Skip to Content
86

4.4 based on 86 customer reviews

45
35
1
4
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen (Singapore)

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

95 Customer Reviews

0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22 January 2018 by Robert45 (USA)

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic autofocus

DSC-RX100M5 12 January 2018 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom)

Bought mainly for video, the way it snaps onto what you wanted to show almost instantly is amazing. The way the rear screen folds up, while useful, seems clumsy and part of the screen is hidden, plus it will get damaged against the camera body if you don't have a protector on. Stills are outstanding too though I have noticed moe noise than expected in the background of expansive scenes. The viewfinder is potentially useful but my previous (Canon) didn't have one so have got out of the habit of using one, and forget it's there. I would much rather all that space was used for an external microphone input, and a way to mount a small microphone is sorely missed too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

no software

DSC-RX100M5 08 January 2018 by wendo (United Kingdom)

This camera was a Christmas present. It is a fine camera but I cannot use the RAW options as my old version of lightroom (5) cannot upload the RAW files. The download software wont work on any of my 4 computers windows or MAC. I am in despair. I have a very expensive camera that I can only use a limited amount of functions.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great starter camera!

DSCRX100M5/B 29 December 2017 by Taramisue (USA)

I bought this camera a month ago for a birthday present to myself. I have really only had experience with camera phones so I am excited to learn on this camera. Right away I am impressed by the quality of the images and the ease of finding information on settings to get the most out of this product. I am excited to learn more about this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast AF, good connectivity.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 26 December 2017 by SonyCanon (Singapore)

Very good pocket-size camera with good professional features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The powerful camera.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 24 December 2017 by Tern (Thailand)

It made me to enjoy taking photo. And i want to record memories with photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera for the size

DSC-RX100M5 E32 22 December 2017 by ClickerClick (Singapore)

Now I have a camera with me always that is almost DSLR quality The video quality is fantastic considering ts so compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nearly Perfect..

DSC-RX100M5 21 December 2017 by gurjj (United Kingdom)

I can not fault it in terms of the quality of image or video it produces but I do have a few wishes for it. It would be great if there was an audio input for an alternate mic, the software could be better and surely the screen should be touchscreen in the next model. Would be great to control when to shoot with a bluetooth remote. The app you can download to view what is on the screen needs to be improved so it has move functions. All the software stuff can be fixed which would make this camera the go to point and shoot as the hardware is solid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Plentiful features.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 19 December 2017 by geeknick (Singapore)

Bought it in October, and used it during vacation. Lots of features, but mostly not useful to me; pictures are relatively sharp but a little lacking in landscape shots. The apps are difficult to use, Sony must improve the user manual for the apps!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

2nd RX100 series camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 15 December 2017 by Marklyk896 (Singapore)

Bought the M5 for a recent family holiday trip to Hongkong in Dec 2017. Like my M3, great size, weight and very convenient as a point and shoot. Especially like the fast focus and face recognition.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony

DSC-RX100M5 13 December 2017 by Rombud (United Kingdom)

Bought for holidays nearly as good as canon DSLR also own mk 1

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awful Software -Unable to use on Apple Mac

DSC-RX100M5 11 December 2017 by Marksy (United Kingdom)

While the camera is OK the complete lack of up to date software for a Mac to enable the photographs to be transferred to a Mac is unbelievable - and what makes it worse is Sony just don't seems to care. I contacted customer services and they said "it does not work" The best option is to take the card out and copy the photographs using this method. I am sure that this will not be available on Son'y site but if not then I will put it on plenty of other site. They just don't seem to care and just shrug me off. I have spent a lot of money on this camera and this has spoiled my whole experience of Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Size and features.

