. Again not a negative as it is what it is, but the 70mm long end of the lens is pretty limiting compared to my (now traded-in) mk 1 RX100's 100mm. Notes on star ratings: Ease of use is a 3 due to the menus. Features is a 4 due to 4k stabilisation issue. Value is a 3 as it's really expensive. Would be a 4 if they fix the 4k though. Final word - I'm glad I bought it, I'll be enthused if they can improve my main gripe (just that, nothing else).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent underwater camera when used with housing

DSC-RX100M5 E32 05 June 2017 by LWC Diver (Singapore)

Used with Sony Underwater Housing MPK-URX100A, took great pictures down to 22 meters with only built-in flash. Underwater Automatic White Balance struggled a bit to get the right colors. Some reds still managed to be captured. Focus was fast and excellent, same for exposure control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great features!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 31 May 2017  (Malaysia)

Awesome 4K video and slow motion feature. Amazing AF speed with 24 fps capture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good first camera

DSC-RX100M5 27 May 2017 by sam2222 (United Kingdom)

i am happy with this camra, its auto focus is amazing. small but clear picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

You will get a lot out of this little guy.

DSC-RX100M5 22 May 2017 by AndyTM (United Kingdom)

I have the luxury of trying out a number of cameras on daily basis from pro DSLR to compacts, this 1 inch sensor compact cameras from Sony is one of the best compact premium camera you could buy with standout features and performance to boot. It is not going to replace a Pro DSLR and lens but it does come close, sometimes better than an entry level DSLR. Take into account its weight, size, 4K, slow motion, speed of focus (a dream for vlogging), add on apps, superb viewfinder and by no means least the download of Capture One for Sony, you will get a lot out of this little guy. Owning the Sony RX100 V is more than a joy to use and has replaced my heavy everyday camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best for travel

dscrx100m5 12 May 2017 by Frito (USA)

Very friendly user and compact. Best for travelling and blogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 27 April 2017 by sengkkk (Singapore)

bought it for nepal trekking, wasn't disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great in (many) parts - still weak in others.

DSC-RX100M5 25 April 2017 by Jayaysee (United Kingdom)

Bought (?) as an insurance replacement for an M4 that met it's end in a brief dunk in the Indian Ocean. As far as I can see it's a re-work of the M4 with some tweaking at the edges, sorry Sony, and inherits all of the well known strengths and weaknesses of that model. One particular disappointment that I experienced first hand is over-heating when shooting 4k video. I got the warning symbol after just under 3 minutes and whilst I understand everything that's being asked of a point & shoot here, this is by no means a cheap camera and, frankly, I expect and expected better. If we've got a model with something not quite right perhaps Sony could let me know otherwise I'm going to have to look elsewhere for video work which is disappointing, in my opinion, at this price point. Apart from that, the macro is still a weakness but the rest is highly capable. The AF-A is a welcome addition particularly under video and the increased High Frame Rate is interesting but I've yet to find a time to use it. Oh and please get someone who actually uses the items to write / translate your User Guides. It could so easily be so much better and stand out for that amongst the volumes of mediocrity and literal translations. Then again that's why there's such a strong market in 3rd party guides - you have to ask why the need thought surely. Was going to give 3* but gave it the benefit of the doubt - just don't expect this to do 4k for any meaningful length of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good camera but user interface improvement needed

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 April 2017 by encore (Singapore)

I bought the camera for 1. Compact for travelling. 2. View finder for taking pictures in the bright outdoor. 3. Continuous auto-focus and burst shoot for action photography. 4. DSLR like features. 4. Awesome reviews. I have yet to fully realize the power of the camera. But already have some complaints: 1. The compact body does make it difficult to grip, and it can drop quite easily. 2. The menu system is badly organised. It is hard to identify for a feature which of the six categories it should fall under, so I have to search each and every page of every category for that feature, and that is very tedious. 3. There isn't sufficient instructions of the features, and it seems that one must pay to obtain more detailed manuals. 4. The Control wheel can adjust both Aperture and Shutter, while the Control ring can only adjust Aperture. Yet the UW casing cannot reach the Control dial. Think Sony should make the control ring capable of doing both. This will make the camera a truly UW gem. 5. It lacks time lapse photography. A paid app is available but it is slow to use, and can only take up to 1920x1080 pixel pictures, and the pictures are only visible within the app. I am however satisfied with the camera overall, especially the fact that it is capable of firmware upgrade. A recent upgrade delivered a feature that should have been there day one, and that is the ability the disable the flash even with it pop up. Another useful upgrade is the addition of AWB underwater, which I am yet to try

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

This is my third RX100.

