Skip to Content
33

4.4 based on 33 customer reviews

19
11
1
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A power house of a camera

DSC-RX100M5 27 January 2017 by Snappy Man (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera 10 days. Bought David Busch's Fast Track Guide, a guide is needed to get the best out of the camera. I have a Canon 7d DSLR but wanted a smaller more easily carried compact but with the controls of the larger DSLR. Sony have certainly achieved that with the RX100V. This has moore control and filming options than most larger cameras. Very impressed with photo results in several setting especially the HDR low light -amazing. Extra batteries are needed as it eats power. I bought an independent charger to charge two batteries at one time. To get the best out of the camera you also need a high speed min 64 GB SD card. I am over the moon with this camera which will go everywhere with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

38 Customer Reviews

0

You will get a lot out of this little guy.

DSC-RX100M5 22 May 2017 by AndyTM (United Kingdom)

I have the luxury of trying out a number of cameras on daily basis from pro DSLR to compacts, this 1 inch sensor compact cameras from Sony is one of the best compact premium camera you could buy with standout features and performance to boot. It is not going to replace a Pro DSLR and lens but it does come close, sometimes better than an entry level DSLR. Take into account its weight, size, 4K, slow motion, speed of focus (a dream for vlogging), add on apps, superb viewfinder and by no means least the download of Capture One for Sony, you will get a lot out of this little guy. Owning the Sony RX100 V is more than a joy to use and has replaced my heavy everyday camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best for travel

dscrx100m5 12 May 2017 by Frito (USA)

Very friendly user and compact. Best for travelling and blogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 27 April 2017 by sengkkk (Singapore)

bought it for nepal trekking, wasn't disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great in (many) parts - still weak in others.

DSC-RX100M5 25 April 2017 by Jayaysee (United Kingdom)

Bought (?) as an insurance replacement for an M4 that met it's end in a brief dunk in the Indian Ocean. As far as I can see it's a re-work of the M4 with some tweaking at the edges, sorry Sony, and inherits all of the well known strengths and weaknesses of that model. One particular disappointment that I experienced first hand is over-heating when shooting 4k video. I got the warning symbol after just under 3 minutes and whilst I understand everything that's being asked of a point & shoot here, this is by no means a cheap camera and, frankly, I expect and expected better. If we've got a model with something not quite right perhaps Sony could let me know otherwise I'm going to have to look elsewhere for video work which is disappointing, in my opinion, at this price point. Apart from that, the macro is still a weakness but the rest is highly capable. The AF-A is a welcome addition particularly under video and the increased High Frame Rate is interesting but I've yet to find a time to use it. Oh and please get someone who actually uses the items to write / translate your User Guides. It could so easily be so much better and stand out for that amongst the volumes of mediocrity and literal translations. Then again that's why there's such a strong market in 3rd party guides - you have to ask why the need thought surely. Was going to give 3* but gave it the benefit of the doubt - just don't expect this to do 4k for any meaningful length of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good camera but user interface improvement needed

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 April 2017 by encore (Singapore)

I bought the camera for 1. Compact for travelling. 2. View finder for taking pictures in the bright outdoor. 3. Continuous auto-focus and burst shoot for action photography. 4. DSLR like features. 4. Awesome reviews. I have yet to fully realize the power of the camera. But already have some complaints: 1. The compact body does make it difficult to grip, and it can drop quite easily. 2. The menu system is badly organised. It is hard to identify for a feature which of the six categories it should fall under, so I have to search each and every page of every category for that feature, and that is very tedious. 3. There isn't sufficient instructions of the features, and it seems that one must pay to obtain more detailed manuals. 4. The Control wheel can adjust both Aperture and Shutter, while the Control ring can only adjust Aperture. Yet the UW casing cannot reach the Control dial. Think Sony should make the control ring capable of doing both. This will make the camera a truly UW gem. 5. It lacks time lapse photography. A paid app is available but it is slow to use, and can only take up to 1920x1080 pixel pictures, and the pictures are only visible within the app. I am however satisfied with the camera overall, especially the fact that it is capable of firmware upgrade. A recent upgrade delivered a feature that should have been there day one, and that is the ability the disable the flash even with it pop up. Another useful upgrade is the addition of AWB underwater, which I am yet to try

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

This is my third RX100.

DSC-RX100M5 16 April 2017 by Normsky (United Kingdom)

I have previously bought the RX100 and the RX100M3. You will need to carry a spare battery. Otherwise an excellent camera. Well worth the hefty price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features in small package

DSC-RX100M5 E32 16 April 2017 by Crutty (Malaysia)

A lot of features, easy to carry, low battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M5 15 April 2017 by trevorad (United Kingdom)

I only purchased this camera a few weeks ago and as yet have not had much time or reason to use it. However, it fulfils everything that I need in a camera, whilst being compact at the same time. In the past, I have been frustrated by having to carry around an SLR camera or larger compact/bridge type camera. As a result, I have tended to use my smartphone more often as it is always in my pocket and available for those opportunistic shots. This camera appears to have all of the features that I could need (and previously had) combined with flexibility and high quality. I am looking forward to using it more whilst on our holidays and during the summer months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera!