DSC-RX100M5 11 December 2017 by Pehan1 (United Kingdom)

Without doubt quality of workmanship and lens. SW - you need to spend some time to learn all benefits. Basic features are clear enough. I am more at home with still pictures and I wanted to have camera which I shall have in my pocket all the time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact, versatile, powerful

DSC-RX100M5 08 December 2017 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom)

Needs something compact to carry with me all the time. Something with quality images and a wide range of shooting parameters. Delighted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very high quality images

DSC-RX100M5 05 December 2017 by Rubica (United Kingdom)

I have been very impressed with the results I have been able to achieve with this camera so far, especially in low light conditions. It gives me image quality very similar to my much larger (and heavier) interchangeable lens system camera, and does so with very little fuss. As a carry around camera when I don’t want to be lugging bags of kit it is superb. The only problem I have found is as a result of the factor that is also its main advantage which is the size. You do need to pay a bit of attention to which controls you are using, but this is inevitable in a camera so small, and I would not want it to be any larger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best pocketable ‘proper’ compact you can buy!

DSC-RX100M5 01 December 2017 by KavKav (United Kingdom)

I have the Mark 1 and also the Sony RX1 do I have plenty to compare the mark V with. To have all of the features I want in a camera this size is remarkable, added to which the markV delivered superb pictures and is very fast. It is hard to see how the upcoming markVI can meaningfully improve on this. 10/10 Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 22 November 2017 by Leave blank (United Kingdom)

Incredible power in a tiny body - exactly what I wanted in a second camera to back up an interchangeable lens system. It gets some flak in reviews for its complex menu system, and yes it takes a good deal of time to research and set the camera up to one’s preference. But I do have a PhD and enjoy that kind of thing! The range of focussing options is particularly complex, and could do with better explanation. However once there I really like the system; everything you need to find is quickly accessible without diving into menus. And it works so well, particularly the focus system. The battery life is not good, but a price I am happy to pay for the compact size and level of performance. However given that, it is poor that Sony fail to supply a battery charger, and that their branded batteries are so overpriced. Charging is by micro usb lead to the camera itself, rather fiddly, and in my experience that connector is not very robust. So I suspect most owners will be driven to the aftermarket for batteries and charger, with its associated risks. Sony, please include a second battery and charger in this premium product. I originally rejected the RX100 series because the included viewfinder didn’t work well for spectacle users, in particular it just got pushed back in when placed at the eye. I am learning to live with it, but it would go from good to great with the simple addition of a lock. I haven’t used the camera enough to make a definitive judgement on the all important subject of image quality, but initial impression is that discerning users wil be satisfied with the lens and sensor performance. Zoom range is limited at the long end, but a necessary compromise for the compact size of body and sensor size. Some competitors have extended the long end, and this should be a target for the next model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality and features in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M5 21 November 2017 by joskiboy (United Kingdom)

Downsized a DSLR for this and am very pleased. Really fast to use, really fast to focus (phase detect is great). Image quality is great. Shame there is no touchscreen but it is really quite amazing how many features and what such quality they have crammed inside such a small machine. Easy enough to be with me whenever I need it and more than good enough picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A big-hearted camera in a very compact body.

DSC-RX100M5 21 November 2017 by HMhappysnapper (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera for about a couple of weeks now. Being a long-term SLR user I wanted to try a compact that fulfilled the range between point-and-shoot with the ability to benefit from features that a full-blown SLR could provide. This certainly does not disappoint. The quality and capabilities of this little camera have amazed me. It goes with me everywhere (in my pocket) and gives me opportunities for those shots that would previously have required me to carry bulky camera gear. I am still learning how to take advantage of of its many capabilities and will continue to enjoy doing so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M5 20 November 2017 by oasissteve (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera and I am happy with it but I have issues with processing raw files in Lightroom and using my iPhone six for camera remote which is the only disappointment I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Enjoy the camera.Sony rx100v

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 November 2017 by YaiSichai (Thailand)

I'm happy with the small camera that gives you the perfect picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100M5 18 November 2017 by zdzyisiek (United Kingdom)

I bought this to add to my collection. It is easy to use if you are used to Sony cameras. Otherwise it is of the quality you expect for this price and it fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good skin colour everytime

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 November 2017 by Limkh (Singapore)

Bought on 19Oct, used thrice. I find the selfie mode nice with the flip up monitor. Facial size is not distorted. Skin tones are much better than cell phone quality (do not have dark shadows).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ultimate pocket camera, most probably!