DSC-RX100M5 16 April 2017 by Normsky (United Kingdom)

I have previously bought the RX100 and the RX100M3. You will need to carry a spare battery. Otherwise an excellent camera. Well worth the hefty price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features in small package

DSC-RX100M5 E32 16 April 2017 by Crutty (Malaysia)

A lot of features, easy to carry, low battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M5 15 April 2017 by trevorad (United Kingdom)

I only purchased this camera a few weeks ago and as yet have not had much time or reason to use it. However, it fulfils everything that I need in a camera, whilst being compact at the same time. In the past, I have been frustrated by having to carry around an SLR camera or larger compact/bridge type camera. As a result, I have tended to use my smartphone more often as it is always in my pocket and available for those opportunistic shots. This camera appears to have all of the features that I could need (and previously had) combined with flexibility and high quality. I am looking forward to using it more whilst on our holidays and during the summer months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera!

DSC-RX100M5 10 April 2017 by BluesCruiser182 (United Kingdom)

I gave this it's first outing last weekend and am delighted with the results - clear, sharp images with great colours. I used the HD (not 4K) video to record a couple of songs at a concert and the quality was great. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A new camera, a new world

dscrx100m5 09 April 2017 by Visionary (USA)

I bought this a month ago and am still learning about the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and compact

DSC-RX100M5 E32 29 March 2017  (Singapore)

I bought it a few weeks ago and it is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought It Twice

dscrx100m5 28 March 2017 by Murph3 (USA)

It's a Sony point and shoot, small and relatively light, with RAW and low light capability. The Menu was not hard to follow. Some exploration is needed to find out which modes of shooting support which features. It does have a limited telephoto range, but I knew that before buying. I miss the longer range, but it's not a deal-breaker. The camera is well built, strong but not invulnerable. After a few hundred shots, my camera fell four and half feet to the pavement - hitting the surface with the leading edge of its lens barrel, the barrel was chipped and "stoved in" on a bent angle - exactly the worst way. Had it landed on any other part of the camera, I think it would have survived. It was not the camera's fault; removing a glove in darkness inadvertently snagged the wrist strap, stripping it from my hand. Talk about Murphy's Law! I like the RX100 V, and have bought a second one as a replacement. While I like the wrist strap, I wish Sony would also include an inexpensive neck strap in the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

All I was looking for, for such a descent price!

dscrx100m5 17 March 2017 by Roshie (USA)

Upgrading from my SONY HX9V, I Love the size and features of this one. So excited to take it everywhere with me & capture the beautiful world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Best Compact for Travel

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 March 2017 by Chow CP (Singapore)

Good image quality, raw files are very "process-able", compact, very fast auto-focus (compared to III, which I used to have). Battery life is not as bad as the specs mentioned, you can always work with a spare battery and this unit charges with microUSB directly in-camera. Only con is the price, but you get what you paid for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

GREAT FEATURES

dscrx100m5 15 March 2017 by Presteam24 (USA)

I have been waiting to buy this camera. I love it I highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, disappointing battery life

DSC-RX100M5 14 March 2017 by Sunboi79 (United Kingdom)

I agonised for weeks over whether to choose the RX100M5 over others and finally took the plunge - overall I'm glad I did. It's solid, well-made, easy to use and with a bit of practise, takes great photos! The one aspect I am still a bit disappointed by is the battery life. I'd read the reviews and bought an extra battery... coming from a NEX-5R, where I could get a whole day of sightseeing in without swapping batteries, I wondered how different it would be. It's really noticeable. You MUST have at least one spare battery. After two hours and about 200 photos and a few short videos, it was dead.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera. Tad complicated !

DSC-RX100M5 13 March 2017 by Mickeyt (United Kingdom)

Lovely bit of kit but super complicated at first Was initially disappointed as the sharpness wasn't what I expected. However having reset to factory it's ok but I'm still learning how to handle. I think the instructions are poor so a lot of trial and error and should be clearer. It's expensive for what it is but I hope with a bit of patience I'll master The zoom is small and I do think would have liked better So would I recommend this camera ? Jury is still out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A powerhouse!