DSC-RX100M5 10 April 2017 by BluesCruiser182 (United Kingdom)

I gave this it's first outing last weekend and am delighted with the results - clear, sharp images with great colours. I used the HD (not 4K) video to record a couple of songs at a concert and the quality was great. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A new camera, a new world

dscrx100m5 09 April 2017 by Visionary (USA)

I bought this a month ago and am still learning about the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and compact

DSC-RX100M5 E32 29 March 2017  (Singapore)

I bought it a few weeks ago and it is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought It Twice

dscrx100m5 28 March 2017 by Murph3 (USA)

It's a Sony point and shoot, small and relatively light, with RAW and low light capability. The Menu was not hard to follow. Some exploration is needed to find out which modes of shooting support which features. It does have a limited telephoto range, but I knew that before buying. I miss the longer range, but it's not a deal-breaker. The camera is well built, strong but not invulnerable. After a few hundred shots, my camera fell four and half feet to the pavement - hitting the surface with the leading edge of its lens barrel, the barrel was chipped and "stoved in" on a bent angle - exactly the worst way. Had it landed on any other part of the camera, I think it would have survived. It was not the camera's fault; removing a glove in darkness inadvertently snagged the wrist strap, stripping it from my hand. Talk about Murphy's Law! I like the RX100 V, and have bought a second one as a replacement. While I like the wrist strap, I wish Sony would also include an inexpensive neck strap in the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

All I was looking for, for such a descent price!

dscrx100m5 17 March 2017 by Roshie (USA)

Upgrading from my SONY HX9V, I Love the size and features of this one. So excited to take it everywhere with me & capture the beautiful world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Best Compact for Travel

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 March 2017 by Chow CP (Singapore)

Good image quality, raw files are very "process-able", compact, very fast auto-focus (compared to III, which I used to have). Battery life is not as bad as the specs mentioned, you can always work with a spare battery and this unit charges with microUSB directly in-camera. Only con is the price, but you get what you paid for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

GREAT FEATURES

dscrx100m5 15 March 2017 by Presteam24 (USA)

I have been waiting to buy this camera. I love it I highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, disappointing battery life

DSC-RX100M5 14 March 2017 by Sunboi79 (United Kingdom)

I agonised for weeks over whether to choose the RX100M5 over others and finally took the plunge - overall I'm glad I did. It's solid, well-made, easy to use and with a bit of practise, takes great photos! The one aspect I am still a bit disappointed by is the battery life. I'd read the reviews and bought an extra battery... coming from a NEX-5R, where I could get a whole day of sightseeing in without swapping batteries, I wondered how different it would be. It's really noticeable. You MUST have at least one spare battery. After two hours and about 200 photos and a few short videos, it was dead.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera. Tad complicated !

DSC-RX100M5 13 March 2017 by Mickeyt (United Kingdom)

Lovely bit of kit but super complicated at first Was initially disappointed as the sharpness wasn't what I expected. However having reset to factory it's ok but I'm still learning how to handle. I think the instructions are poor so a lot of trial and error and should be clearer. It's expensive for what it is but I hope with a bit of patience I'll master The zoom is small and I do think would have liked better So would I recommend this camera ? Jury is still out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A powerhouse!

DSC-RX100M5 04 March 2017 by MarkyM333 (United Kingdom)

Bought the Gen.1 version in 2012 which was still going strong. Was going to go with the MkIV which was improved enough for my needs but my dealer did not have any in stock,and only 1 of the latest Mk.V's before a trip to Cuba. "Wow" is all I can say. Sharp lens,super fast and accurate focussing. Tracking and multi shot AF is unbelievable but you end up with 50+ shots with just a 2 second press of the shutter! Used this pocket camera much,much more than my A7R while in Cuba as "running and gunning" was the order of the day. Superb shots and not as noticeable unlike the bigger Sony. Only downside is that the batteries don't last as long as they did but I have plenty of batteries anyway (2-3 are enough for days shooting)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Slow and low battery

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 February 2017 by leecs0123 (Singapore)

Its suprise me that the battery drain out super fast. I had to carry 3 battery for my normal usage. Besides, it not good to take photos of motion such as people shaking hand without a flash under room lighting. Hence it is slow for my own understanding.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

dscrx100m5 14 February 2017  (USA)

Unbelievably fast. Accurate and precise af. 24-70 lens is very sharp along the range and it fits in my jeans pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

DSC RX100M5

DSC-RX100M5 07 February 2017 by Bagspacking (United Kingdom)

Bought this just before Xmas 2016 but as yet have only used it indoors. I am looking forward to testing outside without getting soaking wet. Only one downside for me is it is smaller than I expected it it be for my clumsy hands, other than that it is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