DSC-RX100M5 02 November 2017 by Injun (United Kingdom)

I bought the Mark V (M5) as a replacement to the my ‘aging’ M2. However, the M2 is till ca very capable camera - but I now needed to upgrade to a better design Zeiss lens (equivalent to my Canon 24-70 mm f2.8L II lens for Sony A7rII). The results so far from the M5 are outstanding and I am very satisfied - and certainly of high quality and able to produce A2 prints if required. The technical upgrades since the M2 are most welcome, however, in my current area of photography 4K video capability is secondary, but delivering high quality images is my primary reason for purchasing the M5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

King of point and shoot ?

DSC-RX100M5 E32 25 October 2017 by Alex05187 (Malaysia)

Heats up easily in tropical country with high definition setting. No external mic is troublesome. 4k limited to 5 mins.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great

DSC-RX100M5 E32 21 October 2017 by HAO1991 (Malaysia)

I bought this camera a month ago. It was great....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony RX100 V

DSC-RX100M5 17 October 2017 by paul_ie (United Kingdom)

I purchased the RX100V to support my USA photo trip. It was to be my record shot camera backing up the DSLR but I found myself reaching for this camera before the DSLR. The handling and fast AF and 4K video meant good sharp shots and true exposure reproduction. Feature packed, retractable view-finder and flash, adjustable LCD screen, good long-lasting battery. All-in an excellent camera for every-day shooting or special trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A truly awesome camera. The best point and shoot.

DSC-RX100M5 09 October 2017 by PheasantPluker (United Kingdom)

This camera blows me away with its ability to take stunning images and video. I’m an amateur videographer and I have fallen in love with this camera. It’s so versatile and the ability to take amazing images and video in low light is the icing on the cake for me. The only con for me is the price. A very expensive point & shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small But Trustworthy

DSC-RX100M5 E32 02 October 2017  (Thailand)

small but quietly reliably and powerful. fast focus and fast zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Size/Compact! Perfect!! Weight! Perfect!!!

DSCRX100M5/B 01 October 2017 by Quetal1 (USA)

I will use it today for the 1st time, so I can't say much yet.And fulling around with it this morning, it is EASY...I gave my Sony AX plus 2 lenses to my grandson because I just didn't want to carry weight anymore. Will review after my trip to Nevada City

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-RX100M5 18 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, great pictures and can go anywhere in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

good quality video recording

DSC-RX100M5 11 September 2017 by Johnnnn (United Kingdom)

I have upgraded from the RX 100 3 because I wanted the improved video quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior Quality For A Compact Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04 September 2017  (USA)

I searched a lot for a compact camera before I settled on this one. The 1.0-type sensor was the selling point for me. I've had it for over a month now, and I can safely say that I'm pretty happy with it. Pros (what comes to mind) - Surprisingly good in low light - Responsive - Lengthy battery life - Video stabilisation - Ergonomic - Easy to use - Electronic view finder Cons - Disappointing quality in HFR (High Frame Rate mode) - Electronic zoom slower than expected Feature Request (Below are things that I already knew about before purchasing, so they're not disappointing. Nevertheless, it would be nice to see them added in future generations.) - Mechanical zoom - Bigger zoom range - Touchscreen - GPS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M5 04 September 2017 by Sbradec (United Kingdom)

I have owned the two previous models of the RX100, it is a great camera, the Mk5 makes a good camera, a great camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Studio quality on the go!

dscrx100m5 29 August 2017 by BRealz81 (USA)

I've had these for about a year.5 now and I use them everyday during my travel to work. I high recommend ... hands down one of the best wireless headphones I've ever tried and owned. The Bass Boost button is what makes the ultimate difference in my opinion (it's what separates it from the rest - it deep rich bass). The only one negative would be the size (they're quite bulky).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

RX100M5 is a great compact camera. Best for travel

DSCRX100M5/B 17 August 2017  (USA)

I bought this 3 days ago and took quite a few photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

DSCRX100M5/B 15 August 2017 by onsunset (USA)

My only problem is the lack of long range capability; hope a lens can be added in the future. Realize this might offset the benefits of it fitting in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY FAST

DSCRX100M5/B 30 July 2017 by Badbob (USA)

Bought this a couple weeks ago. While it is extremely fast shooting and the AF is great, it is limited in some ways, i.e., AF Lock is disabled is you zoom and other issues. It is a great little camera, but limited in use if you are a semi-pro or pro. Will be great for vacations and a quick backup camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24 July 2017 by Blue Baron (USA)