DSC-RX100M5 04 March 2017 by MarkyM333 (United Kingdom)

Bought the Gen.1 version in 2012 which was still going strong. Was going to go with the MkIV which was improved enough for my needs but my dealer did not have any in stock,and only 1 of the latest Mk.V's before a trip to Cuba. "Wow" is all I can say. Sharp lens,super fast and accurate focussing. Tracking and multi shot AF is unbelievable but you end up with 50+ shots with just a 2 second press of the shutter! Used this pocket camera much,much more than my A7R while in Cuba as "running and gunning" was the order of the day. Superb shots and not as noticeable unlike the bigger Sony. Only downside is that the batteries don't last as long as they did but I have plenty of batteries anyway (2-3 are enough for days shooting)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Slow and low battery

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 February 2017 by leecs0123 (Singapore)

Its suprise me that the battery drain out super fast. I had to carry 3 battery for my normal usage. Besides, it not good to take photos of motion such as people shaking hand without a flash under room lighting. Hence it is slow for my own understanding.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Awesome Camera

dscrx100m5 14 February 2017  (USA)

Unbelievably fast. Accurate and precise af. 24-70 lens is very sharp along the range and it fits in my jeans pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

DSC RX100M5

DSC-RX100M5 07 February 2017 by Bagspacking (United Kingdom)

Bought this just before Xmas 2016 but as yet have only used it indoors. I am looking forward to testing outside without getting soaking wet. Only one downside for me is it is smaller than I expected it it be for my clumsy hands, other than that it is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

A power house of a camera

DSC-RX100M5 27 January 2017 by Snappy Man (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera 10 days. Bought David Busch's Fast Track Guide, a guide is needed to get the best out of the camera. I have a Canon 7d DSLR but wanted a smaller more easily carried compact but with the controls of the larger DSLR. Sony have certainly achieved that with the RX100V. This has moore control and filming options than most larger cameras. Very impressed with photo results in several setting especially the HDR low light -amazing. Extra batteries are needed as it eats power. I bought an independent charger to charge two batteries at one time. To get the best out of the camera you also need a high speed min 64 GB SD card. I am over the moon with this camera which will go everywhere with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

RX100 V review

DSC-RX100M5 E32 25 January 2017 by Tracce (Singapore)

I bought this camera about a 10 days ago. I'm still trying to figure things out on my camera. The main purpose of me buying this camera is for work and for my everyday use. Whenever I head out I'll use it to capture something that inspires me and I'll post it on my blog. At the moment, the pictures turn out great. It could be better if I can learn to use the functions more. I'm loving every bit of it. But I do have one feedback for it. I've purchased the cover for it. I wish that it can be improved. As it is a hassle trying to remove the top layer of the cover whenever I wish to take a picture. Also, the cover is not very appealing, however, I had not much a choice but to buy it due to me being reckless

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 January 2017 by Realyn (Singapore)

Really nice for a point and shoot camera. .... Recommended cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

4k video, slog2, superb HFS. Yet...

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 January 2017 by Clementoh (Singapore)

I have use rx100v for the past 2weeks now, what a joy to carry small yet powerful little machine. There are many reviews online, all of their experiences and thoughts are true. Photo quality is top in the game, wish there's a faster lens on it as having narrow depth of field doesn't come easy. ISO performance exceed my expectation, even work well in hfs video at iso1600. But i have major complains on the built. Firstly, the bottom mount is basically useless or astonishing inconvenience. If you wish to mount a tripod plate in it, be prepared not ever to open the sd/battery cap unless you remove the plate. This should be addressed in the next generation, does not put up a good reputation on the design architecture team. Next is the flip up screen. Flipping the screen up for selfie, part of the screen will be blocked by the body itself. You will not be able to see most of the important parameters like aperture, shutter speed and ISO. And of course, like the rest of the world, i wish it could have been touch screen for the cost that i am paying. That's about all from me, thanks Sony for this wonderful product and also the awesome community.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 15 January 2017 by eson (Malaysia)

I am happy to have this simple point and shoot camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony Menu feature tricky

DSC-RX100M5 12 January 2017 by StuB66 (United Kingdom)

overall this is great product but the menu is fiddle to use and the lack of a touch screen is poor and also think the screen on the back should be more scratch resistant...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Good Quality , Easy use , Small size

DSC-RX100M5 E32 11 January 2017 by Chai (Thailand)

Good Quality , Easy to use and pick with small size. VDO Quality is very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100V

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 January 2017 by gerabubble (Singapore)

Awesome pocket camera. So much fun, so many options , took me a while to learn them, still have more to learn but i dont have to wait till im free to play with it, its with me all day so at every chance i get, i break it out to practice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rx100V

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 December 2016 by Lifeofbenz (Malaysia)

very nice. compact and powerful. downfalls are: 1. having to buy the sony apps such as timelapse and etc. 2. no charger included 3. no touch screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and Powerful

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 December 2016 by kelsimplified (Singapore)

I'm glad that I bought this little friend. It is with me, anywhere I go, just like my phone. So far so good. Can't think of any serious flaws. The only complain is that there are too many features packed into it. Really need to take time to learn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0