A power house of a camera

DSC-RX100M5 27 January 2017 by Snappy Man (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera 10 days. Bought David Busch's Fast Track Guide, a guide is needed to get the best out of the camera. I have a Canon 7d DSLR but wanted a smaller more easily carried compact but with the controls of the larger DSLR. Sony have certainly achieved that with the RX100V. This has moore control and filming options than most larger cameras. Very impressed with photo results in several setting especially the HDR low light -amazing. Extra batteries are needed as it eats power. I bought an independent charger to charge two batteries at one time. To get the best out of the camera you also need a high speed min 64 GB SD card. I am over the moon with this camera which will go everywhere with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

RX100 V review

DSC-RX100M5 E32 25 January 2017 by Tracce (Singapore)

I bought this camera about a 10 days ago. I'm still trying to figure things out on my camera. The main purpose of me buying this camera is for work and for my everyday use. Whenever I head out I'll use it to capture something that inspires me and I'll post it on my blog. At the moment, the pictures turn out great. It could be better if I can learn to use the functions more. I'm loving every bit of it. But I do have one feedback for it. I've purchased the cover for it. I wish that it can be improved. As it is a hassle trying to remove the top layer of the cover whenever I wish to take a picture. Also, the cover is not very appealing, however, I had not much a choice but to buy it due to me being reckless

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 January 2017 by Realyn (Singapore)

Really nice for a point and shoot camera. .... Recommended cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

4k video, slog2, superb HFS. Yet...

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 January 2017 by Clementoh (Singapore)

I have use rx100v for the past 2weeks now, what a joy to carry small yet powerful little machine. There are many reviews online, all of their experiences and thoughts are true. Photo quality is top in the game, wish there's a faster lens on it as having narrow depth of field doesn't come easy. ISO performance exceed my expectation, even work well in hfs video at iso1600. But i have major complains on the built. Firstly, the bottom mount is basically useless or astonishing inconvenience. If you wish to mount a tripod plate in it, be prepared not ever to open the sd/battery cap unless you remove the plate. This should be addressed in the next generation, does not put up a good reputation on the design architecture team. Next is the flip up screen. Flipping the screen up for selfie, part of the screen will be blocked by the body itself. You will not be able to see most of the important parameters like aperture, shutter speed and ISO. And of course, like the rest of the world, i wish it could have been touch screen for the cost that i am paying. That's about all from me, thanks Sony for this wonderful product and also the awesome community.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 15 January 2017 by eson (Malaysia)

I am happy to have this simple point and shoot camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Menu feature tricky

DSC-RX100M5 12 January 2017 by StuB66 (United Kingdom)

overall this is great product but the menu is fiddle to use and the lack of a touch screen is poor and also think the screen on the back should be more scratch resistant...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Good Quality , Easy use , Small size

DSC-RX100M5 E32 11 January 2017 by Chai (Thailand)

Good Quality , Easy to use and pick with small size. VDO Quality is very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100V

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 January 2017 by gerabubble (Singapore)

Awesome pocket camera. So much fun, so many options , took me a while to learn them, still have more to learn but i dont have to wait till im free to play with it, its with me all day so at every chance i get, i break it out to practice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Rx100V

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 December 2016 by Lifeofbenz (Malaysia)

very nice. compact and powerful. downfalls are: 1. having to buy the sony apps such as timelapse and etc. 2. no charger included 3. no touch screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and Powerful

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 December 2016 by kelsimplified (Singapore)

I'm glad that I bought this little friend. It is with me, anywhere I go, just like my phone. So far so good. Can't think of any serious flaws. The only complain is that there are too many features packed into it. Really need to take time to learn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent vamera

DSC-RX100M5 06 December 2016 by Bill1953 (United Kingdom)

I received this camera a couple of weeks ago and it's a joy to use. As a 'point and shot' camera it's easy and fast, as an apatite priority camera it is easy to het the effects you want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

11

0

Great Features

DSC-RX100M5 E32 05 December 2016 by sekran7 (Malaysia)

I have not been as excited about a compact camera as I am of this pocketable camera. The images taken are sharp. Its unbelievable that its al from a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Initial impression

DSC-RX100M5 01 December 2016 by LordSmith (United Kingdom)

the camera itself is excellent as are its images, A3 no problem. Exterior rather slippy, Menu horrible, it really does need a rethink and then cameras already delivered should be updated. A firmware upgrade should be seriously, repeat seriously, be considered by Sony. Nikon does things far better !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

6

0

Amazing Camera

DSC-RX100M5 28 November 2016 by Posnetski (United Kingdom)

This is my second Sony RX100, I bought the original mk1. which I still love and cherish with the stunning images it produces. There are to many superlatives to describe how good this camera is. Immensely happy, and still discovering new things after a month. From the fastest hybrid focus system with the ability to be manually focused is incredible!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

6

0

It's a little MONSTER

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Chan SL (Singapore)

I thought I bought a machine gun, the speed is just amazing. It's too fast sometimes, just press and released and got me 10+ shots. Hope that the next firmware update can add a setting to choose the frame rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen (Singapore)

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0