I bought this camera in May 2017 because I did not want to take my DSLR on a European tour. When I got home I was very impressed at the quality of the pictures it took. I don't do video, so I can't comment on that, but the stills were very good. I did some comparison shots between it and my full frame DSLR and was amazed at how close the RX100 V came to the DSLR. I am used to using menus on my other cameras, so it does not bother me that the RX100 V does not have a touch screen. In fact I really prefer not to have one. The fold out monitor on the back was very useful. I just wish it would fold down more than 45 degrees. Sometimes when I needed to take overhead shots, I would fold the monitor up 90 degrees and turn the camera upside down. I really like the video viewfinder since I take most of my pictures outdoors and the sun on the monitor can be a problem. Five things I don’t like about the camera: the lens is soft at the edges. In wide angle there is noticeable distortion at the edges. The lens could use more reach, the material used for the monitor scratches very easily. I wish Sony used something as durable as my smart phone. The camera goes through batteries quite fast. I took a lot of pictures each day and would go through three batteries each day. Overall, though, this is a great little pocket camera that takes very good pictures and has pretty much any capability you could want in a camera with a fixed lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought todo great slow-mo Videos

DSC-RX100M5 21 July 2017 by Stewthebrew (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of the good reviews and the fact it does great slow-mo videos as well as having a great 24fps and also a good low light lens of f1.8. I have a Canon G7X MkII which I think is a better overall point and shoot/Vlogging camera especially as its half the price. The Sony does not even have a Touch screen, which is really useful on my Canon camera's and would have been the icing on the cake for this Sony camera especially useful because of the size of these cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera for all occasions

DSC-RX100M5 18 July 2017 by Johnts (United Kingdom)

I was initially sceptical about picking a compact camera to replace my somewhat cumbersome DSLR whilst loosing some of the features from this type of camera. After a couple of weeks use the RX100 V5 is a revelation and has surpassed all my expectations. It may be compact on the outside but everything else is immense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSCRX100M5/B 17 July 2017 by Eme253 (USA)

Bought this two days ago and I'm overall satisfied took me a couple hours to get used to its not to user friendly but nothing to stress over

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 12 July 2017 by siongvia (Singapore)

The camera is great in terms of photography and videography. However, it would be even better if there's no overheat issue while taking 4K video. And "Steady shot" is not available while shooting in 4K video, what a let down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but fragile

dscrx100m5 10 July 2017 by dennismv (USA)

Amazing camera, but gosh darn it, it is easy to break. Seriously consider wearing a body-cord attached to your body and the camera to prevent accidentally dropping the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Pocket sized punch

DSC-RX100M5 10 July 2017 by Probus5002 (United Kingdom)

A serious pocket size compact with reasonable image quality. I used a Leica MP240 and a Fuji X-Pro 2 for my main photography but there are times when I need a decent camera and the smartphone is simply not good enough. A relatively short range zoom lens will produce better image quality than a highly compromised 10x zoom lens. That's important as far as I am concerned. The start up for the camera is quick and auto mode will give you a high probability of a decent snap. I like the outer ring in the mode where I can zoom back and forth; although in P mode that ring gives easy access to setting aperture and shutter speed. Battery longevity is better than I expected. The tilt screen is a major plus. I am not yet comfortable with the wifi transfer of JPEGS. This may be a question of getting used to the app which seems much more cumbersome than Fuji's X Pro2 app. I do have a major issue with not being able to view JPEGs in camera after transferring JPEGS to my iPhone using the app. I can view Raw files but not JPEGS. A grey screen with "unable to display file" appears on the screen when I try to view JPEGs. The only way round this seems to be to swap memory cards and format the card after all files have been downloaded. A serious issue in my view. I am sure this can be overcome by a firmware update but I am not sure Sony will recognise the issue. I had no luck on the Cybershot Forum.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 09 July 2017 by winpat1 (United Kingdom)

Really like this camera, focus is quick, easy to use and great photos and videos, one slight niggle, should come with grip on camera, slippy sometimes in use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Dissapointed

DSC-RX100M5 06 July 2017 by Howardartist (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera from excellent reviews... features and results vety good. Battery life terrible. Fully charged battery and didn't use it... totally flat within 48hrs.. taking it back.

2

4

0

Love the RX100V!

dscrx100m5 27 June 2017 by StugotsGolf (USA)

After reading, hearing from a friend and watching a number of UTube videos I got the RX100V. I've not been disappointed in the least, it's a great small SLR that captures great photos. I have an A600 and using the same interface made it very easy to adapt to this smaller feature loaded camera. The videos are excellent. I highly recommend for anyone who wants the best photos from a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

RX100v - A Truly Superb Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24 June 2017 by Jerr (United Kingdom)

Had this camera about a month and it is nothing short of outstanding!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super Speed and Picturs

DSC-RX100M5 22 June 2017 by Dogloverx4 (USA)

I bought this camera in February specifically to take to concerts. I have used it twice so far and it is way beyond my expectations. I have some high end cameras but you can't take those into a concert. This fits in a pocket but really handles concert lighting well. Pics are crystal clear! It's not an inexpensive camera but if you want really clear pics AND speed AND compact, spend the money on this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Camera Performance

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 June 2017 by Fat Man (Singapore)

The image quality is good. Perhaps due to its small size, the camera could easily shake during full pressing the shot button.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Performance for such a small camera but....

DSC-RX100M5 19 June 2017 by RobFJ (United Kingdom)

I've been using the camera for a couple of weeks now and, with one exception, it outperforms my previous high end compact digital significantly in many areas. Very strong points are lens quality, size/weight, menu system (for the most part),speed to lock onto focus and fps. It's /huge/ drawback is its optical viewfinder. It is a two stage process to use it. Release a pop up catch which locks the viewfinder in the raised position (fine); then slide the viewfinder housing back towards your eye. Unfortunately that does not lock so if you wear spectacles like me, your spec lens pushes the viewfinder back making it pretty unusable. (According to the camera shop I bought the camera from, that is the way the v/f is designed so the best solution they came up with was for me to stop the viewfinder from sliding back by my putting a finger on it.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great Quality Compact

DSC-RX100M5 17 June 2017 by hmy7k (United Kingdom)

I have had my RX100 M5 for a couple of weeks now. I am enjoying the compact size, just slips in my pocket. I use it mainly for stills but the slow motion video is amazing. I have an A7r2 also so the user interface is similar which makes for an easy transition between the two cameras. Picture quality is very good too and you have access to the same apps as the A7 which is handy. Definitely recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best Point and Shoot Camera Out There

DSC-RX100M5 E32 14 June 2017 by stripedshirt (Singapore)

Best thing since touch screen phones! The RX100M5 is a pleasure to shoot with and because of its size, it's always with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent underwater camera when used with housing

DSC-RX100M5 E32 05 June 2017 by LWC Diver (Singapore)

Used with Sony Underwater Housing MPK-URX100A, took great pictures down to 22 meters with only built-in flash. Underwater Automatic White Balance struggled a bit to get the right colors. Some reds still managed to be captured. Focus was fast and excellent, same for exposure control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Great features!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 31 May 2017  (Malaysia)

Awesome 4K video and slow motion feature. Amazing AF speed with 24 fps capture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good first camera

DSC-RX100M5 27 May 2017 by sam2222 (United Kingdom)

i am happy with this camra, its auto focus is amazing. small but clear picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

You will get a lot out of this little guy.

DSC-RX100M5 22 May 2017 by AndyTM (United Kingdom)

I have the luxury of trying out a number of cameras on daily basis from pro DSLR to compacts, this 1 inch sensor compact cameras from Sony is one of the best compact premium camera you could buy with standout features and performance to boot. It is not going to replace a Pro DSLR and lens but it does come close, sometimes better than an entry level DSLR. Take into account its weight, size, 4K, slow motion, speed of focus (a dream for vlogging), add on apps, superb viewfinder and by no means least the download of Capture One for Sony, you will get a lot out of this little guy. Owning the Sony RX100 V is more than a joy to use and has replaced my heavy everyday camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best for travel

dscrx100m5 12 May 2017 by Frito (USA)

Very friendly user and compact. Best for travelling and blogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 27 April 2017 by sengkkk (Singapore)

bought it for nepal trekking, wasn't disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great in (many) parts - still weak in others.

DSC-RX100M5 25 April 2017 by Jayaysee (United Kingdom)

Bought (?) as an insurance replacement for an M4 that met it's end in a brief dunk in the Indian Ocean. As far as I can see it's a re-work of the M4 with some tweaking at the edges, sorry Sony, and inherits all of the well known strengths and weaknesses of that model. One particular disappointment that I experienced first hand is over-heating when shooting 4k video. I got the warning symbol after just under 3 minutes and whilst I understand everything that's being asked of a point & shoot here, this is by no means a cheap camera and, frankly, I expect and expected better. If we've got a model with something not quite right perhaps Sony could let me know otherwise I'm going to have to look elsewhere for video work which is disappointing, in my opinion, at this price point. Apart from that, the macro is still a weakness but the rest is highly capable. The AF-A is a welcome addition particularly under video and the increased High Frame Rate is interesting but I've yet to find a time to use it. Oh and please get someone who actually uses the items to write / translate your User Guides. It could so easily be so much better and stand out for that amongst the volumes of mediocrity and literal translations. Then again that's why there's such a strong market in 3rd party guides - you have to ask why the need thought surely. Was going to give 3* but gave it the benefit of the doubt - just don't expect this to do 4k for any meaningful length of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good camera but user interface improvement needed

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 April 2017 by encore (Singapore)

I bought the camera for 1. Compact for travelling. 2. View finder for taking pictures in the bright outdoor. 3. Continuous auto-focus and burst shoot for action photography. 4. DSLR like features. 4. Awesome reviews. I have yet to fully realize the power of the camera. But already have some complaints: 1. The compact body does make it difficult to grip, and it can drop quite easily. 2. The menu system is badly organised. It is hard to identify for a feature which of the six categories it should fall under, so I have to search each and every page of every category for that feature, and that is very tedious. 3. There isn't sufficient instructions of the features, and it seems that one must pay to obtain more detailed manuals. 4. The Control wheel can adjust both Aperture and Shutter, while the Control ring can only adjust Aperture. Yet the UW casing cannot reach the Control dial. Think Sony should make the control ring capable of doing both. This will make the camera a truly UW gem. 5. It lacks time lapse photography. A paid app is available but it is slow to use, and can only take up to 1920x1080 pixel pictures, and the pictures are only visible within the app. I am however satisfied with the camera overall, especially the fact that it is capable of firmware upgrade. A recent upgrade delivered a feature that should have been there day one, and that is the ability the disable the flash even with it pop up. Another useful upgrade is the addition of AWB underwater, which I am yet to try

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

This is my third RX100.

DSC-RX100M5 16 April 2017 by Normsky (United Kingdom)

I have previously bought the RX100 and the RX100M3. You will need to carry a spare battery. Otherwise an excellent camera. Well worth the hefty price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features in small package

DSC-RX100M5 E32 16 April 2017 by Crutty (Malaysia)

A lot of features, easy to carry, low battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M5 15 April 2017 by trevorad (United Kingdom)

I only purchased this camera a few weeks ago and as yet have not had much time or reason to use it. However, it fulfils everything that I need in a camera, whilst being compact at the same time. In the past, I have been frustrated by having to carry around an SLR camera or larger compact/bridge type camera. As a result, I have tended to use my smartphone more often as it is always in my pocket and available for those opportunistic shots. This camera appears to have all of the features that I could need (and previously had) combined with flexibility and high quality. I am looking forward to using it more whilst on our holidays and during the summer months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera!

DSC-RX100M5 10 April 2017 by BluesCruiser182 (United Kingdom)

I gave this it's first outing last weekend and am delighted with the results - clear, sharp images with great colours. I used the HD (not 4K) video to record a couple of songs at a concert and the quality was great. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A new camera, a new world

dscrx100m5 09 April 2017 by Visionary (USA)

I bought this a month ago and am still learning about the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and compact

DSC-RX100M5 E32 29 March 2017  (Singapore)

I bought it a few weeks ago and it is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0